We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special location”
Review of Ein Gedi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This resort is located near the dead sea shore, on a hill next to the ein gedi oasis. Its important since its a little different from the large hotels in Ein-Bokek region where heat is worse and there is no wind. We stayed at the simplest type of room which was ok, not more. Good air condition, free wifi, not so clean, but all in good condition. The resort is amazing, do not miss the guided tour of the botanical garden! Also the night tour. The restaurant is good, better than the standard hotels in Israel. Spa was also good, its opened till midnight and free, on thursday evening. The place is is quiet, you wont face the noise and hustle of the big dead sea hotels. The sea is not so close but there is a shuttle. All in all, as i have spent a weekend in Ein-Gedi and in Ein-Bokek, i definitely recommend the first.

Room Tip: There are few levels, we used the lowest. Newer room have great view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Ein Gedi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The property is extensive and very beautiful on the outside. The rooms are simple and very basic. Most of the staff are young kids presumably working on the kibbutz. They were mostly indifferent to service. That said, we had some trouble getting there because of unusual rain and a road closure and one of the staff gave us her cell phone number to call if we had trouble with our drive late at night. Breakfast is typical fare and chaotic at the height of the traffic. Seemed like they didn't have quite enough space.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We've been coming to the Ein Gedi hotel every year for 5 years. Its a magical place between the dead sea and the desert mountains. And its perfect with small kids, there's a pool and a wonderful grassy area and botanical garden, no crowds, no cars even in the highest season. There is a gorgeous new spa and we also enjoyed the singers they had nightly at the outdoor cafe
Having said this we just paid 2300 NIS a night (half board) for a room in Passover (that's about $700 a night!!). Avishag the manager was very nice and helpful but there were some issues during our stay - our room was not cleaned one day despite a number of requests (we got a 10% for that day), and the carts to the restaurant come sporadically, the food is good but not great.
All in all an amazing place to go to with kids and if you go off season and pay reasonable prices its worth it, but in the high season its just too expensive for what you get - they either need to improve service to reach the level of prices they charge or (better yet) bring the price down to a more realistic level. Good luck to them because its a kibbutz and a lovely place.

Room Tip: There are a few types of rooms. If you take the cheaper ones know that its a very basic hostel type...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The garden is wonderfull, the view is great, the location is perfect... this is about all the positive things that there are to say.

It is clear that things are run collectively and lack the personal touch of a real manager.
The breakfast buffet looked great but was composed of cheap food.

We paid 320 USD for a room (4 beds, normal, not luxury) that was not even worth a third of that price, may be because we came right after the end of Easter holidays. It was clean though.

All in all, I would still recommend the place if you are ready to pay this price to experience the failure of collectivism.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alonzobistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights during the highest season. Although the place was full it felt that there us enough space for everybody. We took the luxury rooms so we had a free entrance to the SPA which was perfect: great view, salt pool and more, very quite . We even asked one of the local girls to babysit for an hour so we can spend there some more time.
The rooms are very small, and not maintained well, the food is not so good and they use the same matirials for a few days. Dinner is very expensive for what you get and it is better to eat at the cafee or buy outside.
The place is not recommended if you have problem walking, the dinning room is far and it is hard to get a trolley to get you there, sometimes they come sometimes they dont.
In geberal, the place is nice for families but prices are much too high for what you get.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank tzachibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

No other hotel in the area can challenge this hotel's location, inside Kibutz Ein Gedi (which is a botanical garden) and the beautiful views it affords. Most rooms are located in the green premisses of the kibbutz, and it is a real treat to just sit outside in the evening. However, do not expect any frills, to say the least. Rooms are very basic, and the food in the dining room is average and tasteless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

First, to have a proper feeling, or i would say, not to be disappointed, it is important to know what is a kibbutz... We did not really know...
So we paid 471 usd for a nicely furnished room, indeed, recently renovated BUT for 471 usd you dont get:
1. A friendly checkin... Oups, i felt i was disturbing them...

2. Restaurant ran by students, not having any clue of the business taking 1 hour to bring you a tuna salad...

3. Buffet... 1 kid, 2 adults with water: 330Nis... Ripoff for cheap food and tap water.

4. Breakfast: food ranked to low average. Staff does not smile in the morning...

5. Luggage service: not available... Is it not a 400 usd hotel?!

6. Pool: great but... Dont forget to bring your water with you... There s an abandonned bar closed near the pool... Sad.
The pool is very deep, so kids no chance to swim under the sunshine.

7. Yes you can go to Ein gedi spa but dont forget to take the voucher with you... They dont inform you about this... It is 6 km away from hotel btw...

But if you wish to see massada, david trail, the hotel is nucely located... Thats all... Will not return to this place... For sure.



Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Gaetanalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,299 reviews
19.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,285 reviews
17.9 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,143 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
17.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Hotel

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range: $98 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ein Gedi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing