We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent two nights at the Beit Sarah Guest House (called the Ein Gedi Youth Hostel on our GPS) while visiting the Ein Gedi Nature Reserve, Dead Sea and Masada. Other reviewers are correct in that it is nothing fancy, but definitely all we needed for a reasonable price during our stay. We drove up to the Ein Gedi Resort and Spa (for their ATM machine) which costs twice as much and, although we didn't see the rooms, the grounds weren't that impressive and the location was much less desirable. The Hostel on the other hand is less than a three-minute walk from the entrance to Wadi David, and less than a five-minute drive to Wadi Arugot and the Synagogue. You could even walk to the Dead Sea public beach, but it's a bit far so we drove (20 shekels parking if you go before closing at 6:30 PM).

The rooms are spartan (like a dormitory) but the beds are comfortable and there is a refrigerator and coffee/tea maker if you want to bring your own food. (Watch out for ants if you leave food out.) The all-you-can-eat dinner buffet is the best option for the area (about $55 for two adults and two children) and pretty good - lots of choices but nothing exceptional. The included breakfast is great and kept us going for 4.5 hours of hiking in the Nature Reserve on the first day and the hike up/down Masada on the second day.

Best of all is the view of the Dead Sea from the balcony, and the ibexes walking around the grounds. And the guy at the desk (wish I'd gotten his name) who gave us a dozen insider tips on the area - by far the most helpful person we've met in Israel.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend over any other accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyW717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
55
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent one night at this hostel. My tourists asked me to book a hotel near the dead sea, and they did not want to pay the prices of the hotels in Ein Bokek. I suggested the youth hostel in Masada, which is nice, but there was no room there because an army unit was staying there. I suggested that we try Ein Gedi youth hostel. Well, it was an experience... My daughter stayed there a few months back and she said that it was very nice. Imagine staying there after spending the night before at King David in Jerusalem... The location is great, right next to the national reserve and walking distance from the Dead sea. The room was large, and although I was there alone, there were 5 beds...including a bunk bed! Simple bed with thin mattress, but clean and comfortable. The shower was great and my guests were joking that it was the best shower so far that they had in Israel... The food was fine, and given the low price, it is a good value. So if you are open minded, and you want to have a good feel of the desert, this is an interesting experience. Who knows, you may even open your door and see an Ibex staring at you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourGuideInJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a little older Guest House and the room had 5 single beds, 3 as bunk beds, including 1 bed over the 2 main beds. Room was a little worn and some places didn't look the cleanest. Everything worked along with the good wifi. Great straight on view of the Dead Sea along with a good sized balcony. Room was quiet. Think college dorm type setup but had 2 sinks in bathroom area which was very functional with shower and toilet each in seperate little rooms. While breakfast food was decent it was a noisy, chaotic affair with all the school kids. Make sure to get to breakfast on time because it looked like when the food was gone, it was gone. Isolated location so nowhere to eat nearby unless you have a car and then it is a 30 or so minute drive. All in all, pretty good value for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have you been traveling though Israel and are finding your funds dwindling? This place is a respite from the high prices of traveling in Israel. The accommodations are best described as upscale dorm, but the Dead Sea is visible from your terrace and there are Ibex running through the parking lot. There was a VERY large group of school children staying while we were there, so if you can't tolerate that crowd consider another place. The food was dorm like, but the Dead Sea is right outside your terrace. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the public beach at the Dead Sea or you can drive down and park for 6NIS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STL_MO_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This guest house is nice: rooms are clean and good for this price and the food is very tasty. It's close to a sea and it's close to a reserve.Very nice place to stay for couples and for families with children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in a five bedroom. The room was clean and had a nice attached bathroom and a nice terrace with a view of the Dead Sea. The breakfast was good. It is very good the Dead Sea and Ein Gedi Nature Park is just a stroll away. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Vaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you need a place to stay in the Ein Gedi region, this place works. It's comfortable and there are good facilities overall - shower, bed, desk, but not much else. Everything is very clean though and well-maintained. Not much common area that is any fun to stay in - overall feels very barebones, without a good center for tourism information and easy access to other sites (which is what I was hoping for). While I was there there were loud youth groups running around the place that were a bit disturbing. I also had an unbelievably racist and unpleasant roommate. The staff at the desk helped me figure out buses to get to Masada and back (also to the Ein Gedi Beach) but I had to really prod them and found them overall a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
1.2 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
412 reviews
18.6 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
523 reviews
18.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,105 reviews
18.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House

Property: Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House
Address: D.N. Dead Sea, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi - Beit Sarah Guest House Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing