We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in be'er sheva”
Review of Kampai Sushi Grill

Kampai Sushi Grill
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Beersheba
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
beer sheva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in be'er sheva”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

great food.
Very diverse, very special atmosphere.
They have two kitchens, one for shusi and seafood and the other one is a grill.
The best shusi in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilach_hagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    70
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kampai take it or leave it”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

this restaurantis one of the well known establishments in beer-sheva (not to mention one of the few upscale sushi places), the dishes most of the time are big and delicious, the sushi never dissapoints you the same can be said for the drinks departments.... untill it come to draught beer most of the time the beer comes flat with a weird after taste.
another point worth noting is the aproach you encounter when you arrive there, you will be asked by the hostess if you have reservation and if you havent made a reservation , you can expect to be seated for a period of about 15-20 minutes and then you will be shown in to the half empty restaurant, this i can explain as only as pathetic attempt to look exclusive and upscale ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best choice in Beer Shava”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Kampai would certainly "hold it own" in Tel Aviv, and just totally exceeds anything else in Beer Shava.

In a separate building on the edge of a large shopping complex. The atmosphere is lively and fun. The food is a fusion of Asian and American grill which can be mixed and matched.

I have visited twice in the last business visit, and on both occasions the food and service was just excellent. The serving staff are all young (I guess at University) and are very friendly and efficient with excellent English.

You should book in advance, but this is easy because the website (shown on Trip advisor) has the e-mail and phone contacts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gman558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimona, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice setting”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

There's an escalator to take you up to the restaurant, and an elevator to take you back to the free parking lot. Reservations are highly recommended. We've eaten there a number of times, and never been disappointed.

After we were seated, we were pleased to note that instead of a written menu, we were handed tablet computers with pictures and full descriptions of each menu item, both in Hebrew and in English. Once you tap on a menu item, you get a full-page enlargement, from which you can scroll to see the other full-page enlargements. While we were waiting for the waitress to return to take our orders, we were served cold tea and cold, damp cloths, both welcome in the Beersheva summer (although the restaurant itself is airconditioned).

As there were four of us, we ordered a wide variety of foods including one sushi dish. We enjoyed everything and although didn't really have room for it, also ordered two desserts (in total, not for each diner!).

The main dining room is lit up by the outside light, but towards evening the hidden ceiling lighting comes into play, changing colors every few minutes. This gives the room a specially nice ambience I never tire of. I've ttaken a number of foreign visitors there, they've all remarked on how nice it was, and how good the food is.

Our waitress, Rachel, was wonderful, in spite of the fact that we really ran her ragged, calling her back again and again to ask for things like additional food, additional ice water, and additional teriyaki sauce. She treated us with a smile throughout, explained various menu items that we weren't sure about, and helped one of us operate his tablet menu.

As Beersheva has a number of good dining choices we don't go back as often as we'd like, because we don't want to deny ourselves the other culinary pleasures of the city, but we've never had a meal at Kampai that we didn't thoroughly enjoy.

For many of the items, you can ask that the beef or chicken be substituted by tofu or soya, and for some items you can request whole rice instead of white rice.

Not far away, in the same BIG shopping mall, you can find Kampai Express, where the décor is nonexistent, the ambience non-existent, but most of the menu is the same and service is much faster. My friends and I prefer the original Kampai, which is the subject of this review, but when I walk past Kampai Express, where I've never eaten, the people seem to be enjoying themselves.

For good food in a nice restaurant we found the bill for appetizers, soft drinks, main courses and desserts, which came out to around NIS130 per person, very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For Beer Sheva.... Very good”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Starting from location and expectations and alternatives - Kampai is one of the better choices (that we know of). Having children attending the local university, we have found this to be one that all is convenient (and yes open on Saturdays as well). Yes, make reservations (although often no reason but they like to 'keep you waiting' for the 'show of it' ?!). Although "sushi" is very good; their other offerings like: noodle dishes and even some of the meat dishes are good as well. We just were there and they are 'still' serving the cold tea and towels. Service is usually with a smile and timely. Atmosphere is just fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampai Sushi Grill also viewed

Beersheba, Southern District
Beersheba, Southern District
 
Beersheba, Southern District
Beersheba, Southern District
 
Beersheba, Southern District
Beersheba, Southern District
 

Been to Kampai Sushi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing