We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the cliff, overlooking endless view of the Mediterranean sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashkelon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ashkelon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right on the cliff, overlooking endless view of the Mediterranean sea”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The position of this hotel is perfect! Right at the edge of a cliff, overlooking endless view of the Mediterranean sea, and at the very end of Ashkelon's promenade, with great restaurants and coffee shops, all within walking distance. The rooms are clean and spacious and the balconies have amazing seafront views. Ideal hotel for family vacation as it has all recreation facilities: Outdoor swimming pool, Tennis courts, gym and kids club, to keep the little ones busy and happy.
The Reception staff was friendly and welcoming (they've actually recommended us a great restaurant - try it out - "Jacks").
Great hotel for weekend or a holiday with the family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evelyne l, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you kind words.
our goal is guest satisfaction during their stay in our hotel.
it is a big honour to receive such a review and looking forward to host you again in Holiday Inn Ashkelon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    83
    38
    37
See reviews for
149
67
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is at least 1 star below the advertised grade, whilst the room rate is compatible with 1 star above. From the dreadful smell in the downstairs common parts, to the basic provisions in the hotel room, including cheap toiletries and towelling, this place is a big disappointment.
Breakfast was ok but lack of quality fresh fruit was very disappointing .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliveh989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear cliveh989,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashkelon hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Actually this business trip was in 2008 , I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights , my room was on the sea view. Room was very clean and tide. Breakfast was very good , staff was nice. I did not try the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view in the ground floor , you will have a small garden out side room which is right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedDarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledziny, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This it The Hotel to stay in Ashkelon. You will not mix it with any other hotel as it has unique look.
We got room with nice view on the sea and I believe most if not all rooms have great view.
The room size was ok, not too big but definitely not too small, with balcony.
We've got kids bed free or charge (and even without asking) which was very nice.
Swimming pool looks nice but we haven't used it as we preferred to go to the sea. The only small issue was that even the hotel have exits/entrances from the sea side those were closed and only the main entrance was open (with security guard in front).

Room Tip: I don't think there is possibility to get bad room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelir00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is quite nice with a beautiful lobby and great views of the Mediterranean Sea. My wife went by the spa located in the hotel (Mai Spa) to get some water for her water bottle and the manager of the spa told her that she could only take water if she was a customer of the spa. Incredibly, when confronted she refused to let her have a drink of water.The manager of the hotel apologized and informed us that the spa is rented to a private company.

I suggest Holiday Inn management not renew their lease with this spa company as they are rude to guests and impact the experience for those at the hotel on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDTraveler513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear PDTraveler513,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from one of our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan Valley
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This Holiday Inn hotel in Ashkelon Israel is ideally situated on the Seafront with great views of the sea. For holiday makers wanting to try somewhere further south away from Tel Aviv, this could be an alternative.
This unusually looking hotel, dome-shaped is comfortable with a good sized swimming pool in the summer.

Communal areas, clean & average.

Rooms are good sized & comfortable most with a sea view.

Breakfasts were very adequate, although have had better, were not lacking.
Good selection of hot & cold foods, albeit the fruit section wasn't the best.
Evening meal was also medium to good, again wasn't wow but average.
Gym wasn't inspiring.
The biggest asset is the close proximity to beach & promenade which is a pleasant walking distance to the marina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilanastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ilanastone,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is a fantastic futuristic building, wonderful to explore for somebody interested in modern architecture. It is on the sea promenade of Ashkelon, therefore its location is perfect to go to the beach or take a walk watching the sea; I walked all the way along the beach to the Archaeological Park but it is very far away, a good idea only if you intend to make some exercise as I did. The hotel has a great swimming pool in the middle of a large garden, and several small patios with plants and flowers.

The common areas are spacious, well kept and spotless. The first day I arrived after the dinning room opening hours, so I had dinner in the lobby bar: delicious food and perfect service. On the two following days I had breakfast and dinner at the dinning room: a great experience again. I needed some information and help for local sightseeing: the reception staff were polite and professional. One day there was a family party in a separate dinning room, with many noisy children, but that couldn't be heard in other areas of the hotel. There is a spa, but I didn't use it.

My room was in one of the upper floors with beautiful views over the Mediterranean; both the room and the ensuite bathroom were spacious despite their unusual shape, perfectly clean and there were no technical problems neither with the bathroom, the TV, the fridge or the AC. For me, the only problem in the room was that there was no reading lamp near the bed, just two design lamps that didn't provide enough light for that. Due to the special shape of the building, rooms in the upper floors have a larger area with quite a low ceiling than rooms in lower floors, therefore I recommend a low floor room for tall clients, although high floors have probably better views.

In my opinion, this hotel would be excellent if it corrected two negative points:

1) The only possibility to go to the sea promenade or to the beach is through a dusty, narrow, path on the side of the building, dark at night to make things worse, although the architect planned several direct connections between the hotel garden and the sea promenade.

2) The AC was freezing cold in the common areas while outside temperature was about 35 C; several clients complained - nobody had warm clothes in June in the south of Israel - but to no effect.

Room Tip: High floors rooms have better views but a large area with a low ceiling, therefore low floors rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashkelon
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Ashkelon
Leonardo Ashkelon
#1 of 5 in Ashkelon
371 reviews
6.5 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Ashdod
2.5 mi away
Regina Goren Hotel
Regina Goren Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ashkelon
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
West Boutique Hotel Ashdod
24.8 mi away
Leonardo Suite Tel-Aviv Bat-Yam
20.8 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Rehovot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashkelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashkelon

Property: Holiday Inn Ashkelon
Address: 9 Yekotiel Adam Street | PO Box 944, Ashkelon 78100, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Ashkelon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ashkelon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Ashkelon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 40 minutes from Tel Aviv lies Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel located on the beach near the marina, and is the preferred choice both for business guests and tourists visiting the area. Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel houses a large swimming pool surrounded by enormous green lawns. The pool is covered and heated during the winter. Hotel guests are welcome to use the hotel basketball and tennis courts.Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel offers a range of services to business guests. Two floors are dedicated to business guests along with a business lounge that serves hot and cold beverages and light snacks. The lounge also includes direct access to the Internet and Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. The hotel restaurant serves three meals each day. The rich and varied breakfast includes a salad bar with a wide selection of cheeses and breads. Gazpacho Restaurant - fusion restaurant that combines the traditions of east and west. The menu combines flavors of the Mediterranean basin using ingredients from all over the world. The Spa and health club offers a Jacuzzi, dry and wet sauna, fitness room, pressure shower and a range of pampering treatments. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, games, workshops, quizzes and dance parties into the early hours ** Check-in time update : for Saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashkelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashkelon Hotel Ashkelon
Ashkelon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing