We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views from the restaurant are great. The food and the service are not.”
Review of Doniana

Doniana
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The views from the restaurant are great. The food and the service are not.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ordered the flowing courses:
Humus: was terrible and the pitas that accompanied were cold and not fresh
Fried cheese: the waiter took the order, but did not bring it
Mushrooms with cheese: the waiter took the order, but did not bring it
Mussels: tasted like rubber
Fillet Denis: it was ok, but too expensive. It contained bones.
Schnitzel: ok
Striped bass: probably was a made a frozen fish bought from a supermarket. Terrible.

The only good thing about this restaurant is the beautiful views of old Acre, the bay of Haifa and the Carmel Mountain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ROY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    92
    34
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over rated food, terrible service.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I'm staying in Akko for 4 days now. I have eaten in several restaurants around this area. Somebody recommended this restaurant, so I decided to go for dinner. It is a ver nice place. But terrible service. Our waiter looked at us and didn't ever said hi, after we waited for more than 10 minutes. I wasn't end a red snapper and he said, we don't have the snapper, with a mean look in his face. Asked him for a baked potato and he got me French fries. When I asked him for the check he ignored me completely. I know I will never come back to this place. And of course I didn't tip him.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiolachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good oriental food, great steak”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The salads and first course dishes are enough for many. Seafood is an optional recommendation, on our latest visit with my folks, they were extremely delighted by the filet steak and sent a special thanks to the chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Bialik
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local people eat here!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent oriental food, hospitable service + scenery make this restaurant premium choice for local people as well as an atraction where I bring many of my guests.
I have enjoyed this place many times. The salads and first course dishes are enough for many. Seafood is an optional reccomendation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Stunning Views”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to visit Akko, a beautiful and historic place in its own right. However, the real reason for the visit was to enjoy a meal at the Doriana. The service and food was excellent with an abundance of starters and the most enjoyable seafood selection cooked to pefection. To top it all we sat by the window which has an elevated view of the sea and surrounding area. Pricing seemed reasonable by European standards and I would certainly return if visiting the North of Israel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doobles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doniana also viewed

Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to Doniana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing