We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend just a few steps from the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shizen Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shizen Spa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Herzliya
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great weekend just a few steps from the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We came to the shizen for a short weekend especially for body treatment and stayed for the night. The shizen is a small section of 3 floors right near the bigger "Daniel" hotel. The room was good enough though it was pretty small but the great thing about it is the view from the balcony - The Mediterranean Sea (Herzlia shore) and the large pool which we didn't use 'cause it's pretty impossible in summer vacations, especially in July/August. About the location itself, it's literally a few steps from the shore and there is an exit from the pool which was great for us. The breakfast was varied though not as tasty as it seems but it's individual (We ate it the "daniel" hotel).
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Guest Relations Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    11
    19
    12
See reviews for
8
51
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

amazing stay! the location and service was great.
The Food is very good

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank din2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, General Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We came to the Shizen for a family holiday and we were not disappointed. We had the most amazing time which was helped along tremendously by Victor Epstein - the Customer Relations Manager - He is the nicest man and gave us incredible service - as did Hanny, Eden and Brent, our waitresses and chef. All staff were a delight and I would to thank them for their exceptional service - normally with a smile!

Breakfast in the Shizen was superb - it was both relaxing and quiet and had a great selection of delicious foods to tempt us. e had dinner there twice and both times this was excellent too.

Thank you to Victor and his team for a fab holiday

The whole ambience was a fantastic experience, the rooms were lovely overlooking the sea, and the food was excellent too. The spa was so nice with lots of nice touches.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Guest Relations Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at the Shizen Spa, I can't understand why this section of the Daniel hotel has had any bad reviews, I have been visiting Israel for over 30 years and have never had such an enjoyable stay in a hotel. Without a doubt the service and effort of all staff is impeccable from the bell boys to the chefs, waitresses and waiters, cleaners, spa staff up to the management trully look after their guests to the highest of standards. Nothing was a problem, one example:we needed medical help urgently for my diabetic son, this was sorted by Victor the manager and after one phone call late at night we were with a private doctor within 20 mins ! If you need a well earned rest then this is the place to be. The Shizan does have its own resturant which is superior in service to the main Daniel hotel, although the food is similar except for the smoked salmon it can be a bit busy, the Shizan is a real gem . Go and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Guest Relations Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I was dubious about the Shizen due to the poor views I read on Tripadviser. Well I was pleasantly surprized. You enter the hotel via the Daniel Hotel reception area. From then you are in a world of your own. The room I had was marvellous. The bed is in the centre of the room and as you open the curtains you look directly to the sea. The are beautifully furnished, the aromotheropy oil that burn int he room are very relaxing. Breakfast is erved in the Shizen dining room and offers goat & cow cheeses, yogurts, fresh home made breads, and egg station where the shizen chef will make you eggs, an aray of fish including smoked salmon, smoked tuna, and many others. Fruits, cereals, sparkling wine, fruit juices, and all types of coffees & Teas. It is a brilliant experience, especially as it is very quiet as they do not allow children below the age of 16 or 18. We ate dinner in the Shizen dining room one night, they have their own chef and kitchen, it was a fabulous experience. The spa offer a good size indoor pool, gym, jaquzzi, saunas, steam rooms, and indevidual treatment rooms. I booked a massage with Neir, I had a bad back and twisted muscles, which he sorted with ease. I would recommend him. They just know how to pamper their guests. The only down side was that in the 10 day stay they cancelled the Shizen breakfast twice with no notice, apology or any compensation and we ate in the main noisy Daniel Hotel dining room, a lower class of breakfast with the noise of many people a complete contracts to the the relaxing calm atmosphere of the Shizen.. It reminded me of a luxury cafeteria. Not what we had paid for. That is why I marked the hotel down on value below.
The staff in the hotel were wonderful, nothing is too much for them a complete contrast to some other hotels in Israel.
The location is right in the centre of Hertzlia, on the beach, who could ask for better.
Overhall, I had a wonderful holiday, the Shizen is a fabulous experience that I would recommend to anyone. Go there and relax, Definately 5 stars throughout.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2301 - 20 floor have marvellous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millhillvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Guest Relations Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was very nervous about going to the Shizen due to the awful reviews on tripadvisor but had heard from a few friends that it was great and decided to go anyway. We were not dissapointed! The rooms were lovely (no old furniture, everything new and modern), the sea views were beautiful, the staff were all super polite and friendly, the food was delicous. Yes, the Shizen isn't a separate hotel, it's a section inside the Daniel hotel but it has a very different atmosphere and given that we were on a vacation without our kids, the no kids under 16 rule really made it for us, especially the breakfast which was calm, quiet and relaxing. Only thing we didnt like was the automatic bar fridge plus charging a fee if you want to put your own things in it. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Front Office Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I came with my wife after the wedding for a wedding night.
The room was upgraded to a suite room.
We also obtained a therapeutic massage and dinner and breakfast
The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and luxurious.
The food was very tasty and had a great selection as a gourmet restaurant.
The spa treatments were very professional and eased the pain after the wedding dances.
The room was with an amazing view to the sea
Even the pool with sea views and drop straight to clean beach with clear water
My wife and I really enjoyed in the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommended to night wedding in a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riki a, Guest Relations Manager at Shizen Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

To begin 2014 we would like to thank you for taking time to fill out your feedback following your stay at the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we would be honored to have another chance to welcome you back to the Daniel Herzliya Hotel.

Please send me a personal email with your arrival dates and we will ensure that you will enjoy a pleasurable stay in our beautifully updated, refreshed rooms - riki.apel@tamareshotels.co.il
Riki Apel
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herzliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Daniel Herzliya Hotel
Daniel Herzliya Hotel
#4 of 10 in Herzliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Herods Herzliya
Herods Herzliya
#1 of 10 in Herzliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
The Ritz-Carlton Herzliya
#2 of 10 in Herzliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sharon Hotel
Sharon Hotel
#3 of 10 in Herzliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Okeanos Boutiqe Herzlia
0.3 mi away
Dan Accadia Hotel Herzliya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shizen Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shizen Spa Hotel

Property: Shizen Spa Hotel
Address: 60 Ramot Yam St., Herzliya, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Herzliya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Herzliya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Herzliya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Herzliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shizen Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shizen Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shizen Spa Hotel Israel/Herzliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing