We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Segara Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Segara Villas
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Lombok
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, lovely clean rooms, good value for money. The service was excellent and the breakfast was the best I have ever had in Indonesia. Anna does a great job to make you feel right at home and is very helpful with planning market shopping, and general knowledge of Lombok. Terry and Dominique have done an excellent job with the design of the villas and the interior decoration. The dogs are friendly. Highly recommended to anyone, but possibly suited to mature couples...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezziw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place is quiet, about 5 mins taxi to Sengiggi, and up a hill. We had the place to ourselves for 3 nights, our only company the lovely staff Anna and Terry, and of course, all the 10 dogs that live on the property. They are all very friendly and well-trained, but wouldn't be ideal if you didn't have a love of pets.
The villa rooms are clean, and beautifully presented, bathrooms were great, food was excellent, a nice big breaky to start the day, and helpful advice. Would not hesitate in recommending a stay here, before visiting the Gilli islands.

Room Tip: ask for the airconditioned rooms, on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooseylucyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and it was out most pleasant stay whilst holidaying in Bali. Depending on your budget, if you decide you want to go to Lombok (we loved it), Segara is a brilliant choice.

The room we had (and the ones we saw) were exemplary. VERY clean, VERY fresh (the room next to ours was't occupied, yet it was cleaned every day). Dominique has exquisite taste and we appreciated her keen eye for detail. The photos on the website are true to life. Our room was beautiful, our out-door bathroom was an absolute treat. The breakfasts were magnificent. The staff made themselves available to your every minor need. On our return from a day traipsing the beautiful beaches of Lombok, within 2 minutes of our arrival, empty glasses and a (beautiful) pot of water, with rolled up towels were awaiting us pool-side on the recliners. Dominique's generosity was well and truly beyond what you would expect a host to provide. All her restaurant recommendations were spot-on. I was a little apprehensive about the 9 dogs which she has on the property, but by the end of the trip, i wanted to adopt a few of them. They are no bother whatsoever and really add to the magic of the place.

A taxi is only 1500 Rupiah ($1.50 AUD) to Lombok central and Dominique or one of the staff would always organise this for us. If you decide to stay here and arrange to get to Lombok via the fast-boat (great option) make sure you ask Dominique to organise a driver for you to pick you up at the harbour. If you don not, the locals there will offer you transport but as it is impossible to get a taxi street-side (from the harbour) they can charge you what they want to transport you to Segara. Aside from that, not many of them know where it actually is!

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with ocean and mountain view. When you get there, you'll understand why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Segara Villas is a small, tranquil and beautiful option on Lombok. Although I only stayed a single evening, I was given great courtesy and the owners went well out of their way to assist me with retrieving travel documents I had left on the Gili Islands. I was travelling alone but could see this as a place to stay in a couple or a group of friends. The interiors and decor are very tasteful and comparable if not better than any boutique hotel I recently stayed in around the world - but even better, all unnecessary trimmings e.g. fax, TV etc are not present. This is just the kind of place travellers like me need to feel you got away (and probably not the place to stay if you need a TV, fax machine and all of that). A final point, although there is no restaurant per se at Segara, terrific meals (Breakfast and Dinner) materialised from the kitchen and I really enjoyed not having to move from Segara (although its close to a variety of options).

Room Tip: There are few rooms but they all look good, and all were designed with privacy of others in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulold09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent two nights there in January and we had a very nice time. The food was great, and the service also. Everything, from the breakfast pancakes to the amazing "Segara chicken" was great. We had the mezzanine villa, which was simply gorgeous ! The bed, the view and the bathroom were the highlights. We had the pool to ourselves, so it was just perfect ! Beautiful spot on top of a hill, so maybe not the best for people who have some trouble walking... I am a huge dog lover and I can say that the fact that there is 5-6 dogs living there was a little bit intimidating. I would've love to have breakfast outside, but we couldn't get out and enjoy the terrace because there was always 2-3 dogs around, and if you leave the door open, they will come inside ! I love dogs, so I thought it was funny, but it could be annoying for some people. Also, we were there during the rainy season and there was a lot of bugs everywhere, even inside the villa, because half of the villa have open-air windows. But that's nature ! An other bad point was the heat. There is no AC in the mezzanine villa and we had some trouble sleeping because of that, it can get very hot and humid at night, and the tiny fan wasn't enough... But overall, we had a nice time there, very quiet and relaxing, exactly what we wanted. The owner is very helpful, and a very good cook ! He introduced us to a good guide and driver, who took us around the island during our trip in Lombok, even though we were not staying at Segara anymore.

Room Tip: Take a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valérie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Dominique and Thierry were very helpful and welcoming. There are 6Dogs(well-tranined) and 3Cats

Room Tip: Be sure to use mosquito net when you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciphern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

A great venue on the hills of Senggigi. A beautiful villa, great breakfast. Excellent staff who understand the the thin line between privacy and service. Owned by a French guy, who is very friendly and informative. We rented a motorbike and explored the island from there. The pool is truly amazing, quiet with great views. I would recommend this to everybody looking for a romantic setting and looking for a quiet down to earth place.

Room Tip: The one furthest on the hill has the best views! For sure worth the extra $15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ADBLPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
3.1 mi away
The Santosa Villas & Resort
0.3 mi away
Bintang Senggigi Hotel
Bintang Senggigi Hotel
#23 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
1.0 mi away
Cafe Alberto B & B
Cafe Alberto B & B
#2 of 44 in Senggigi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Puncak
The Puncak
#2 of 5 in Batu Layar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Villas

Property: Segara Villas
Address: Gang Duduk Atas, Jalan Raya Senggigi | Batu Layar, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Segara Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Segara Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Villas Hotel Lombok
Segara Hotel Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing