We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Daniel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daniel Herzliya Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Herzliya
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Daniel”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The location and views of this hotel can't be beat. The beach and Mediteranean Sea views are one of the best in Israel. Moreover, I was really impressed with the services at the hotel's Shizen Spa....had one of the best massages ever (ask for Dlika). Although Herziliya is off the beaten trail, I thought that was an advantage, especially since Tel Aviv is only a few miles away, so it's kinda like staying in Malibu versus LA. I would definately stay at the Daniel again - it's a gem!

  • Liked — Views and food
  • Disliked — no turn down service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    247
    163
    94
    78
See reviews for
270
270
48
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just back from a long weekend (2 nights) at the Daniel - two adults and one 9 yrs old child. Got a really good price offer for Israelis and slept in a DLX room on the 6th floor. Was pleasantly surprised with the level of the service. All our requests were met with a smile and even the towel attendants at the pool were polite and pleasant. We got a truly non-smoking room with a nice view and a decent terrace. Good bathroom, nice toiletries and interesting decor in the room - modern but not garish. The bed was comfortable and we all slept fine. Nice choice of channels on the Tv. The carpeting in the corridor of our floor could have used a change, but I wasn't sleeping on it. Good breakfast spread - not overly abundant (no granola, for example) but whatever was there (and it was quite a lot) was nice and fresh. The pool area has been refurbished beautifully. All in all, for a quarter of the price of the Accadia you get something which is definitely not a quarter of the quality. I am definitely looking forward to go back again.

  • Liked — Surprising level of service and courtesy of the stuff; rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing much really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I'm staying in the Shizen section of the hotel. Here on business and my biggest complaints are that of the Business Club, it closes too early. I find it most convenient when business centers are open 24hrs, this one closes at 11pm. Another complaint is regarding the shower/bath setup. It's design is awkward and causes a huge watery mess outside of it due to no screen or curtain and the "door" that is present is very short. I am accustom to hotels w/ ATMs and this one has none (a MAJOR inconvenience). Therefore, you have to either catch a cab or walk over 10miles to the nearest one availlable (and you better hope it's not out of service). The service is 50/50 but the friendliest and most helpful has been the lady who cleans my room. The decor in my room is modern but obviously worn but all in all my room is pleasant w/ an awesome ocan view. Would I recommend it? Well, I'll just say do your homework before jumping on reservations for this one. It's not the best but it's suitable . . . it comes down to what your needs are and what you're willing to do w/out or deal with in general.

  • Liked — The view form my room
  • Disliked — The inconveniences noted in my review
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We were there over the winter holiday- nice lobby, very nice staff. Our room (865) was right off the elevator lobby and had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. Nicely designed room with modern touches like large free-standing framed mirror, lit niche w/sculpture, etc. Dining room has wonderful ocean view and buffet breakfast was very good - more choices then I've seen anywhere.

However, it seems, at least in our room, drain pipes are located in or near the ventilation shaft - so the sound of water going down a pipe kept us up. We're city dwellers, so we're acclimated to street noise, but this was really amplified/loud.

We were only there for one night and it was late so we didn't bother to see if we could move (again, staff was very nice, I'm sure they would have moved us if they had another room). Also, when we got back to our rooms after a day of touring we found, at 11pm on New Year's Eve, they'd run out of hot water. Not terrible, it was back on in the morning, but certainly not what you'd expect from a 5-star hotel.

The Shinzen hotel/spa is in a separate wing next door. Signs leading to that wing ask that you don't go through the adjoining lobby, but down two floors directly into the spa. We didn't have time to use the spa but I believe using the indoor pool/gym in that wing requires an extra fee (hotel itself only has outdoor pool) - so if you're counting on accessing that facility, you might want to find out what they charge before you book.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank nelliebly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Have just spent 3 days at this hotel, check in was very pleasant. Had booked a deluxe room, although not there most upto date, had no complaints with size or decor. On our arrival asked advice about restaurants and whether we should book a table for friday dinner in their restaurant, got the vibes from the reception staff to book a table in the town at a nice restaurant, now, having eaten in the restaurant and can see why.

Went down for breakfast on our first morning, was not met or shown to a table, it was upto us to find a suitable one. Well, what an experience. Every table had crumbs, eventually we found one that seemed ok, well every cup on the table was dirty. The staff were all so miserable and unbovered. The tables were all old formica, chipped and of very grubby appearance.

On our final morning, still experiencing the same uncleanliness, went to use the milk jug to pour milk into my coffee. Was utterly disgusted to discover the jugs interior covered in something that resembled tomato sauce. Even the waitress looked in shame. By this time I was feeling quite repulsed and demanded to speak to a manager. Within a couple of minutes 3 managers came from upstairs and I showed them how revolting the filth was in the jug, not acceptatble even in a 2 star hotel, let alone a 5 star as they claimed. We were immediately escorted to the spa restaurant and were offered a far more acceptable breakfast.

What also amazed me was in the bedrooms there is a welcoming bowl of apples. My husband ate an apple and left the core on a plate in the room, this apple core was still on the same plate the next day, what did they think we wanted to do with it?

It is a shame this hotel has such poor quality eating establishment. The hotel has a wonderful spa, beautiful new pool area and very nice reception staff plus a nice manager who sorted us out for breakfast in the spa. The hotel is beautifully positioned right on the beach. It really needs to pull its socks up, it will lose so much business as people will not accept services like this. Newer and better places are going up all the time.

  • Liked — the size of room
  • Disliked — cleanliness in the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

I must agree with other travelers: it is not a 5* hotel (the same you can generally experience e.g. in Egypt), yes, you can find signs of oriental neglect there, you should check at the bar what do they have before you order to avoid disappointment. But you cannot beat the view on the beach and the sea!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JVa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2007

This hotel claims to be 5 star but I would never give it more than 2 stars. The rooms looks worse than a Best Western motel room. The design is antique and outdated even after the reno, the bathroom looks old and rusty and the water stream is barely enough to shower. The walls are so thin you can hear the entire floor. We were told breakfast is served until 10:30 but at 10:00 almost half the food was gone. Not all rooms have sea view, and don't be mistaken by the pictures in their website - the room we got wasn't even close. Bottom line: this is a motel disguised as a high class hotel, be warned.

  • Liked — NA
  • Disliked — Our room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny58230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herzliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Herods Herzliya
Herods Herzliya
#1 of 11 in Herzliya
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon Hotel
Sharon Hotel
#3 of 11 in Herzliya
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Okeanos Boutiqe Herzlia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
#2 of 11 in Herzliya
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
0.8 mi away
Benjamin Herzliya Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daniel Herzliya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniel Herzliya Hotel

Property: Daniel Herzliya Hotel
Address: 60 Ramat Yam, Herzliya 4685160, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Herzliya
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Herzliya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Herzliya
#4 Family Hotel in Herzliya
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Herzliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Daniel Herzliya Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daniel Herzliya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzliya Hotel Daniel
Daniel Hotel Herzlia
Daniel Herzliya Hotel Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing