We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of uri buri

uri buri
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Soups, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came back to this restaurant after having been there last year on TripAdvisor reviews. The food was superb as it was last year. Make sure you leave room for the Arab Sweet on the menu. You will find the service excellent, the staff helpful and the location impressive. This is not a restaurant to miss on a visit to Akko.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigkahoona6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    137
    41
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg,MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Sure What All of the Fuss is About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I (7 adults and a 2 year old) ate here while visiting Israel the end of June. It was highly recommended on TA and by a couple of clients I have.

I guess my expectations were too high as I felt the food was adequate and the service was quite frankly poor. Maybe we were there too early as it was only about 6:30pm but for the prices they charge I believe the service should be quite a bit better than it was.

The food as I said was adequate. Nothing terrible but nothing to jump up and down about either.

I hope we were just there on an off night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajpGaithersburg_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood lovers’ haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Aptly located on Akko’s seafront, the rustic charm of this place makes you feel welcome and shouts brilliantly executed, super fresh, no fuss seafood the minute you walk in. We were not disappointed.
The restaurant’s philosophy is to give their guests the chance to savour as many of the fabulous dishes as possible. There is a wide choice of starters/entrées, and all mains can be ordered as half portions. You can opt for the ‘eat until you say stop’ surprise tasting menu, but we found so many wonderful sounding dishes on the menu that we decided to go for our own ‘tasting menu’ – and ended up in pure over-indulgence.
Food is so good that we had to go back for a second night in a row.

Waiting staff were a mixed bag. On the first night, the restaurant was in charge of the charming, pleasant, super efficient all-ladies team, which just added to our feeling of never wanting to leave. On night 2, sadly, the all-guys waiting staff displayed a little too much attitude for our liking and seemed confused at times.
Having been fortunate enough to dine at Uri Buri on two occasions, it would be too expansive to list all the dishes we tried. Our absolute favourites were caramelised John Dory with beetroot (heavenly flaky fish with just the right balance of sweet and sour), the seafood soup with coconut milk and coriander (the perfect amount of heat) and the carpaccio of red shrimps (I swear they had just jumped out of the sea!). We had eaten the popular ‘Israeli salad’ of chopped tomatoes and cucumber with lemon and mint many times during our travels – but the Uri Buri version wins hands down. As for the ‘mains’, the only criticism would be the universal presence of cream in many of the dishes, which was a sharp contrast to the lightness of the starters and entrées. Crabmeat with seaweed did not manage to stand out from the creamy sauce and ended up as a slightly mushy texture. The ‘sea bass in a cauldron’, served with spicy (cream) sauce and apple rice, again, was incredibly flavourful but more on the heavy side, with the sea bass struggling to get through the heavy flavouring and ounces of double cream. King prawns with artichoke and black noodles were a little overpowered by the strong lemony sauce, albeit being the freshest, juiciest prawns we had in a long time.

Cream or no cream – Uri Buri is simply amazing! Booking ahead is recommended, as the place is buzzing. And if you are lucky, you even get to meet the famous Uri himself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HamburginLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Without a doubt, what Uri does in this little, non-flashy restaurant is worth all the praise in the world. The dishes are imaginative, unique and tasty, the fish is always fresh and even though you might think it won't shine in some of the dishes, it does so surprisingly. Love it and would come back to Israel just to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trophop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills, california
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

straight forward, fresh, tasty and delicious - the way you want it to be. The freshest shrimp we have tasted. everything was perfection. What more can you ask for?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank inspiregoodBevHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed uri buri also viewed

Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to uri buri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing