We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Liftie Lodge for all seasons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Liftie Lodge for all seasons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great "base camp" for outdoor adventuring. Comfortable building adapted for housing a lot of people. Communal meals available for a donation. There are a lot of long termers living here, working on an organic farm that is in the back (I found the few that whined about how hard it was absolutely hilarious after seeing the actual size of the land), so there's a bit of a commune atmosphere, but i did not find them stand-offish. Common room can get loud and partish, but everyone was good about keeping quiet hours. Bunks and bathrooms are very basic.

Room Tip: You WILL need reservations during the 2 Taos "high" seasons in summer and winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenkism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
7
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Know before you go is an important thing to remember any time you go 'hosteling'. This was no exception. As noted in another review, this is not the Waldorf, or even a Travel Lodge, but it is not meant to be. My family and I stayed in the new Tipis in the courtyard, and this was a first experience for me. Yes, the accommodations are modest, but comfortable and clean. The staff was welcoming and helpful, the other 'Wolfers' and travelers were wonderful not only to me, but to my family. This was also a first experience for my 14 year old son, and the folks there made him look forward to the next opportunity to visit. The town of Arroyo Seco was wonderful with great (if few) places to eat and extremely accessible to both Taos, and Santa Fe. We are looking forward to our next trip to the Mansion!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonjon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

This 'hostel' charged $24 for a 16-bed dorm that would be overpriced at $12. Two other persons in the room. Bathrooms were tiny and minimally equipped. They charge for WiFi that is free everywhere else. The 'private' rooms were $42 and grossly overpriced. They apparently have forgotten what 'hostel' means. Go into Taos and do some bargaining at the less expensive inns on the main drag: end up with a nicely-furnished clean room, free internet, telephone, and a free 'continental' breakfast: cereal, pastries, waffles, toast, juice and coffee. I can't believe they're a member of Hosteling International-if they are

Room Tip: Go someplace else; try the Laughing Horse Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Snowmansion is located in the charming little town of Arroyo Seco, just 20 minutes from the beautiful Taos Ski Valley. The views here are amazing, with mountains all around and a breathtaking sunset every evening. The area around the hostel is loaded with great hikes, hot springs, the art of Taos, and native culture.

The building that is the Snowmansion used to be the town mercantile in the 20's and is about a 100 years old with a lot of character and charm. Located on the property is a several acre vegetable garden that guests can pick from to prepare their meals.

One of my favourite things about staying here was all of the interesting people that I met. If possible stay here for a few days to properly explore the area. Chances are you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Reserve a room, tipi, or cabin in advance if possible to get the accomidations that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolidge, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Fantastic place to stay for travelers, young and old. The staff was very welcoming and would answer whatever questions I had. Better than any other hostel I've been to, obviously not the Waldorf Astoria... But it's not meant to be. Full of some very unique characters, and while I was there.. the other visitors were a lot of fun to talk to as well. The dormitory beds weren't bad, I'd just suggest the bottom bunk, cause getting into and out of the top can get a little noisy.

I would absolutely suggest this to just about anyone, it was certainly a unique experience and if you're a knowledge seeker, there is a lot of interesting stuff to be found in the Snowmansion

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Taos was the destination of one last, long bike tour before I was to old to pedal and the Snow Mansion was a wonderful and unexpected discovery after roaming around Santa Fe and Taos for a couple of weeks. These folks are kind and caring owners who attract a staff with similar qualities.
I spent three weeks as a tent camper and found myself quite comfortable with full use of all the facilitites. And, during my visit, I observed and met
many people who stayed in the rooms, the tipis and enjoyed their stay
very much. Several spent an extra day because they found the Snow
Mansion so much fun, relaxing and comfortable.
Sure, this is not a perfect palace. The odd upgrade could be done
here and there, but, I watched every day as the staff capably
cleaned and prepared the mansion for another day all around the property.
(under strict supervision of the two cats no doubt - Pumpkin and Snowcone)
If anything was missed or you have a special request, all you need do is ask
and they will immediately help you with any of your needs and wants.
All things considered, this is a place to stay if you're seeking a unique
adventure filled with character and interesting people all around you.
If you're seeking the same o' same o' cookie cutter room,
devoid of enlivening qualities then, any motel chain will do just fine.
The Snow Mansiion should definately be on your list of places
to see and stay- and for an extra day. I'll be back in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dojitrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at the snow mansion last month with some friends. We were on a road trip and stumbled on this hostel after a long day of hiking. It was the warmest friendliest hostel we found on our trip. There was a beautiful meal cooked from their garden that the staff generously shared with us.

We slept in a tipi and it was a really fun unique experience! I will definitely try to make it back there next time I'm in the southwest!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skintilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Seco
16.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
8.7 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
7.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground

Property: The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground
Address: 476 Hwy 150, Arroyo Seco, NM 87514 (Formerly The Abominable Snowmansion)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Arroyo Seco
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Arroyo Seco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Famous! We are great lodging for all ages! Private Rooms, Cabins, Tipis and Dorm Beds Available! We've welcomed individuals, couples, families and groups since 1973! We look forward to welcoming you! Located in the village of Arroyo Seco, featuring an array of great breakfast, lunch and dinner choices, a health food store, shops, art galleries and nightlife. The Taos Ski Valley, the historic Taos Plaza, the Taos Pueblo, the Rio Grande Gorge and the Hot Springs are all minutes away. Angel Fire, Sipapu, Red River, Ojo Caliente, Ghost Ranch, Philmont Boy Scout Ranch are all within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abominable Snowmansion Hotel Arroyo Seco
The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground Arroyo Seco, Taos County, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing