We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Caesarea
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
63
21
6
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
21
6
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house wonderful place home cooked meal book in advance a great experience village arab volunteers project az history tour israel jewish beaches coast sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 100 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

Juha's house is not just a place where to get cheap accommodation and warm hospitality two steps far from one of the most beautiful beaches in Israel. It's a story of courage, stubbornness and tireless seek for getting this world a better and peaceful place to live, despite all the prejudices and the hard times we're living. Juha's is above all a project of "responsible tourism" set in the village of Jisr (the only arab village left along the coast) where people can spend good moments as among friends, contributing this way to break the isolation of the village that is one of the poorest in Israel. The guest house is simple, but comfortable. There's a common kitchen basically equipped, where you can prepare your food and eat (or share) it among the other hosts. Rooms are "no frills" but comfortable, cosy and clean. There are shared toilets (clean and tidy) provided with shower, towels and hot water. Whatever you need you'll be receiving a kind help from volunteers that are supporting the project. In case, there are cheap and good shops and restaurants in the village you will be headed to. Shopping there, means providing a contribution to the development of the whole community. If you like, you can ask for a special dinner that will be arranged in the very same house of the family owners: you cannot find better dishes and fresher fishes in the whole Israel and the prices are more than reasonable (absolutely not comparable to the rest of Israel). Caesarea is just 30 minutes walk along the beach. A wonderful promenade along the old walls of the city and the ancient aqueduct with the majestic framework of the white sand and blue sea.
People involved into the project can provide you other details of their work if you're interested or show you the advances (or problems) they're getting through.
I just spent 1 day in Juha's with my 11 years old daughter and it was one of the most exciting experiences ever had in Israel. I would like to come back during the hot season for better enjoying the beach and the sun.
I definitely recommend you a visit here.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Raffaele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015

I stayed at Juha's guesthouse with my wife for a weekend, and had a great time. We stayed at the double room which was simply and beautifully decorated, mostly using recycled materials (which is kind of a theme). The bed was comfortable and warm.
We arrived in the afternoon and received explanations about the hostel and the village, and went for a short walk to the beach (about 10-15 minutes from Juha's), which was really beautiful.
When it got dark we headed back to the guesthouse, and had a great dinner at Ahmed's (the hostel owner) house. This is really recommended for so many reasons, as it is a great opportunity to meet a local family, with many sweet kids, have some great local traditional food prepared by Haifa, Ahmed's wife, and hear from Ahmed and his family about their life in Jisr az Zarqa, and the village's history.

The next day we woke up to have a great pancake breakfast (for a recommended price of 10 NIS per person), and headed towards the Taninim stream nature reserve, just outside the village to the north (less than 15 minutes walk). It is a lovely little reserve where you can see how the Romans (and many after them) used the stream for flour mills and then diverted the water through the aqueduct to Cesarea. There are several trails, and you can spend 1-4 hours walking around.
We later walked back to the Fishermen's village on the beach to have lunch at Musa the Fisherman's restaurant, which was great, sitting on a terrace right on the beach.

Just walking around the village was a nice experience with friendly and curious kids everywhere. I also got a very nice haircut for a good price :)
The hostel owners and staff are involved in many social initiatives, and are really helping to develop local community and tourism, which is really impressive.

Staff was friendly and helpful, and it was an overall good, laid back experience. Jisr is a great place to relax.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Noam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

Nice people very frendly. Neta, the manager of the guesthouse will help you to feel at home! Near the sea, a uniqe experience. And the best home food! Go and visit you wont regret...sagee and avivit. Israel

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Avivit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2015

i took train to binyamina. then bus to zarqa. juha guesthouse is across from bus stop. easy to find. co-owner, ahamd, is friendly. he even drove me back to binyamina train station when i left zarqa. guesthouse employee, genevieve, was very friendly, helpful, and i enjoyed talking with her many times. safe community by the sea. walked to the water and then along the beach, asking locals for directions along the beach towards the aquaduct and old caesarea. one hour walk to old caesarea. you can pay 40 shekels to see a little bit more of old caesarea (theatre, stadium, remains of palace) or 14 shekels to see central area of old city. long walk back was good exercise. nice homes along the waterfront, but separated by stetch of sand dunes leading to aquaduct along the shoreline. took option to have dinner at ahmad's home. his wife is a great cook. guesthouse was clean and easy to fall asleep in bed.

Room tip: dorm by the window is a little noiser in the morning with traffic along the street. two private bedrooms at the back are quieter.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014

I chose to stay at this hostel because it was advertised as atypical with regard to the location and the local community. When I arrived I was nervous because nobody in the town spoke English; I didn't know how I would shop or get around in the small town. My fears were quickly assuaged when I met Neta, one of the owners of the guesthouse who showed me the wonderful dormitory atop the coffeehouse entrance. Walking through town will draw stares from the local people but don't be alarmed - I can't describe to you how friendly the people are when you engage them in spite of the language barrier. To the north of the town is the kibbutz Ma'agan Michael which is a great place to drink after Shabbat on the weekend. Below it is a breathtaking beach that runs paralell to the Caeserea aqueduct. Don't forgot to have dinner with Ahmed and his wife, Hifa. Her cooking is incredible and the meals are huge. To summarize, if this place isn't on the list of locations you plan on visiting while you're in Israel you're making a mistake.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zachary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews