We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HertfordshireMumof2
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Think carefully before you book and do your research!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 10, 2008
We stayed for a week at the end of May. We arrived from the airport at around midnight – there was one member of staff at reception to check in a number of guests. The hotel would know the number of people arriving on any given flight and should staff reception appropriately. Waiting with a two year old and a four month old to check in late at night is not acceptable. Then there was no sign of a bellboy to bring the luggage to the room any time soon so that we could get the kids to bed – we did it ourselves! Not a great start …..

We had deluxe sea view rooms – I bet no one tells you that sea view also means view of hotel car park (where car alarms do go off at night on occasions) nor that this also means a view of a bar next to the hotel from where the music and DJ can be heard until 2 or 3 in the morning, every night! The décor in the room is dated and the air-conditioning unit leaked to make the carpet and bathroom floors nice and wet! The smell of cigarettes from elsewhere seems to make it’s way into the rooms at times – via the aircon units or otherwise. Twin beds were pushed together and not even made up with a double sheet and or duvet. When requested, the bed was made with a double base sheet and two single duvets but when the linen was changed it reverted to type! Otherwise the rooms were clean and towels were changed twice a day. The lady from housekeeping doing the turn down service in the evening was very good.

The buffet breakfast is very good though hot drinks can be hard to come by if you are ignored by the waiting staff. Be warned if you’re vegetarian then the Friday night dinner and pool bars menus in particular do not cater well for you. On Friday night I was presented with a plate of pasta (a very expensive one given the price of that meal). We ordered breakfast in the room before an early departure – it did not arrive in time to eat it!

The gym is well equipped – better than many hotel gyms (probably because it’s run by a third party). The pool area is good with a children’s pool that is partially covered. Danyland consists of a room with computer games and a large table for arts and crafts. The small outdoor grassy play area contains one slide and one swing/hammock of the type that can be found around the garden chalet rooms!

To get to the marina where there is a shopping mall and many restaurants (about ten minutes walk away) you have to walk down a sandy path and then cross more sand and rubble – great with two kids and a double buggy! Don’t take your best shoes!!

The concierge arranged taxicab rides and checked us in for our return flight online. They are busy guys but very helpful.

This is not a 5 star property compared 5 star properties in the UK and elsewhere in the world.
Date of stay: May 2008
Trip type: Traveled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$580
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • RitzCarlton.com
    $580
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Pool
Beachfront
$378
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $285
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Pool
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $171
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$432
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $293
  • Trip.com
0.4 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Pool
$200
Fully refundable
  • Autograph
    $200
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
    $235
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe View Room
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $170
  • Trip.com
0.8 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Fitness center
View more hotels in Herzliya
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
662
213
94
49
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
662
213
94
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden chalet kids club pool area wonderful hotel friday night dinner overlooking the sea business lounge an upgrade beach front israeli hotels the ritz carlton mahmoud marina gym shabbat mediterranean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Read reviews of all the Hertzliyah hotels before deciding on the Dan Accadia and none of them sounded that great. Really glad we chose the Dan over the Daniel – we met people who had booked the Daniel and were so disappointed, they transferred to the Dan .

We went for a week in May, prior to moving on to Jerusalem, so we were looking for pure R&R. The hotel was pretty empty of tourists; lots of business people, trade exhibitions and conferences but these were unobtrusive and didn’t affect our enjoyment.

We had a standard room – it was fine; spacious, clean and well-maintained with a niceview of the beach and sea. Some of the furniture was dated but we weren’t looking to criticize against a standard of perfection – just to enjoy ourselves, and on that basis, the accommodation was fine. Breakfasts, as other reviewers have said, were great, as was other food.

At these prices, we expected 5* service and weren’t disappointed. This was the best service we have experienced at any time in Israel. Front desk, restaurant management, pool staff and even housekeeping couldn’t do enough; there were a few minor niggles but the measure of service is how they’re resolved – if everything runs smoothly, you never get to see what they’re made of. The Accadia staff were excellent.

Only one real negative and we agree with other reviewers – the entrance and public areas are dowdy and certainly don’t compare with say, the Dan in Tel Aviv. After the summer season, they will be refurbishing all these areas and extending the floor space. They’ll also be working on the pool area, so if you’re thinking of going October onwards – check first.

Finally, if you haven’t been to Herzliyah before, here’s a reality check. The Dan is on the front, overlooking a massive beach which in May, was virtually empty, however come out of the hotel and turn left and the ‘front’ is virtually non-existent; just 2 other hotels (Daniel and Sharon) some way apart and that’s it. Turn right and you head for the marina – a shopping mall and many restaurants but there’s no roadway. You either have to walk down a sandy path and then cross building site rubble or take a cab (ridiculous) or take a massive detour if you want to stay on pavement. My wife ruined a pair of good shoes on the first night because we knew no better. It’s a crazy situation but doesn’t seem to bother the hotel (not their problem I guess).

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonathan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Just back from a business trip and stayed here for three nights. The pool area is under construction, so if you are heading out soon, be aware of the lack of a working pool and some construction noise during the day. It looks like a nice upgrade/addition to the property, so when it is done, it will be a plus.

The entry way to the hotel is pretty ugly, you are not sure what you are getting into, but the hotel inside is quite nice. Public areas are more modest in appointments than in the US, but clean and nice. The rooms were quite nice, very clean and well appointed and comfortable. My room had a flat screen TV and bathroom with tub and seperate stone shower. There is a tower section and then two two-story wings that surround the pool/beach area. I would vote for the rooms in the smaller wings for a personal vacation.

Breakfast was included in our rates and the breakfast buffet was extensive.

The service was excellent and quite attentive throughout the stay.

The hotel sits right on the beach in an exclusive area just north of Tel Aviv, supposedly the Venture Captial and technology center of the country. Not sure about all of that, but the mediteranean was sure beautiful and there were great stylish restaurants all close by.

A solid choice.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelerguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The look of the hotel was fine, the staff was relatively courteous but a construction project out back made sleeping in imporrislb. OK, so go to bed early right? Maybe, but one night we were there a Bar Mitzvah downstairs had the hotel literally throbbing until 2am. It was so bad we received refunds after complaining.

The beach location is OK and its a short walk to the mall and restaurants. The exercise room was also decent. and I thought the buffet breakfast was great. Love the do it yourself juicer! So, if you are committed to the hotel, and it's really not bad from a lodging stand point (we stayed in the main hotel area) - find out if the construction project is complete and do what you can to see if there will be any parties. If either is going on, I would recommend trying somewhere else.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GreenIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Spent a weekend in the Dan Accadia - no special occasion, just wanted to be pampered. Since this is the second most expensive hotel in the Dan chain (after the King David) I was expecting a lot. It was OK but it wasn't worth the price. We had booked an upgraded room, which was quite ordinary (I can't imagine how much less standard the standard rooms are). To the hotel's credit, they upgraded us to a suite (in a new wing) with no problem when it turned out that there was a problem with the room. The suite was very nice (what I had imagined the "deluxe" room would be) - it was roomy, and had electric curtains, a TV in the bathroom, a separate shower stall, a king-size bed, a sofa and a big flat-screen TV. I don't know what they charge for this room but I would imagine a small fortune. The food was disappointing, as well. The food at lower-priced Dan hotels is better, with a bigger variety and more creativity. If you have to be in Herzlia, this is a good option, but if you just want to be near the sea, I'd recommend the Dan Tel Aviv.

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

I have stayed at Dan Accadia a few times and the overall service has been acceptable. However, my last stay was not very pleasant.

Before you book you reservations, make sure you ask them if they will be hosting any parties while you will be there. If you have no choice but to stay at Dan, ask that you get a room AWAY from the lobby area. The hotel was hosting a Bar Mitzvah during my stay and the music did not stop until 1:30AM. The music got progressively louder as the night went on. When I called the front desk, I was told that the manager has "requested" the DJ to lower the music but there was nothing else they could do. The lobby was filled with partygoers and I had to squeeze through the crowd just to get to my room.

At 6:00AM, the clean up crew moved around some of the party equipment, therefore disturbing my slumber again.

The front desk removed my telephone expenses as an "apology" for my inconvenience but I was exhausted the next day.

Remember to bring a power converter if you're traveling from the U.S. There is no iron in the room so if you need your clothes pressed, you will have to call housekeeping. Also, high-speed connection in the room is sporadic and disconnects often. I wouldn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel, there is another restaurant down the street, right by the beach.

On the positive side ... the breakfast buffet is really good and it's included in the price of the room.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ynhi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews