We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seaside seafood”
Review of Abu Christo

Abu Christo
Ranked #16 of 63 Restaurants in Acre
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“seaside seafood”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Good, simply prepared fresh fish and seafood. Service was too fast - our main course arrived before starters were finished. Pleasant waterside seating. Complimentary (very sweet) baklava and coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    19
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Seaside Greek Restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

When we arrived on a Friday evening, we were warmly greeted by the waiter and given a seat outside next to the sea. The restaurant is under a canopy, so sitting outside is not an issue. However, the party boats traveling in the Mediterranean were quite noisy, but we found them to be rather entertaining.

The service was super. The food was delicious.
The place could consider some decent napkins though. The ones in the holders on the table were thin and easily flew away in the wind. Tablecloths would be a nice feature as well.

The inside restaurant looked quite lovely, but no one was eating inside.
The bathrooms were clean.

Friday night the place was nearly empty. We went back the next day at lunch time, and the place was filled. But the waiter still managed to find us a place to sit and enjoy a small lunch.

I highly recommend this restaurant if you enjoy Greek food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and view of the sea”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We went with old friends who live in Haifa but have never been to this restaurant. We had a table next to the window with a great view of Haifa Bay. My only quibble is that the waiter allowed us to order too much food. However, everything we ordered was great. We specifically asked that the salads be prepared without onions. When they came with onions, he cheerfully took them back and replaced them with salads without onions. We ended up with 8 salads for four of us, but managed to finish almost all of them, before our main courses arrived. I had shrimp Saganaki that was outstanding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our group stopped here for lunch after a tour of Old Acre (Akko). We had lunch here - great food + great service. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1550Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or the money”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location seems nice at first, but if you explore Akko some more you will find much nicer locations by the sea.

They serve everything - not just fish. Prices are average plus. We had the sea bass and the cusk, with a hummus starter.
The bass was quite OK, a bit tasteless though. The cusk was nice. We had both rice and pommes frites on the side. The rice was nothing special (parboiled) and the fries were soggy and not that warm.

The hummus was just OK. Pitas were stale and dry though.

The worst part was the service. The waiter didn't really care even though we were the only ones there. When he started to clear the tables after earlier guests, he was just throwing the garbage outside the restaurant, straight into the water. After a while it drifted back and laid itself to rest nearby our table.

I can't recommend this restaurant. Do yourself a favor and walk past this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erlend L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Christo also viewed

Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to Abu Christo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing