We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere, expensive”
Review of Yakiniku Tenka - CLOSED

Yakiniku Tenka
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Yakiniku Tenka is a specialized Japanese Grill Restaurant. The Restaurant is diveded into private rooms designed in Japanese style. Before entering the rooms, our guests take off their shoes . In the center of the table you will find a pecial smokless grill where the guests grill their own meat. The dining experience in Yakiniku Tenka is a unique one and very authentic to its origin in Japan. You may read more about us in our offical facebook page :-)
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, expensive”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The restaurant is a great dining experience.
All the tables are in small private rooms with authentic japanease decor and music.
The food is excellent and includes self-roasted meats, seafood and other dishes.
The service is excellent.
We celebrated a family birthday and had a great time.
The prices are quite steep - but for special occasions, are fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moolieisenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere and decent food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I visited this place this week and had a menu dinner + some special dishes we ordered.
This is the first time I visited in a Japanese restaurant so maybe this is common but this place has a personal booth for each visitors group (we had a twin one) and you have complete privacy in it.
The place specializes for its meat and seafood dishes. The concept is that you get fresh thin slices of meat (marinated), and you grill them by yourself.
Out waitress was very nice and explained about each dish and how the chef recommend to grill the meat.
We also tasted Kobe beef (extra charge) which was really good and special desert (Sakora - berry’s mousse with Crème brûlée and white chocolate).
Overall it was very nice and food was good and tasty.
The two comments I have are regarding the price which is expensive (we got ~500INS = 130$) and that you’ll have to change your cloth because you’ll smell like barbeque so don’t plan to go for a party after this meal… (-;

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
217 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A real Japanese treat”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My eldest son invited me to try this restaruant. I am really pleased we did. It is a traditional "yakiniku" - which was explained to us means a restaurant "serving grilled meat". We took a set menu, which is quite elaborate - including a numer of appetizers and an "intermediary" course - a selection of fish and seafood. But the highlight - and one should reserve his appetite for this part - is fine section of meat which the guests cook themselves over a small charcoal grill in the middle of the dining table. The quality of the meat was excellent. I highly recommend upgrading the menu to include Kobe beef! Meals are served in private rooms, that accommodate from two to twenty people. Servie was friendly and professional. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unsophisticated & Repetitive Flavors”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The marinated meat-on-the-table-grill was reasonably tasty, if bland, but the rest of the dishes were amateurish. With every course, the waiter would proudly and pretentiously announce the name, in Japanese, of the sauce, but every single dish had the same seasoning as the previous one - an unsophisticated mix of sugar and soy sauce, this time with a bit of chili, and that time with a little sesame. The stir fries were watery and the salad was just ridiculous: iceberg lettuce with carrot.
The dinner reminded me of the kind of "Japanese food" you would get in provincial American cities in the 1980s - an approximation at best.
The seafood stir-fry was particularly bad - rubbery frozen product. Could not eat it.
The place itself is clearly fraying and unkempt with terrible acoustics between the "private" rooms. The service, though, is attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerning-4-less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food with excellent service”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We´ve been yesterday again in this restaurant. We had the Taste-Menu and then took Kobe-Beef extra :-) With the stroller our stay was not so comfortable, because the rooms are small. But all in one - our visit was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ljuba P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakiniku Tenka also viewed

Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing