We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Atmosphere, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto

Kyoto
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Herzliya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For over a decade, the "Kyoto Herzliya" restaurant is serving Sushi and Japanese cuisine of the highest quality. Over the years, the restaurant had become a culinary institution and has been a role model for other Israeli Japanese restaurants. Due to the increasing demand, two additional restaurants were recently opened: The "Kyoto Poleg" restaurant, in the "Ir Yamim" mall and "Kyoto Ra'anana" in the city's industrial area. Both restaurants serve sushi and Japanese cuisine with great commitment to the kitchen's quality and meticulousness found in "Kyoto Herzliya". Nevertheless, each restaurant has its own concept and "character". We invite you to explore our website and view the menus, design and atmosphere of each one of the chain's restaurants. We welcome you to enjoy our quick and friendly take away ordering experience straight from the website. Bon Appetite.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely setting very trendy. Been going here for about 6 years. Nice cocktails, nice noodle dishes, starters. What lets it down is the sushi. The sashimi is cut way too thick and the yellow tail i had last night was tasteless. So if you order only pick the sushi rolls, noodles and starters. Also expensive but thats Israel !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen67London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best japanese restuarant in Israel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I went to kyoto on a sunday evening, had a great time, the atmosphere is cozy, the sushi was the best i have had in israel . To sum it all up i had a great experience and would come back again when I'm around .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_israeli_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi in ISRAEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Sushi of "KYOTO" is probably my favorite sushi restaurants in ISRAEL. I love the sushi main course and the appetizers. It's also incredible value for money compared to the other restaurants in its class. I always recommend it to friends and family visiting me.
BTW: They also deliver which is great now that we have kids.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

if you are looking for sushi in israel, this is the place for it!
the fish are extremely fresh, the service was excellent, the resturant is designed very nicly.
overall, good experience - highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nothing to do with Japanese food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

To serve to Miso soup first and then wait with the Bento box until the soup is finished is so un-Japanese that it makes you cringe. Japanese people simply cannot drink the soup without rice, pickles, etc. The rice was European (low quality) and therefore not sticky. The sea weed is nice but as a salad it needs dressing. The fish quality is good but the sashimi pieces are way too big and thick. Please go for quality not quantity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto also viewed

Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
Herzliya, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing