We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Kibbutz Ein Gedi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ein Gedi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Ein Gedi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were 4 families staying at Arugut complex. Unfortunately the rooms were very poorly maintained. The paint is peeling down, the shelves are shaken, and there is only one electric plug that is available for use. Around the rooms there too many cats which jumping al around. The water in the bathroom are flooding all the room.
The garden and the view around is lovely. The is variety of good food in the dinning room.
In total we paid far too expensive for what we got.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Miryam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 366 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

I agree with previous reviews. The older rooms are very basic but staying in those beautiful surroundings compensates for all this!
An absolutely amazing oasis in the middle of a desert!
Be prepared that the Ein Gedi spa is not exactly how you had possibly imagined it. Keeping this in mind low your expectations and enjoy this unique experience.

Room Tip: If I was to book now i would book a room with the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for one (Friday) night in early November. The older, simpler rooms have got the feel of an old Club Med (as has the whole Kibbutz, in a way); somewhat spartan for the money one pays (i.e. not worth the money).
However, it is the outside that counts: the lush subtropical gardens in the middle of an otherwise hostile desert, two fantastic wadis to hike up in at your doorstep, the still communal Kibbutz atmosphere. Lots of wild gazelles and ibexes are roaming the grounds to graze, there is a brand new nice spa in the grounds, a sizeable if simple pool, and a few kilometres away, the dead sea spa.
Despite the prize I'd go back here anytime rather than choose the bland mass tourism sites at Ein Bokeq.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the brand new valley view rooms - the view is amazing, and it is closer to the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I reserved my room via booking.com and I did not get the room that I reserved. They gave me the cheapest room they have and told me to complain to the the agent (booking). The room is very old from the 70's and overpriced. The property is poorly maintained and the internet does not work. The place is very disappointing.
The only good things are the restaurant were the food is good and the young waitresses are very polite. The young guy at the reception at the night shift is friendly and professional, but he was not there once I did my check-in.

The SPA at the hotel is new and well designed, nothing to do with the SPA at the beach.

Room Tip: The 80's and 90's rooms are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RioMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location. Great food, suggest getting 'half board' as not really anywhere else to eat and food is fresh, tasty and plentiful. Many choices for all food preferences, we are vegetarians and had lots of options. Nearby to swimming in Dead Sea and they provide passes for free access. Also close to Massada and some great hikes. Downside was it was expensive and room was quiet small, old and spare, we went at a popular time but very high price for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saysomething123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Other than Ein Bokeq hotels, this is pretty much the only accomodations in the dead sea area. However, that is not the reason to stay here. How many places can you stay that are botanical gardens in the middle of a desert? Of the several hotels we booked in our travels of fantastic Israel this was one of the best. Accomodations are not "high end" but good. As usual a very good Israeli brekkie is included but shell out a few more shekels for the dinner as well no other options in the immediate area. Dinner was also very good (buffet which changes nightly). Of course, staying here grants free entrance to the spa which is right on the dead sea. Again another magical place in a fantastic country.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a standard garden or desert room which definitely wasn't worth the money! Location is great though with an outstanding view of the Judean Desert and hills. Bus takes you to the spa by the Dead Sea everyday if you have no car. The spa was a huge disappointment - very poor and dirty! In the Kibbutz, there are so many starving cats that if you are an animal lover, you won't enjoy your stay as much as you wish. We spent so much money to but them some food. Had to buy it in Jerusalem (you must visit - one of the most interesting cities we've ever been!) as they don't sell any food for cats in their local stores.... Food was a buffet style (breakfast+dinner) but one of the best culinary experiences!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferginka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
0.2 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
428 reviews
17.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,176 reviews
18.0 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
838 reviews
17.5 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
17.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Ein Gedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Ein Gedi

Address: P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ein Gedi
Price Range: $181 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kibbutz Ein Gedi 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Kibbutz Ein Gedi Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing