We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Real Men Climb Masada!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masada National Park

Masada National Park
Masada, Ein Gedi, Israel
08-6584207
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$750*
and up
Private Tour: Masada at Dawn, or Later, from Jerusalem
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Ein Gedi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Real Men Climb Masada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been to Masada a number of times and just keep getting blown away by the determination and sacrifice that happened there. For those of you not familiar with Masada, think of it as the "Jewish Alamo". One thing we did different this time is that I took the cable car instead of climbing it. You really miss something by wimping out and not climbing it. I still feel guilty. They say it is hot there, but not if you're from Texas! 110 degrees isn't thaaaat hot. Warm yes, but not hot. Just take water and your cell phone. BE WARNED at all of the Dead Sea sites and restaurants that food spoils quickly in this climate (avoid the condiments). I had a buddy get a world class case of food poisoning at the Masada restaurant a few years ago. Just hang with things that are not prone to heat spoilage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank uppertexside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,667
    303
    45
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, and educational experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We took the cable car up and down, but if you are strong enough, and if it is cool enough, walking the Snake Path would give a real sense of what the original inhabitants and the rebels had to go through just coming and going. The sights are beautiful, but it is important to remember the tragic history of the place. My wife and I were lucky enough to find a rabbi in a climate-controlled corner of one of the ruins, where he was copying a Torah scroll. He was kind enough to write our names for us in Hebrew, for which we gave him a small donation. A once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Masada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hiking Masada is an experience you have to try! Standing at the top, looking out over the Dead Sea, surrounded by the ancient ruins, you have to admire the people who were here before you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk the Snake Trail - It's Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Masada is incredible. For those not familiar with its history, I suggest seeing the made for TV video starring Peter O'Toole. It will provide a good background for your visit. You can get to the top two ways: By tram or by walking. We walked the snake path in 100 degree heat at around 11am. More on that below:

At the top in addition to the ruins, there are excellent views of the Dead Sea and valley below. I suggest a guided tour to provide the full history and to walk through the details. It will give you a great perspective of the battle that took place there many years ago.

The climb:
It's not for the faint of heart. You need to be in good physical condition to handle this. There is no shade, no water, and no rest stops. It is a continuous stone stairway / path all the way to the top. If you are in decent physical condition, you can make this in 30-40minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Now this place is out of this world. A must visit type of place & after that swim in the Dead Sea , the feeling of floating .Wonderful experience .

Helpful?
Thank Gad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masada National Park also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
 
Ein Gedi, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to Masada National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing