We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer and Food”
Review of Mister Shay

Mister Shay
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Arad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Arad, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beer and Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The decorating "theme" seems to be neo-football, the walls and ceiling are covered with penants and scarves from football (soccer) teams from around the world.
They have an inside and outside seating area and even though you are allowed to smoke there, it is well enough ventilated that it does not affect us non smokers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant in Arad”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We come here often and enjoy it very much. Service and food usually quite good. Price ok but too bad they eliminated the 2+ menus except for the buisness menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shahama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the crispy goose with honey and it was amazing. The servers were very nice as well. A great find in Arad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dig the duck”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Not fancy but great variety. Duck was particularly good, sushi soso. Recommend jasmine tea. Chef uses local produce with great success. Tamyum soup definitely grew on me, even if it differed from the Thai original.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeinmotio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Should be called Chinese style of restaurant!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having seen that this restaurant ranks second in the trip advisor list (but with only three reviewed restaurants, guess you have to be number 1, 2 or 3, so each sounds good), we visited to be disappointed.

If you visit this restaurant at night, it is behind the stores on the main road; you have to go to a lower level down steps in the dark that are unlit and there is no rail. Coming out, I nearly fell on the steps because of some obstacle on them. Dangerous at night.

On arrival, we found the usual run down environment inside that had a dirty sort of appearance.

We nevertheless ordered food (eventually). They have an English menu but it took three waitresses before we could order in English. One thing I have learned about this part of Israel is that English is not common, so if your communication language is English - definitely skip Arad.

The food arrived; soggy sweet and sour chicken meat balls versus the menu description of CRISPY chicken meatballs and a reasonable crispy duck but without the normal side sauce trimmings.

We rejected the soggy chicken balls and shared the crispy duck.

The reason that I mark this restaurant as terrible is in view of the apalling service, dangerous access, decaded interior and clearly not an international understanding of even the basics of Chinese cooking.

In my opinion, just playing at it and a tourist simply does not count.

I have to add that they did not charge for the rejected food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mister Shay also viewed

Arad, Southern District
Arad, Southern District
 
Ein Bokek, Dead Sea Region
 
Arad, Southern District
Arad, Southern District
 

Been to Mister Shay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing