We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in a desert”
Review of Kibbutz Ein Gedi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ein Gedi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Ein Gedi
London, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An oasis in a desert”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It takes about an hour to an hour and 20 minutes to reach Kibbutz Ein Gedi from Jerusalem, dropping down about 3800 feet (785 metres) to 1388 feet (425 metres) BELOW sea level.

The hotel is placed well off the main road (wait until you see the signs for "Kibbutz Hotel Ein Gedi" and don't turn off at the other Ein Gedi signs for the Beach and the Nature Reserve). There is a large spacious lobby and the girl at the reception was friendly, efficient and informative. We had Room 15 which is very close to the main lobby and bar/restaurant area so it was very convenient. All rooms are quiet.

The room was a step up from the typical Kibbutz room; small bathroom with good shower, soaps, towels and sink. Room was a decent size with air con and very comfortable beds. Curtains had black out backings to keep room dark after sunrise.

We stayed out on the bar terrace for the evening with a glass of wine, a large bowl of humous and pitta bread and watched the stars come out in the black night sky.

The breakfast is held in the dining room (not bar/restaurant area) and is about a 5 minute walk. Superb quality breakfast with cereals, cheeses, salads, fish, breads, fruit etc etc and your coffee is filled up automatically by a roaming waitress. Believe me, after you've stuffed yourself with this breakfast you won't need lunch!

We booked out in the morning by simply returning the keys to the reception. Do ask for the voucher which gives you free access to the Ein Gedi Spa a couple of kilometres down the road which I'll describe in a separate review. Also, the rooms themselves are set in a botanical garden landscape and you must take a leisurely walk of about an hour to look at the wonderful plants and cactuses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    100
    60
    27
    13
See reviews for
109
138
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Unbelievably beautiful location overlooking the Dead Sea and the mountains of Jordan. Our two mini-suites were centrally located, both a plus and a negative, but included access to the new Spa with a pool filled with water from the Dead Sea as well as a 'regular' pool.
Food was ok, similar to quality at other Kibbutz we stayed at, not as good as in the City hotels.
Young waitstaff was friendly and working hard. We were there for 3 days over Passover and the place was fully booked.

Room Tip: We stayed in two mini-suites because I thought the layout would be best for our family of 6. If I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a delux room – a huge room with a balcony and an amazing view of the Arugot wadi with a huge bathroom that include both a bath tab with a view, as well as a large rain-shower. The hotel has a new beautiful spa with a view to the Dead Sea. The guests of the deluxe rooms get a free entrance to the spa and one treatment for each night they stay. The food was good. The hotel offered many activities for kids – Jamboree, drawing, and trips to the kibbutz botanical gardens and to the David wadi. The swimming pool is nice but it was just too cold when we got there. We plan to return next year as well, even if we have to settle for a standard room – which is much more modest but still cozy and has everything you’ll need, depends on the budget.

Room Tip: Choose a delux room if your budget allows, as it will upgrade your vacation. But the location is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adigo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I do not have words for describing the awesomeness of Ein Gedi. Great climate (25°C max in November), amazing nature (plants from all over the world), the unique beauty of the Dead Sea, the wonderful sensation of being out of the "real" world. Furthermore, the Kibbutz offers a great variety of foods (both local and not so local) in its restaurant, there is a little spa, the service is good (even if not excellent) and there are many buses connecting Ein Gedi with Tel Aviv or Jerusalem, in order to visit other worthy places in Israel. The rooms are not so big (I stayed in a regular room, not the suite) but satisfactory, considering that the Kibbutz is in the middle of a desert. They are equipped with air conditioning (very good) and with the usual accessories (tv, coffee machine, etc). The main issues I observed are: a) the "weakness" of the wireless connection that, in the case of business trips/men, can be annoying b) the cost of the room, with respect to the provided services: I know that the place is unique and that they provide "room and board" but two hundred dollars per night per room seems a little bit too much to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMD194790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed here many times over recent years.
Pros: incredible location, beautiful grounds and scenery, free access to the dead sea spa. The modern and upscale rooms are very nice. Breakfasts are good, but dinners overpriced.

Cons: reservation system and staff. People are not friendly nor efficient. Make sure that you check your reservation for accuracy. When you check in make sure that they give you the kind of room you requested, and if you paid for a view, that you get one. Unless you love cats, upper floor rooms are best. When you check out review your bill carefully, challenge any errors and do not back down. The last two times we stayed there the prices 'changed' between check in and check out and of course it was not their fault (it really was).

If the staff was more professional it would be a five, but they have a long way to go.

Room Tip: In Arugot and Deluxe rooms you are best off with a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler48823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been at this place to stay 4 separate times over the last 8 years and each time I wonder why. It's going down hill and will probably never change. The reason is they have no competition. They are the only place on the Israeli side of the Dead Sea that is in between the north and the south ends. The older people working there are nice but only if they have to be. All of the young people feel penned up and seem a little miserable. The accommodations are dirty and run down. The walls are thin and it's junky all around. There are 40 cats running all around the grounds and in ALL of the dining areas. Some of them are actually mean and scratched my pants because I would not feed him. It was craziness. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I went with my aged mom. There is no gym. If you have to stay there, Skip going to their free seasid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ditto777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want to experience something different than the usual urban hotels, Ein Gedi resort is the one for you. Located near the Dead Sea, this calm and simple hotel can answer the expectations of travelers and people who are looking for calm and simple atmosphere. I surely recommend this hotel for people who love hiking in desert areas. In a minimal distance, one can find plenty of hiking trails vary from easy to the most difficult ones. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaeloA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
0.2 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
17.5 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
17.7 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
18.0 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Ein Gedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Ein Gedi

Property: Kibbutz Ein Gedi
Address: P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kibbutz Ein Gedi 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Kibbutz Ein Gedi Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing