We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it! A must see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masada National Park

Masada National Park
Book In Advance
$750*
and up
Private Tour: Masada at Dawn, or Later, from Jerusalem
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Ein Gedi
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it! A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I probably went on the hottest day of the year and still loved it. Make sure you take water along. I'm glad we rode the cable car even though I am a hiker. In the heat it's just not worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,706
    315
    49
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Masada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Amazing. Pretty tough hike up to the fortress, but the view at the top is worth it. Views of the Dead Sea and of the desert are incredible. It's beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbo_chili_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Israeli determination Vs. Roman perseverance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This site is a "must see" in visiting Israel. It shows how few hundred people stood up to the mighty Romans and what the Romans had to go through in order to win this battle.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a breathtaking experience at sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

if you want this experience to be absolutely unforgettable, you have to go there at Sunrise. right, this can be extremely early but give it a shot and believe me you won't regret it...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheDoovoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Real Men Climb Masada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been to Masada a number of times and just keep getting blown away by the determination and sacrifice that happened there. For those of you not familiar with Masada, think of it as the "Jewish Alamo". One thing we did different this time is that I took the cable car instead of climbing it. You really miss something by wimping out and not climbing it. I still feel guilty. They say it is hot there, but not if you're from Texas! 110 degrees isn't thaaaat hot. Warm yes, but not hot. Just take water and your cell phone. BE WARNED at all of the Dead Sea sites and restaurants that food spoils quickly in this climate (avoid the condiments). I had a buddy get a world class case of food poisoning at the Masada restaurant a few years ago. Just hang with things that are not prone to heat spoilage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank uppertexside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masada National Park also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
 

Been to Masada National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing