We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis!”
Review of Ein Gedi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true oasis!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved our stay at the ein gedi resort. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and chose to stay there based on their proximity to the Dead Sea and Masada. It was a great choice! Not only was it a beautiful property but the staff was helpful. The room was a bit plain, but very comfortable. The only thing I would comment on is that there are no real restaurants near there so you are dependent on their dining facilities which were a little expensive. We took advantage of their kibbutz grocery store and had little picnic dinners. Their breakfast was part of our package and was excellent. We also took advantage of their on site spa and had a couples massage after we climbed Masada. It was phenomenal! The spa facilities are open to guests for free, you can also get a day pass for the sea spa down the road. We did both and had plenty of time. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaS1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    145
    63
    43
    28
See reviews for
135
139
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

After mile upon mile of desert, Ein Gedi stands out as what a tropical oasis should look like. Staying in an actual botanical garden overlooking the Dead Sea is something special. Nice chalet like rooms, lovely food in the bar and large pool made it somewhere you can chill out in the desert. Slightly marred by a surly guy on reception but otherwise paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deicesdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked for one night and ended up staying for two. The location is the best in the Dead Sea area for visiting Masada and the David Springs as well as the Dead Sea itself. It is expensive but worth it. We booked for a standard room but were upgraded because they had run out of standard accommodation. This meant we had access to the Spa which is well worth the extra money, if you have to pay. You have the most exquisite view of the Jordanian desert hills from the sun loungers. Even better, they have a small pool full of Dead Sea water, which is actually pretty horrible - severely salty and greasy, so you can practise getting in, floating and getting out before you go down to the shore. Or skip the shore altogether.

The hotel restaurant was excellent, especially for me as a vegetarian.

The star attraction though is the botanical gardens. Make sure you take a guided tour. The kibbutz itself is in the gardens, which grew up around the buildings. This is separate from the hotel. Amazing plants and trees.

The only downside is their attitude to cats. They are left to roam and beg for food. I asked the guide why they don't get them neutered and then look after them properly. She had no answer. Please raise it if you visit. Surely, they will listen if enough people speak up.

Otherwise, it is a paradise.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard to use the spa. Go half board for relatively cheap meal at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stonewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a mini-suit on a half board basis - perfect four a family of four. The room was modern and comfortable and close to the pool - the kids loved it. The breakfast and dinner buffets were great - plenty of choice - and the kids loved getting the buggy up to the dinning room. The pool is large and the shallow end had plenty of shade to keep the children out of the direct sun. The gardens were wonderful and gave the hotel a real oasis feel.

The spa down by the Dead Sea was fun - floating in the sea was the strangest feeling - although the sand flies were vicious when we finally got out!

We walked up the easy route to the Ein Gedi spring and sat in the fresh water pools - amazingly beautiful.

We had a great time - it is worth paying up for the better rooms & half board - and we would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Most people seem to just do a day trip to the Dead Sea from Jerusalem or stay in the luxury resorts a few KM down the road, but the Ein Gedi Hostel was well worth the stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, there was three of us and had a 5 bed dorm to ourselves. Our room had a balcony looking out onto the Dead Sea and the beach was only a 15 minute walk. The Nature reserve is right next door and well worth a visit. There are no restaurants near by and no kitchen facilities in the hostel to cook your own food which we found a little frustrating. The staff were very friendly and were very informative.

There is not a lot of character about the place, it is not the sort of hostel you will easily get talking to other back packers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ein Gedi is a sprawling oasis in the middle of the desert.

- Room: clean, spacious and adequate, not super luxurious tho'
- staff: friendly and efficient
- Food: Good
- property: really nice, and you'll appreciate coming back to this place after a long day at the dead sea.
- Convenient: There is a bus stop right outside the hotel for buses going to the Dead Sea, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem. This was a huge plus for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ein Gedi Kibbutz hotel offers all sorts of exciting activities next to the Dead Sea, situated in one of the worlds foremost botanical gardens: Wonderful walks in nearby Wadi Arugot or Wadi David, healthy swimming in the Dead Sea or in Sulfur springs, relaxing time next to the pool or in the new Spa area.
In reach with regional bus service are the excavations of Massada or Quumran.
Great breakfast-Buffet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,237 reviews
19.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,245 reviews
17.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,429 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Hotel

Property: Ein Gedi Hotel
Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ein Gedi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing