We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowly decaying grandeur upstaged by its new neighbours.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slowly decaying grandeur upstaged by its new neighbours.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and it was immediate to see that this was once a very special place. Moribund came to mind as the days rolled on.
On the plus the location is nice and being out of Senggigi was a plus for us, as that resort town very much past it's best as a destination.
The pool side villa was had very large rooms and the pool lovely. It's very quiet as hardly anyone was staying there...but you can hear the coast road as it passes close by and there's a fashion for loud exhausts on the bikes in Lombok.
The food was acceptable and the service staff were keen to please if a little untrained.
The beach directly infront of the hotel was okay - not great and there's plenty better around!
We'd have preferred to stay in one of the newer neighbouring resorts, that we visited for dinner on occasion, but they were fully booked when we tried. I'd imagine that Alang Alang gets booked by people like us who tried and failed to get into one of the more wonderful places in Mangsit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h8chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a really one of the loveliest places during our trip to Indonesia. It was a great place from were we could explore Lombok by car. We would stay there again if we came back. Transfer to sengiggi by taxi for 1,5USD.

Room Tip: Oceanview, room going to the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitri111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A very nice hotel that is in a quiet area of Lombok. Sit on the porch of your bungalow or villa and enjoy the view of the mountains on Bali. Yes, this place is a just a little aged but it still is very well kept and clean. Loved the outdoor shower in our cabana. The villa looked great if you have the rupiahs for it. The covered open air dining area was lovely and the food was amazing. My wife is Indonesian and she raved about the fresh sambals used in the meals. I agree. No beach but a nice pool. This place just has a very nice feel to it for us. Everything you want to get to in the busier sections of Lombok are a cheap and quick taxi ride away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

An awesome location - far enough from the noise and dirt of Sengiggi beach but only a $1.50 5 minute taxsi ride away.
Relax in front of your enormous bungalow with a cold beer and watch the sunset go down over Mt Agung in Bali. Stunning!
Fantastic snorkel with turtles, cuttlefish etc right off your door step.Surfing on the point and willing locals to teach you how if it is your first time out on a board. Nice right hand break every afternoon.
The infinity pool is unbelievable. With a swim in rock cavern that you can also jump off the top of into the clear water below.
Staff is amazing. All smiles and efficiency.
Only down side is that the outdoor ( though extremely private) bathroom is adjacent to your neighbor which means you can hear them when they are in the bathroom and vice versa.
But this would not keep me from going back. In fact I cant wait to have the chance.
This place would be perfect for most people, couples, families, seniors etc. Almost dont want to tell any one about it - keep it our own little secret.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean front room or splurge on the 2 bedroom palatial villa with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfalz, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel looks a bit neglected. Outside beach furniture looks old, but rooms are still,ok. Not really hot water available. The restaurant menue is more american stile and overprized. Chose the neighboring PuriMas as the better option for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located at the end of the beach the alang alang provides a very relaxed, tranquil environment to lay back, switch off, and enjoy the see, sun, and surroundings. On both occasions a we stayed the hotel was very quite with 4-5 families/couples around. Staff looks after you very well indeed - children were spoiled with attention. Majority of bungalows have unobstructed sea view - fantastic.

Sea is a bit shallow, but okay to swim during high tides. A little bit further away in sea there is a decent corral reef, okay for snorkelling.

Overall I found the hotel a bit tired. I can see it booming 10 years ago, but now it is in need of renovation. It is quite humid in the rooms and bedding is not great at all. Swimming pool is okay but feels a little bit neglected. Food was very average.

Would I stay here again? Only for the view and tranquility... Though food is a deal breaker for me.

tayed in the alang alang twice with young family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a few days in Alang Alang over Christmas and really enjoyed our stay.

We found the rooms charming and clean and the staff friendly and attentive. The hotel is set in a lush, well-tended tropical garden and you will find petals from the many frangipani trees scattered around your room. The whole ambience is quiet and relaxing which was perfect for us. The restaurant is a beautiful place to watch the sunset from.

Be aware that the hotel is not on a beach. There are steps leading down to a rocky shore which has a tiny beach area revealed at low tide. A fairly short walk along the sea wall past the neighbouring hotels takes you to the slightly scruffy main beach (not helped by the black sand). There are quite a few hawkers on the beach and they walk through the hotel grounds too. However, they aren’t too persistent if you aren’t interested in buying. There’s some noise from the nearby road – occasionally disturbing if a particularly loud vehicle goes by or they are working on the road. If you like using a bar of soap, take one with you. There’s only shower gel in the bathroom. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it would be useful if there was information about the hotel and the island in the room. We liked Alang Alang and would recommend it if you’re looking for somewhere quiet. Probably not suitable if you are looking for somewhere with more to do or if you have children.

Room Tip: I think you would be disappointed with the experience if you didn't have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geckotale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataram
0.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.0 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel

Property: Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit Senggigi, Mataram, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Mataram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel Lombok/Mataram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing