We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect spot”

Sabroso Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabroso Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 4.7 mi N of US 64
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect spot”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

wife and I wanted something good for dinner. recommended by one of the shopkeepers in Taos. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Covered patio, beautiful fireplace inside, comfortable seating. One guy playing love songs on Spanish guitar. Service was low-key but attentive. Waitress knowledgeable. Food was nicely presented and fantastic. I had the pasta with chicken and mushrooms. wife had steak and potatoes. Steak was tender and delicious. Wonderful experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chewelah, Washington
1 review
“Sabroso Restaurant and Bar … a very pleasant experience with food and friendship”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

A wonderful find, and delightful dining experience. Every year we travel with friends throughout the US and Canada. Each year we discuss our wonderful dining/traveling experiences. Sabroso is among our favorites. The food is better than described on the menu, the service is exemplary, the restaurant is charming and quaint. We were treated with the utmost respect for our comfort, the rain had started as we sat on the patio under an umbrella not ready to move inside… noting we may be getting cold, we were treated with shoulder blankets to keep us comfortable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All my life”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Sabroso is the best of Taos. Unfortunately, they think , price wise they are NYC. Tourists can afford this place, locals Beware. Youre going to get a hard check at the end of what you thought might be 'reasonable'. Ask for prices before you jump in to what you 'think' is a normal price for a drink. If you dont want some 'sticker shock' when you get the bill. Drinks here are $13.00 plus tax and tip, making most a $16 a drink. You really want to think about this before going hell bent having some fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your input. As I indicated in the numerous emails that we exchanged before your review our fine dining prices are competitive with other fine dining restaurants in the Taos area. We also feature a value-oriented bar menu for those wishing a more informal dining experience.

Your comments on our drink pricing are not clear. Drinks range in price from $5.50 to $10 except for two high premium margaritas which are $13.00. A regular margarita is $8.00 and with a "call" tequila typically $10. Of course, any mixed drink can be made much more expensive by specifying any of the more than 100 premium liquor brands that we carry.

Again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“serving etiquette”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

staff needs to be trained in the proper way of serving/removing dishes. properly, plates should not be removed until all are finished eating. other signals the staff does not recognise is that a napkin placed to the left of the plate is a signal that the customer is done eating and also if the knife and fork are left together at 4 o'clock on the plate. it is terrbily rude to come up and grab a plate while others are still eating. food is fine, staff is ignorant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 350marvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for visiting Sabroso. We're pleased that you enjoyed the food but regret your difficulties with service. Our staff is trained to not remove plates until all of the guests at a table are finished or until a guest requests otherwise. We are reviewing this with them before service today.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently visited family in Taos and dined two times at this restaurant. First of all the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The ribs were enjoyed by three of my fellow diners. I enjoyed the special medallions which included a petite filet mignon, shrimp skewer and andouille sausage. The bar tender, Steve, was excellent and very friendly. He recommended a very good white wine which I enjoyed. The second time we dined there, two of us had burgers off the bar menu which were very good, and the third person had the special pasta that night. Again, all three of us were very satisfied with the food and atmosphere. Note, both times we dined in the bar lounge, which was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megmb770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabroso Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Arroyo Seco, Taos County
El Prado, Taos
 
Arroyo Seco, Taos County
Arroyo Seco, Taos County
 

Been to Sabroso Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing