We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine old charm in Old Acre”
Review of Akkotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine old charm in Old Acre”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Akkotel is a charming property built into the old city walls ... its to one side of the old city but everything is within good walking distance. The rooms are odd but in a good way - full of charm and clean and full of character. The staff are friendly and very accommodating and the breakfast is of a good standard.

Room Tip: As all rooms are individual - ask to see a few before you choose which one you want to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    123
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
156
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the outside and the lobby this looks like a wonderful place. However, we did not feel particularly welcome by any staff. The room was drab and needed updating. Cleanliness was okay, but could have been much better. There were cars driving by playing very loud music until 2 a.m. Overall we were not impressed with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hchapinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Akko is a lovely and well kept crusader town in north Israel.

The hotel is right in the old town, very close to all points of interest. The service is very attentive and the rooms are cozy if not particulary spacious.

A special mention for the outstanding breakfast, a huge array of delicacies.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecostantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay in Akkotel, glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Welcome again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to this hotel for short weekend vacation. It's an amazing and unique hotel in the Israeli hotels. Every spot is decorated with an homage to the history of the building and surrounding - Ottomans rulers, the walls of Acre and the market. It is located near every visiting place in Acre. The hotel made us a felling as staying abroad although we were in Israel.
The only problem is that it located on a street so we heard the traffic noises although they put double glass windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location, nice hotel Acre is cool because it is so much more authentic relaxed Arab families the historic features are cool but limited and the Souk is smaller but nicer than the grand Bazaar in Istanbul or Jerusalem. Nice rooftop deck close to the harbor, close to the Souk nice proprietors

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuffleScruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Lovely to hear that Acre Market/Souk compared with Istanbul Grand Bazar, Thank you for commenting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family toured Israel for a couple of weeks this summer, beginning in the north and working our way south. Our second stop was in Akko (also known as Acre). Our guide, Motti Zaken had recommended the small boutique Akkotel Hotel http://www.akkotel.com/ located in the walls of the old city. Although it doesn't look like much from the outside, it's quirky and fun (and very well appointed) on the inside. Each room is different.

Our room had a queen size bed and a separate room for the toilet and sink and another for the shower. It even had a small kitchenette plus a sofa and two televisions. Our children's room had a loft with two beds downstairs and two beds upstairs.

The bathroom facilities are very modern, breakfast - as all Israeli breakfasts - is pleantiful, fresh and delicious and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

One of the great things about this hotel is the location - walking distance to the markets, the historic sites as well as the waterfront and some wonderful restaurants.

This is well worth trying if you're looking for something different than the typical large American-style hotels. You'll never see or be able to stay in anything similar.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - you can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for sharing what you enjoyed with our tripadvisor community. Indeed, Akkotel is part of Acre walls which makes our guests' stay different from another hotels, this includes the old city traffic :)) We liked the Room Tip comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel, built directly into the walls of the old city of Akko, has been fabulously designed to capture the essence of the city while feeling comfortable and modern and clean. The hotel staff is very, very friendly, engaging and helpful. They are all knowledgable about the area and interesting things to do and see. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you, it is very important for us to keep our service of a high standards and glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
8.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Property: Akkotel
Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre
Akkotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing