We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ein Gedi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Beautiful, oasis setting in the middle of the desert. Great breakfasts and dinners (may be best to be on plan that includes breakfast and dinner as limited dining options in the area). There is a huge pool as well as free access to Ein Gedi spa (swim in Dead Sea, mud baths, sulfur pools), fifteen minutes by car to Masada. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    145
    63
    43
    28
See reviews for
135
139
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This is the best location to stay in the Dead Sea.

Took my parents around the country(wife is Israeli) and this was also there favorite of the trip.

The views, the gardens to walk around, the pool all make the heat disappear. There is a out door bar which during the evening was so pleasant it felt more like a island holiday.

We stayed in one of the arugot rooms with parents in the apartment above us. Would have taken a simpler cabin for us but all booked out but they look like great value.

The food was generally good and all you needed.

Free entry into the spa was also a plus.

Will head back as it also makes a decent place for walking off into the hills.

  • Liked — location, grounds
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shortripeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Last stayed in 2005. This time, 2008, chose the 'Dessert Rooms'. Fully airconditioned and a fine standard. About $170 including half-board food (breakfast & dinner for two) was wonderful and excellent value. This time we went on a few local tours. Nahal David - only 10 minutes away by coach for about $12 each. It includes a tour of the local flora and fauna (ibex), as well as the magical oasis including waterfall that provided water to the Roman armies and Kind David so many years ago.

The local spa was great including the mud bath which is unique to their spa resort - the resort is a little dated but it is about the experience. Will visit again on my next trip.

PS. The highway from Jerusalem to the Dead Sea (Ein Gedi) has been upgraded and takes only 30 minutes from top to bottom. If you have kids book into Geneis Land (Eretz Berashit) in Allon on the way down and meet Abrahamm visit his tent, ride a camel, eat local food and learn about the good ole days - bookings required.

  • Liked — Situated within amazing gardens and great food
  • Disliked — only one computer in the lobby for internet access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RacheleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Our Party of 6 included my nine year old daughter, teenage son, my wife and I and our Rabbi and spouse. We booked three wonderful Argut Rooms which were the largest we stayed in while in Israel. The weather, food, hotel grounds and the facility amenities were great and we had researched this facility through this website - we were not let down! We booked the hotel through our fantastic Private tour guide - Desert Eco Tours, as we planned our son's Bar Mitzvah atop Masada the next day.

The grounds are BEAUTIFUL and you can find the widest array of cactus and other botanical gems - and we live in San Antonio! The main restaurant had very good food, tons of helpful staff, and offered it all in a very nice, almost elegant buffet room that allowed you to mingle with the other guest.... which we did as we heard languages from around the world. A great place for soaking in the sun, mud baths, floating on the Dead Sea and being in a true oasis in a land of harsh beauty.

One comment about the room. Each Argut room comes with a large floor squeegee for the bathroom, as the large shower will leak into the bathroom. Other than that, WE WILL return!!!
Remember the Ein Gedi!

  • Liked — Beautiful room/facilities and not a touristy location in beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Shower door leaks into bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidNSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The place was lovely and unpretentious. We spent extra for an "Arugot" room and it was quite nice but nothing spectacular. We were on the lower level which looked out over a bush and beyond that a wall and beyond that the beautiful desert. No view at all. So I would recommend clarifying ahead of time with the hotel which room you will be getting. The upper level rooms obviously had a much better view for the same cost.

Speaking of cost, even the most modest rooms get the same dinner and breakfast, which were ample and tasty. So what I am getting at is if I ever went back, which I most definitely would, I would probably book one of the less expensive rooms. One of the other guests I spoke to said her room overlooked the Dead Sea itself. You get the same benefits, including free passes at the spa down the road, same food, same beautiful grounds.

  • Liked — The proximity to the Dead Sea Spa.
  • Disliked — Not sure spending extra for room upgrade was worth it.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikingrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

This kibbutz was very beautiful, rooms are a bit basic,but have evrything you need. There was a freindly atmosphere and the food was good, there is transport to the kibbutz spa if needed.

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATELINE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

I recently stayed with my uncle at the Kibbutz Ein Gedi Resort Hotel in Israel. The whole thing was quite an experience! The kibbutz and hotel is very nice, but there once you get away from the area there is very little out there besides the desert.

The hotel rooms are basic but nice. Our room had 2 single beds, a small fridge, and a nice bathroom. Cable TV is included, which I did not expect! Beds were comfortable, everything was clean, air conditioning was pretty good. Lucky for us, since it's 100+ degrees for basically 3 months straight in the summer!

Hotel stay included breakfast and dinner buffet in the hotel restaurant, which is NOT where the actual kibbutz residents eat--they have their own dining room. The buffet is very good if a bit repetitive (particularly at breakfast). WE were there for 2 days, and dinner consisted of about 4 main courses, 4 sides, a very nice salad bar, various breads, several desserts and sorbets, juice, water, coffee and tea. Good quality!

Dinner is kosher meat, meaning that there are absolutely no dairy products served. Breakfast is the opposite--there is dairy, but no meat served. This was terrific for me, since I'm lactose-intolerant. No worries about getting sick from dairy products at dinner!

The dining area is always clean. The staff does an excellent job keeping everything stocked in the food area, and is responsive to any requests.

There are a few daily activities, which they post in the lobby. Take advantage. The tour of the gardens was very impressive, and the tour guide tells a lot of the history of the kibbutz. Also, be sure to VISIT THE POOL, which is excellent and costs nothing with your stay.

There were two very negative things during our stay:
1. Service at the front desk, other than check-in, was weak. They did not seem concerned with answering questions, helping out with concierge-type tasks, etc. For a hotel in this class, one expects much more!
2. Transportation/tourism offerings are awful! If you want a cab you literally have to call one in from Jerusalem--90 minutes away--and pay their cost of coming out to pick you up. In other words, if you want a ride to the beach 2 miles away, it would cost a fortune!! The only shuttle goes back and forth to the Ein Gedi Spa 5 km away.

Some advice: If you want to do any touring, you must pre-arrange your plans in Jerusalem or, possibly, Tel-Aviv. Your only other option, as far as we could tell, is to rent a car. With a car you can come and go at your leisure.

Sights to see:
1. Masada- This is apparently "must see", but we couldn't because the only way to get there was to hop on the bus out of town and hop off near Masada, and then hike up. The first bus comes by the kibbutz at 8:00am, which is considered too late to hike up Masada due to the extreme heat (those who want to hike it should be there by about 4:00am). If you do take the bus, you have to catch a bus coming back, which happens about every 2 hours. Masada isn't a scheduled stop, so you don't actually know exactly when the bus will be there to pick you up, and the bus does not wait!! Miss it, wait 2 hours for the next one!

2. Dead Sea- You must take a 'swim' in the Dead Sea, which basically means walking in, laying down on top of the water, and chilling out. Either head down to the local beach (not very nice, but it does the job) or go to the spa, where a little train/tram takes you down to a much nicer beach It's a very cool experience, but be careful not to splash around--legend has it that if you get this incredibly salty water in your eyes, you can go blind. Seriously, I'm not kidding! Also, if you have any kind of cut or scrape on your body, it will HURT. It's that salty. Also, be aware that the Dead Sea is gradually receding, so you actually have to walk several hundred yards to get to the water. The sand is HOT in the summer!!

3. Jacob's Falls- A few kilometers from the kibbutz is a trail network up through the mountains. Part goes along a small river, and therefore has the only significant natural vegetation around. There are several small waterfalls, and you can swim around in the pools under them to cool off. Very nice! Those who are more fit and daring can continue up over the top of the mountain to the plateau for what are supposed to be extraordinary views of the area.

  • Liked — The food was very good
  • Disliked — Lack of transportation and concierge help
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelsaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,237 reviews
19.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,244 reviews
17.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,429 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Hotel

Property: Ein Gedi Hotel
Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ein Gedi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing