We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the little drive regardless of the season” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Cow

Taos Cow
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Arroyo Seco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Bayfield, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the little drive regardless of the season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great ice cream....and the other food looked good too. Ice cream was rich and pure. A real treat on a hot summer day. The little area worth walking around and shopping too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    75
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Ice Cream in the State”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We go to New Mexico twice a year and we always stop by Taos Cow for some ice cream. I'm NOT an ice cream fan, but will go out of my way for Taos Cow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jthor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ice Cream!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The ice cream at the Taos Cow is outstanding! Also, because of the all natural ingredients, you don't feel guilty eating it. The blueberry is my favorite.

The also have delicious breakfasts and lunches.

My only complaint is that they should stay open later.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in Arroyo Seco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The ice cream is good. Taos Cow definitely has the best scooped 'cream in Arroyo Seco. It's also a nice eatery for carnivores. The youngish staff is efficient and generally congenial.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raqcoon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Went for the ice cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We made a trip out to Taos Cow specifically for the ice cream. There were quite a few people there having lunch, and we had trouble finding a parking space in the lot. The town is tiny and there wasn't any street parking, but we were fortunate to find someone backing out when we drove past the second time. Unfortunately and disappointingly, they were out of the caramel pinon ice cream when we were there, so we both tried the Mexican Chocolate. It was good and creamy. It was not the best ice cream I've ever eaten, and my husband, although he liked it, questioned what qualified it to make Bon Appetit's list of Top Ten Ice Cream Shops. So I looked it up, and it was from an article in 2009 about "ingredient-focused", eclectic flavor ice cream. It was $9.00 for two single scoops in cups, which we ate outside on the porch. I'm glad we went - we hadn't had Mexican Chocolate ice cream before, but having really good ice cream in the Cincinnati area (Graeter's has also received national attention) makes us a little more difficult to impress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eatshoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Cow also viewed

Arroyo Seco, Taos County
Arroyo Seco, Taos County
 
El Prado, Taos
 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing