We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Begibung Cafe

Begibung Cafe
Ranked #2 of 239 Restaurants in Mataram
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went to Begibung @ Mataram mall in April. The food there is superb! And the price is reasonable (to Singaporean). We ordered Ayam Taliwang, Nasi Campur, and a vege in soup (I've forgotten the name). It was recommended by the waitress there. I was just asking what is their specialties, and the veg, I've requested for something soupy (or has some sauce in it), and I like spicy stuff. So this is what is recommended. I love every dish we had. The food is good, sambal is perfect, and the atmosphere is just right.
I definitely will recommend this place to those who enjoy Balinese food, or spicy food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeKingTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Lombok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

It was a pleasant experience when entering this restaurant, greeted by friendly staff and beautiful traditional decor. The atmosphere inside was very comfortable, further enhanced by the background traditional music. The menu included the famous "ayam taliwang" which we enjoyed very much. The food was generally tasty and quite hot and spicy, depending on your request. Visitors to Mataram, Lombok should not miss this restaurant to taste authentic local food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Begibung restaurant was the best experience of Lombok food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

In 2013 and 2014 my wife and I have eaten in many places in Lombok. We have never experienced better food than in Begibung. The prices are low, the service excellent and friendly and the atmosphere attractive and unique. The music playing in the background is authentic Lombok traditional dance music, different from the familiar Balinese sound, but still gentle and interesting.

Where ever we travel in Indonesia the local people want to practice their English. This was apparent with Begibung where the beautiful staff gave excellent service under the supervision of Ibu Esther, the owner.

If you never have experienced the best in Indonesian, and in particular, Lombok food, you cannot get better than the authentic dishes served in Begibung. (The name means "We all eat together" which is very apt.) We usually eat where we see many locals. Begibung is always busy - the best recommendation a restaurant can have. A complete meal for two came to about $14 Australian. Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy place, decent price, rich and tasteful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

When you need to taste the original food in Mataram which has bad public transportation and also with hot humid climate, this place is a must! Located right in the heart of the biggest mall in mataram, so its very easy to reach either you walk or use ojek.

The place is cozy, with lots of traditional wooden decoration. The crew is very friendly and offer fast respond. I ordered the famous sate bulayak and it tasted very good. For the lombok coffee, it just regular.

Very recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I like their decor and also the ambience. The traditional music was very soothing. The choice of authentic local food offered was ample. We ordered fish, squid, tempeh and some vegetables. They were delicious. The service was very fast despite the large crowd. Price wise, it was really reasonable for a restaurant of its class.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begibung Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Begibung Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing