We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant, better bar”

Sabroso Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabroso Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 4.7 mi N of US 64
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, better bar”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sitting in front of the roaring fireplace, sipping wine, and having conversation with friends is perfect with this restaurant. The food is pretty good as well. I recommend sitting in the wonderful bar area with its painted walls and good service. You won't be disappointed. You can order from the regular menu or stick with the excellent bar food served.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    57
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were referred by some friends we decided to try it tonight and it was wonderful. We got some mussels to start they were tasty and flavorful great job they were emaculate, veggie salad was great only little thing my husbands steak was tasty but overcooked but overall the meal was fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hello6702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchos de Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice bar dining”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have eaten in dining rooms, but I actually prefer the informality of eating in the bar from the bar menu.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ate in the bar. Moules Mariniere was simply a large plate of bland shells. There were a lot of mussels but they were so tiny that there was hardly any flesh in them. Both the burgers my party ordered had any unpleasant gamey taste.

The atmosphere was pleasant, but not enough to make up for the food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaH5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We're so sorry to hear of your bad experience. The hamburger and the mussels are two of our best selling items and complaints such as this are very rare. I hope that you shared your concerns with my staff that evening so that they could take corrective measures and compensate you for your inconvenience. We hope that you'll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went for a last minute bite at from the bar menu. Fire crackled, and the atmosphere was cozy. Had the hamburger and onion soup. I was a little shocked at paying $12 a glass for wine!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank intrepigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the kind comments.Your $12 wine was the most expensive white on our by-the-glass list. We also offer 3 whites and 5 reds for under ten dollars. Our philosophy is to keep the wine price down but when we have an opportunity to offer a really great wine such as the Chardonnay we do so even if it means a slightly higher price.

We have to see you in the restaurant again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabroso Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Arroyo Seco, Taos County
 
El Prado, Taos
 

Been to Sabroso Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing