We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian food at Herzliya”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tandoori

Tandoori
Ranked #16 of 131 Restaurants in Herzliya
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We provide great Indian food in Herzliya. Enjoy a good time with your friends & family in a special Indian Theme.Rina Pushkarna is the owner of this great restaurant for almost 15 years. You will not be disappointed.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Indian food at Herzliya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Indian travellers to Herzliya can get to taste Indian food (north Indian style) at Tandoori. Bit pricey, a veg thali costs around USD 20 and that too restricted quantity. Buffet is available for lunch and it costs around USD 22, here too the variety is limited. One can order ala carte for vareity buts costs minimum USD30 for vegetarian meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishnaKumarV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    21
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding expereience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

To all those looking for the best indian restaurant in Israel, I can undoubtedly say that Tandoori Herzlia is The place!!!
Thanks to Rinna who runs this place, the taste of food is simply the top!!! Once you get in, the great smell of the buffet opens your mind to try the attractive food served at the most originall authentic way.
Never have found a buffet where the main dish served extremely fresh and hot right from the kitchen!!!
As a worldwide traveler I stopped eating indian food in Europe as all of them coldnt be compared to the way Rinna and her staff make this food.
I strongly recommend those people who really care about good Indian food to visit this restaurant for its very professional service which makes the whole atmosphere really unique. The food is just great!!!! Don't let yourself miss it!!!
To those who complained: either you have never eaten a real authentic Indian food or you are disgustingly spoiled!!!
Very well done Rinna!!!!
Keep doing your great job with so much care and love and don't change anything!!!
You are simply the best!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chpeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Once upon a time Tandoori was King but no longer....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love Indian food and zillions of years ago, when Tandoori first opened in Israel, we frequented the restaurant in Tel Aviv almost weekly. Delighted to have a branch open in Herzliya, we ate there and were very satisfied.

Fast forward to 2012, and with a sigh of disappointment, it seems to have lost it's charm.

Food is tasty, service pretty horrible, and the price way too expensive for average food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moiinisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid the buffet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Only the chicken dish was OK. All the other dishes (especially the tomato soup that was like diluted ketchup with lots of tomato peels).
The naan bread did not feel fresh and all the side dishes were bad mashes.
i love Indian food, and i know how good Indian food should taste.
Very disappointing !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ori k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
202 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tandoori Herzlia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This restaurant has a long-standing reputation by local standards and is now the only Indian restaurant in Herzlia and vicinity. It is large and traditionally decorated. The service is adequate and polite. The menu has been the same for years and the food is usually reliable and tasty. Disadvantages: it is expensive for this type of restaurant and getting more so which is why I give an "average". Without drinks a meal easily costs NIS 200. They refuse to add the tip to the credit card which is exceptional. Also: it is hard to avoid looking at a huge screen showing the owner preparing her dishes. We shall go back because we like Indian food

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fischels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori also viewed

Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing