We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall stay”
Review of Sharon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sharon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Herzliya
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overall stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel has excellent grounds and wonderful for a family holiday. The swimming pool area is marvelous. A lot of the bedrooms are refurbished and look very good........the hotel itself built in the 1960,s looks tired and needs refurbishment.
Basically I have stayed a few times and love it

Room Tip: Garden rooms are first class but much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    169
    74
    40
    41
See reviews for
238
148
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was booked into the Sharon by a business associate, because he lives nearby (but has never stayed there.) The place is very worn and dirty. The front desk staff was pleasant, but they were the only ones so. At breakfast it was nearly impossible to get the attention of the four waiters if you wanted coffee; even when one of them was wandering around with a coffee pot.

At check in I was passed off to a surly gentleman who was presumably a bellman to show me two different rooms I could chose from. He took me through the bowels of the hotel up and down two different staff elevators. It was not a good way yo be introduced to the property. What I saw was what most hotels don't want their guests to see.

I selected an 11th floor room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The view was fine and the room relatively clean and functional. It was completely lacking security though. The deadbolt on the door locked into a tiny sliver of wood that could easily be kicked in. The door to the adjoining room did not have working locks and was only held closed by paint (which, once I tried it, didn't even hold the door closed.) I would not recommend this hotel unless you are bringing a bunch of kids and need a place that they can run around in and destroy. That seemed to be the main clientele, even though they billed themselves as a business hotel too.

On the positive side, I enjoyed sleeping with the sliding glass door open to the sound of the ocean. (The door has no lock and the balcony can easily be reached from adjoining balconies.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtherJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you for a very restful weekend. A good atmosphere on Shabbat, quiet peaceful good food . Some areas of the hotel need redoing. A decorating could make the stay even better.
We went walking on the beach which is right under the hotel.
The prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior suite its got the best sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent a very pleasant weekend at the Sharon Hotel in Herzlia.

Twenty years ago this would definitely have deserved to have been called a 5-star hotel. In the meantime standards have improved and the Sharon seems a little worn and tired. That having been said, it's well above the level of 4-stars and lacks little.

Our room was very large with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was in pretty good condition though the couch looked exhausted and the kettle had no nearby socket. The food was very good without being great. Service was very good too – more efficient than friendly and the internet was scandalously expensive (about $6 an hour)

All in all I'd recommend the Sharon to anyone whose getting a special deal – you won't be disappointed. If you're paying the full price, you might want to check out other hotels in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The 6th floor was pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on a recent business trip. The hotel is in a great position overlooking the beach and a couple of Kms from the Marina area. However the condition of hotel is fairly poor, it needs modernisation. But the worst part is the service which is very poor indeed. The hotel felt fairly empty but to get a drink in the bar you had to go looking for someone to serve you. One evening a group of us returned to the hotel at 10:30PM, went to an empty bar area thats open to 11PM but the barman there tried to tell us it was closed. We got a drink but he dashed off at 10:45 after hurriedly serving us a drink.
At breakfast, nice buffet but poor standard of service, waiters were sullen and not customer focussed. Lastly in my room which was a good size and reasonably comfortable I had a bowl of mouldy rotten fruit, which I left to see if it was exchanged but sadly it remained for the whole five days which makes you wonder about the dedication of the staff,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days with the kids on the way to heading down to Eilat. Herzlia in December is not warm, and this is mostly a "Sunshine break" hotel - overlooking the sea, huge swimming pool (closed in winter), veranda etcetc. However, we found the place to great in the winter. We were given a fabulous room over the beach which was absoulutely huge, the biggest family room I've ever had in a hotel, the bathroom was equally as large. It was very very quiet, but the staff were always on hand always helpful.

The breakfast was excellent, as with all israeli breakfast it is mouth-wateringly plentiful, and the kids went at it for 45 minutes. There was enough parking for us on the road, although I could forsee in high season this being very very difficult and busy. The price was great for 3 nights, although I would assume in high season, it'd be a lot more.

We really enjoyed our stay and if we came back to Herzlia, this is where we'd go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I spent one Shabat at the hotel.
my room was clean well designed, with a splended view to the beach.
the staff were friendly and efficient.
the Friday evning and the shabat meal were very good and with a variety of choices
overall, i had a very pleasent time, and i will highly recommend it.
Jacob Amir

Room Tip: upper floor with view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herzliya hotels
0.5 mi away
Daniel Herzliya Hotel
Daniel Herzliya Hotel
#4 of 11 in Herzliya
1,121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herods Herzliya
Herods Herzliya
#1 of 11 in Herzliya
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Okeanos Boutiqe Herzlia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
#2 of 11 in Herzliya
514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Benjamin Herzliya Business Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Hotel

Property: Sharon Hotel
Address: 4 Ramot Yam St. Herzlia on Sea, Herzliya 46748, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Herzliya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Herzliya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Herzliya
#3 Spa Hotel in Herzliya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Herzliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sharon hotel in Herzliya is a great combination of a resort, business and spa hotel due to its large areas, ideally located on the beachfront in the middle of the business and pleasure center of Herzliya Pituach. There is a direct access from the hotel's garden to the beach with restaurants, bars and a sailing club. The hotel offers spacious rooms, a pampering Spa, a large seawater outdoor swimming pool that overlooks the Mediterranean Sea, free WIFI access throughout the hotel's areas. The hotel offers 174 spacious & comfortable rooms. There are a variety of rooms to choose from, rooms overlooking the sea, rooms with balconies and rooms with direct access to the hotel's garden. Jacuzzis are also made available in some of the rooms. All rooms are equipped with LCD satellite TV, safes, renewable coffee/tea kit and a fridge. The pampering Sarana spa located in the hotel features a modern well equipped gym, hot and dry steam saunas and sweet water indoor swimming pool, as well as various spa treatments and massages. The hotel offers advanced business facilities, free WIFI access throughout the hotel, business lounge, high tech meeting rooms and conference halls. The hotel's restaurant offers a variety of Israeli and international dishes together with light food at our Aquarelle lobby bar overlooking the garden and sea. Tel Aviv is only a 15 minutes drive. Herzliya Train Station is 2.5 miles away. And Ben-Gurion international airport can be reached within 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sharon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Herzlia
Sharon Hotel Israel/Herzliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing