We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Ashkelon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ashkelon
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not a bad hotel. Had to stay there for 1 night last minute as needed a place to sleep in Ashkelon. It was either stay at relatives with all that goes with that, or book a hotel nearbye.

Room, bed, and shower facilities are very comfortable and as expected from a Holiday Inn. Public areas also not bad and as expected.The hotel also has a lovely high end restaurant attached to it and the foie gras and steak was fantastic although as pricey as any any rational hotel. Also i asked for foie gras medium rare, but of course they overlooked it and got well done (when you pay 99 shekels /25 dollars for a starter you expect better) but I could not be bothered to return or complain as was tired. If you go there, and like foie gras can you kindly let them know on my behalf so they don't ruin yours too..

No water in the swimming pool in February which is a shame as it was warm enough.

The hotel is also not signposted properly, took me 10 minutes to find my room as seems there are 2 parts to it around a dome. I could not find my room and then realised there was another block next to it. Also, I had a garden room opposite the beach, you can open the window doors, and walk into the garden, but there was broken glass on the grass and gardens were very tired and not looked after properly which is a shame. Gardens are defiantly not looked after with black hose pipes all over and no nice features which I guess gives this beach garden hotel a raw undeveloped feel, it's like what israel beaches were at before mass development so I guess pretty in its own right. Check in also took far too long as they find my booking but not my booked rate so he had to check with a manager. Personally I would give the room key to a customer, and let them relax in the room and then call me down once they find it. Hotel customer service in Israel is usually not great so I didn't expect more.

Internet wifi worked well in the evening but during the next morning it was impossible to use as so slow. What is wrong with hotels nowadays? Don't they know that proper access to the nternet is essential for business travel? Without Internet access business people simply won't travel as much so sort it out...

If they can fix the sign postings, clean up the gardens properly, and get some proper trained staff, improve the internet, this would be a good hotel for a small vacation and not just as a place to sleep.

All in all don't expect any luxury, but at least you will have a rather pleasant and comfortable stay and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor so you can walk out the room onto the gardens and beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kingdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Kingdoz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and shower.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the garden, internet and customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Ashkelon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

rooms without drinking water (at least not from the tap), and no mini bar. There is a mini bar but its empty. wifi is erratic and comes and goes cutting Skype connections all the times. Access to wifi is via passwords given by reception which you must input every time you start browsing. Breakfast is good enough, without being special. generally if visiting for business and you re note interested in the pool or the beach then its acceptable as there are not many choices other than this and the dan.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashkelon, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear YiannisV,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you had with our WiFi service. We take great pride in keeping our services and amenities at tip top shape to ensure that our guests leave satisfied and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Because the hotel was round the rooms are triangular, the bathrooms at the sharp end. The bath could be removed and a shower would give more space. Standard for a holiday inn, nothing special. The lobby bar is a good seating area with excelent bar snacks. dont forget to eat early on fridays, its a disappointment when you have not eaten all day due to working and find no hot food available

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

room was generally clean, but only bed cover was not clean. View was great. Food was delicious.
the worst thing was that A/C was not working. I asked it but they said it is not working systematically because of the current temperature. So it was a little problem.

Room Tip: good view, nice stay to place, quite hotel, smiling service
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oytun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was there for a business trip so did not have much time for the outside of the hotel but overall it was clean, good service and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is a full spread and the one dinner I had there had everything you could hope for. The staff were very helpful, informative and polite. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better as one night people partied in the middle of the hotel where there is a small...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaymanGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was really great. All around really.
I checked into the nearby hotel Dan Gardens on Hatayasim Street and hated it, so moved to the HOLIDAY INN and LOVED IT!!

The employees at the front desk were really polite, friendly, helpful, and super informative and accommodating. Specifically, Sarah, Dvora, and Matan we're really impressive and nice. I appreciated their service-oriented approach and loved their attitude about everything; more than willing to help with anything we asked, and seemed eager to make our stay super enjoyable.

DEFINITELY DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE VISITING ASHKELON!!

- Koby from Miami, FL

Room Tip: All Rooms are nice, but Standard Rooms are a bit bigger than Superior with the only downsize being a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KobyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I just came back from a short stay at this charming hotel, at the ancient seaport city of Ashkelon, located 35 miles (40 Minutes) south of Tel Aviv, Israel, on the Mediterranean coast. I've been there before, I can't help but to state: It's always nice to go back there. In Ashkelon, the mighty figure of Samson comes to life. It was here that Samson slew 30 Philistines in a single bloody scene of the action-packed revenge drama narrated in the Book of Judges. And though Samson did not meet Delilah here, the two have been incorporated into local mythology: Modern Ashkelon has a Samson and Delilah beach promenade, a Delilah beach and a Samson neighborhood. Firstly, the hotel is superbly adjacent to this beach promenade. The blue of the sea marries the gold of sandy beaches and the lush green of date palms. All this, come within walking distance of the hotel. The newly refurbished room, with parquet floor, is large, bright and well decorated. A sunny and big balcony, with a spectacular, unhindered and frontal view of the sea completes this room staying experience. Quiet surroundings, allow you to listen to the waves, breaking on the beach right below. Comfortable beds and Excellency of service. I’m looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the executive floor, which will allow you access to the cozy business lounge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HospitalityConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashkelon
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Ashkelon
Leonardo Ashkelon
#1 of 5 in Ashkelon
389 reviews
6.5 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Ashdod
2.5 mi away
Regina Goren Hotel
Regina Goren Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ashkelon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
West Boutique Hotel Ashdod
9.5 mi away
Sur la Mer Boutique Hotel
20.8 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Rehovot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashkelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashkelon

Address: 9 Yekotiel Adam Street, Ashkelon 78100, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Ashkelon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ashkelon
Price Range: $119 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Ashkelon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 40 minutes from Tel Aviv lies Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel located on the beach near the marina, and is the preferred choice both for business guests and tourists visiting the area. Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel houses a large swimming pool surrounded by enormous green lawns. The pool is covered and heated during the winter. Hotel guests are welcome to use the hotel basketball and tennis courts.Holiday Inn Ashkelon hotel offers a range of services to business guests. Two floors are dedicated to business guests along with a business lounge that serves hot and cold beverages and light snacks. The lounge also includes direct access to the Internet and Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. The hotel restaurant serves three meals each day. The rich and varied breakfast includes a salad bar with a wide selection of cheeses and breads. Gazpacho Restaurant - fusion restaurant that combines the traditions of east and west. The menu combines flavors of the Mediterranean basin using ingredients from all over the world. The Spa and health club offers a Jacuzzi, dry and wet sauna, fitness room, pressure shower and a range of pampering treatments. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, games, workshops, quizzes and dance parties into the early hours ** Check-in time update : for Saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashkelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashkelon Hotel Ashkelon
Ashkelon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing