We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, but beware of parking your car nearby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Efendi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Efendi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, but beware of parking your car nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to this hotel to celebrate 30 years of marriage. Very expensive but worth it.

How to get there: I tried everything including using Google Street View. What works: Drive to the beach and turn left (at Med Center) onto Hagana, Just before the famous Uri-Buri restaurant, (one of the best sea food restaurants in Israel) there is an Ice Cream shop (same owner) and then phone the hotel and ask them to help you.

Gorgeous hotel. Most amazing room I ever stayed in. High ceiling which makes modern rooms look confining. Restored drawings on ceilings. Beautiful. Great showers. Large and comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast.

Poor neighborhood (and dirty alleys) but seems friendly, like an old Italian movie.

Do not miss the flight of Swallows on the roof at sunset.

It's fun and interesting to be in Acre, especially at nights of the Ramadan fast.

The MED center has a new branch of the great Arabic El-Babor (a.k.a Al-Babor, AlBabor, El-Babour etc., one of the top five Arab restaurants in Israel) restaurant and it's also very pleasant to sit in the Cafe Neto Coffee. If going to Uri-Buri or El-Babor reserve a space, especially on Ramadan.

Warning: we had our car messed with when parked for one night at the Hagana st. near the hote.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avinatbezeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    40
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
190
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
beverly hills, california
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We cannot say enough about this gorgeous boutique hotel. an ancient palace with parts of the sunken wine cellar dating back to the Byzantine era meticulously restored. No kitch here - modern clean refined lines alongside the timeless elegance of limestone vaulted 20 foot ceilings.
Gestures of gracious hospitality everywhere you turn with friendly and professional staff. I have stayed at just about every 5star in Israel ( and dozens throughout the western world) and I can promise you won't be disappointed in this absolute gem.
Acre is an ancient town worth walking around the cobblestone streets catching glimpses of the life within the alleyways. I have been all over Morocco, Egypt, Jordan and I must say this town has charm to match the best of them. stay for a stroll in the evening.
Make sure you eat at the hotel owners namesake seafood restaurant, Uri Buri.

Room Tip: Room #10 is terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspiregoodBevHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The restaurant owned by the same people, Uri Buri is legendary- the best fish and seafood I have ever eaten. The hotel has been lovingly put together and decorated and furnished in a cool and very stylish way. High ceilings, white walls modern bathrooms, though the basic rooms do not have a bath. Our aircon did not work over night, making it rather warmer than we would have wanted, but the staff were very apologetic when we informed them in the morning. Breakfast was superb, taken at longest wooden table I have ever seen! A great experience, though quite pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnNW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metar, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed one night in June 2013. Impecable service. Wonderful breakfast. Room large, clean, big shower, TV, free mini-bar. Lucious views of sea from hotel balcony, supplemented with wine and fruit. Twin massage room. We took a private tour of the historical sites in the Old City with Abdu.Highly recommended. Fish restaurant, Uri Buri, owned by hotel, was excellent. In sum, a lovely, romantic, 12 room hotel for couples to renew their intimacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've stayed at some pretty amazing hotels around the world including some other members of "small luxury hotels", but this is without doubt the most special.

We got a personal explanation and slide show from Uri the owner (who also owns the famous URI Buri fish restaurant next door which we will most defiantly try next time) about the history behind it and it's a truly fascinating story.

With just 12 rooms it feels like you're staying in your own private residence, and in fact until breakfast this morning (excellent!) where we met another couple, we didn't see a sole...

Everything is beautiful, the bedrooms, the lounges, the terraces, the breakfast room and the wine bar, down to the reception area - all of it!

Rooms are very comfortable and we found fresh fruit, chocolates, water and other soft drinks waiting for us in the minibar free of charge, which is a nice touch, as well as another lovely surprise as we were celebrating a special occasion there.

All in all a very rare treat, especially for Israel and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertburekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Sumptuous and lovingly restored hotel, with particularly gorgeous communal areas, lots of light and comfort in the loveliest part of Acca. Very comfy rather than luxurious rooms, smaller than their pretentious names make them sound. Don't miss the breakfast (or a trip to the nearby Uri Buri restaurant). It ain't cheap, and frankly for the price I would expect quite a lot more personal touch and interest from the staff - not unpleasant just disengaged.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monserr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

What can one say about the Efendi other than to be amazed at the extent of detail that went into the restoration of two 600 year old mansions now joined together in what has to be one of the most beautiful small hotels anywhere. My wife and I are inveterate upscale travelers to places the world over, always preferring a Relais et Chateax property if it is near our itinerary. At times we will plan an itinerary to stay at such places. In terms of atmosphere, service, and sheer beauty, the Efendi qualifies on all counts. Little things--very little things--might cause a nitpicker to raise an eyebrow (two of six light bulbs were out in the chandelier which hung in our room from a dramatically painted ceiling) --there were actually two painted ceilings, the other over the bathroom shower (great rainfall and hand held) which unfortunately tended to flood the surrounding floor. A single row of tiling would have prevented it. There is no private parking and one must leave the car in the public area (safe) about 500 meters or so away and carry one's bags that distance. A porter will do so if asked, but the service is not advertised and one might not think it available. The entire project is the effort of the owner of the Uri Buri restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away. Hotel guests enjoy a discount there. Uri Buri is without a doubt one of the best and possible THE best fish and seafood restaurant in the country, challenged only by the three times more expensive Mul Yam in Tel Aviv. Uri Jeremia is simply a magician with what the sea has to offer. We go there for lunch and have traveled over an hour to do so and will do so again. Staying overnighting at the Efendi, we enjoyed dinner there for the first time and every table was occupied, for good reason. I have read the negative review recently submitted by "Paulinias" and wonder what other restaurant he/she visited. As for the Efendi, i for the price, which is steep, it may be something left for that special occasion but staying there and enjoying the sunset from the rooftop terrace makes it a special occasion all by itself.

Room Tip: Just let the place envelope you and enjoy Akko before breakfast just as it is waking up and before t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaiminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Akkotel
Akkotel
#2 of 4 in Acre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
21.6 mi away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efendi Hotel

Property: Efendi Hotel
Address: Louis IX, Acre 24122, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Efendi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque narrow lanes of Acre, the Efendi Hotel overlooks the historic city walls and the magnificent Mediterranean Sea beyond. The unique structure of this hotel combines two ancient houses that have hundreds of years of history stored within their walls. These houses were meticulously reconstructed and merged into one building before being converted into a boutique hotel.. Complex preservation and restoration work over a period of eight years gave birth to a gorgeous, breathtaking pearl that was truly a labor of love. Thought was invested in each and every detail of the preservation work, which was performed under the supervision of the Antiquities Authority. Artisans were specially flown in from Italy in order to undertake this delicate work, as well as the restoration of the beautiful ceilings.All rooms in the hotel are furnished and equipped to the highest standards, and each room has its own unique character and style. Some rooms' ceilings feature illustrations, while others are made from preserved wood. Most of the windows offer sea views, while others look out over the ancient city of Acre and the scenic mountains of the Western Galilee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Efendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efendi Hotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing