We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Begibung restaurant was the best experience of Lombok food”
Review of Begibung Cafe

Begibung Cafe
Ranked #2 of 240 Restaurants in Mataram
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Begibung restaurant was the best experience of Lombok food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

In 2013 and 2014 my wife and I have eaten in many places in Lombok. We have never experienced better food than in Begibung. The prices are low, the service excellent and friendly and the atmosphere attractive and unique. The music playing in the background is authentic Lombok traditional dance music, different from the familiar Balinese sound, but still gentle and interesting.

Where ever we travel in Indonesia the local people want to practice their English. This was apparent with Begibung where the beautiful staff gave excellent service under the supervision of Ibu Esther, the owner.

If you never have experienced the best in Indonesian, and in particular, Lombok food, you cannot get better than the authentic dishes served in Begibung. (The name means "We all eat together" which is very apt.) We usually eat where we see many locals. Begibung is always busy - the best recommendation a restaurant can have. A complete meal for two came to about $14 Australian. Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    49
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy place, decent price, rich and tasteful food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

When you need to taste the original food in Mataram which has bad public transportation and also with hot humid climate, this place is a must! Located right in the heart of the biggest mall in mataram, so its very easy to reach either you walk or use ojek.

The place is cozy, with lots of traditional wooden decoration. The crew is very friendly and offer fast respond. I ordered the famous sate bulayak and it tasted very good. For the lombok coffee, it just regular.

Very recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I like their decor and also the ambience. The traditional music was very soothing. The choice of authentic local food offered was ample. We ordered fish, squid, tempeh and some vegetables. They were delicious. The service was very fast despite the large crowd. Price wise, it was really reasonable for a restaurant of its class.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynd_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Famous ayam bakar taliwang”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Been here twice while I was in Mataram last week,wanna to try some authentic lombok cuisine,then found this lombok restaurant,atmosphere is good,service fast also,ayam bakar taliwang is lombok most famous cuisine, a must try,they have other lombok traditional food too,like sate bulayak etc.for vegetarian they have limited menu.the price here is slightly higher than other warung,but worth to visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Sulawesi Selatan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tastefull food with awesome architecture”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Its very recommeded for you who want to taste authentic lombok food. I think this is the most complete restaurant tht serves authentic lombok dishes. Every food and beverages taste really nice. And the service was pretty quick in spite of the crowds. The architecture and decoration was very ethnic and fabulous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begibung Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Begibung Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing