We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“astounding”
Review of Crusader Fortress

Crusader Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.00*
and up
Caeserea, Rosh Hanikra and Acre Day Trip from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hospitallers, the Order of the Knights of St. John, built this impressive fortress more than 700 years ago.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
384 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“astounding”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although restoration works are still on - don't miss the wonders of the lower city of Akko/Acre :
it's only about an hour and a few minutes away from Tel Aviv by train .
You can get a combined ticket for 4 attractionsin the lower city for about 40 something Shekels
( 30 something for sen. citzn) .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank saul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    125
    25
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great place for kids to imagine they are knights”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The fortress is beautifully restored and evokes the days of the crusaders. Posters in 3 languages explain the historical background but there are few actual artifacts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank trailergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting crusader ruins”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We only had time for a brief visit, but enjoyed the Fortress very much. Wish we had had more time to explore. Definitely take the tunnel to exit, which ends up across the street in the Turkish Bazaar.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripmeister-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“How did they do it?”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Walking through this fortress I was just so astounded as to how they could have built such an amazing structure oh so very long ago. Just staring up at the ceilings you are in awe as to how this could be accomplished. The entrance fee is a bit steep, but how many times are you going to be in Akko, and if you are there you are obviously interested in that period in history. One nice thing is that the fee does include an audio explanation of the sites inside, plus you got free tickets to Treasures in the Wall Museum, (which was a really pleasant surprise, the Museum and the free entrance tickets). They are doing some construction work inside, but this did not detract for the "awe" factor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Reviews have to subjective. I would say if you are into Medieval history then you will love this place. For me it was nice but I wouldn't see it again. There was too much construction and renovations going on at the time we visited.

I did find the Knights Hall interesting and the visitors center is impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusader Fortress also viewed

Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to Crusader Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing