We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heaven On The Planet
Ranked #89 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

HOTP is an Eco Resort located in Lomboks South East. It offers fun surf and a resort style eating area set up overlooking the bay and one of the breaks. As well as friendly, good food and easy access to the waves.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    10
    7
    16
See reviews for
31
60
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from our week at Heaven on the Planet. After many years of
travelling I can say it was one of the best hotels/resorts I have had the
pleasure of visiting. It was special due to the care and attention of your
staff combined with the world class setting.
CJ , Simon and Ali were terrific. They managed the vagaries of life on the
end of dusty track on a steep cliff in Indo with skill and good humour.
Their team were always helpful, competent and cheerful. Food and accommodation was spot on - not 5 star flash but just what we needed for our surf safari. A great adventure, a very pleasant stay. Recommended highly.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossT580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

There seemed to be a complete lack of organisation! we were not really greeted when we arrived, had no idea where everything was (room, beach etc), no idea about tours. The only time we were really spoken to was when we were leaving (after a decent length stay) and were told "oh you guys are leaving already"

I think the owners were away for a while and the proxy team of management seemed to be either surfing or chilling on their computers. Sweet job for them! Really, we have travelled extensively and love remote but have never come across such a weird vibe. I mean, we don't need to be waited upon at all but this was extreme!

Having said that food was really good, the locals were super cool and the surf wasn't too bad at all.

From looking at previous reviews I would have to guess things would be much better when the owners are in house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesinekas, Owner at Heaven On The Planet, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We apologise that you were not greeted properly. Our staff are trained to greet all our guests and have a welcome letter from us to give each and every guest so that everything you need is explained properly.Usually our staff are very friendly and welcoming so we are not sure why they did not welcome you properly. We will continue to train staff so this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I'm surprised by the number of positive reviews of this place. I stayed here on a 5 day surf trip with two mates. I guess if the swell was pumping you might forgive the resort deficiencies, but in our case it was flat. We bailed to gili islands after 3 days of hell.

We arrived to be led to the restaurant area by our driver. 40 min later we were still waiting..... Do we just look for keys & show ourselves to the rooms?

When I finally got there my room was absolutely disgusting - the bathroom was covered in leaves that had blown through the hole in the roof. Bugs everywhere. I woke at about midnight the first night and both beds were completely covered in ants. I mean black with them!

This place is a complete rip off, and uses the phrase 'Eco resort' as an excuse to provide bad facilities and over charge for them.

Stay here at your peril!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Has443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesinekas, Owner at Heaven On The Planet, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for your review. We have a number of positive reviews because we have a wonderful place that most people enjoy. We are sorry you weren’t greeted properly, we have initiated more training so this doesn’t happen again. Usually, this never happens.
None of our rooms are absolutely disgusting. We have an opening in all bathrooms as in the tropics its good to let some air in to dry the open shower area. Sometimes leaves are blown in. The rooms are cleaned every second day and more if you ask. We are in a remote location, sometimes there are bugs. Sorry about the ants, we are living in a location where there is a lot of nature. Our staff would have come and changed the beds, mattresses and all if requested. We have lived here for the last three years and before that intermittently traveling back and forth from New Zealand and its never happened to us. I can think of probably two other occasions where this has happened in the last 12 years to other guests. It is a rare occurrence and obviously not one that we want for guests but again, we are in a natural environment.
We are not a complete rip off. We provide accommodation, return transfers, 3 meals per day, a boat to the surf, use of all our equipment surfboards, SUPs, kayaks, snorkeling equipment, mountain bikes, TV monitors with DVD players, Indo Sat TV in a communal area for guests as many want to watch international sports, water (as we are not on a supply), electricity (we are not on the grid) all in a very beautiful and remote location with no help from any authority. We have initiated many eco projects including reforestation to combat illegal felling of trees in forests in our district, water dams to provide water for the village as well as for our own use, artificial reefs to promote aquaculture in the Bay to combat depleting fish stocks taken from the Bay by illegal coral bombing. Dr Black, the owner, also brought to the Bay funding from the New Zealand Government to assist with poverty alleviation in the district by way of an aquaculture project which to this day is still assisting the local people. This record stands. It is documented and if this reviewer looked to Ekas Village he or she would have seen the fish farming that has resulted from this project. Before we came here the local people were absolutely improverished. There are numerous other projects that make our place much more eco than any other we know of in Lombok. Its all on our website and its all around you when you come here. Take some time to find out about it before you make an assumption about our eco status. Further, listen to your own heart, if the surf had been pumping, you wouldn’t have worried about the ants in your pants or in your bed. Fortunately, most of our guests know about and respect the hard work that has gone into this project. Most guests appreciate what has been done to not only provide a wonderful place for guests to surf and to come and enjoy as well as the assistance that has been given to the local staff and village. That is why we have so many positive reviews, we have a beautiful location and we are doing good work and most of our guests love being part of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 week trip to Indonesia and spent 20 days in Lombok and 10 days in South of Bali surfing the breaks from Uluwatu to Balangan. I travelled with my wife and our 19 month old baby girl. We have been to Indo a few times before and like to move around and never spent longer than a week at one place at a time. Of all the places we stayed HOTPlanet was by far the best all round experience, in fact we had such a good time there that we stayed for a week and then spent a few days in the Gillis when the swell was flat and then went back for another week. Lets face it there are many beautiful places to stay in Indo and many great surf spots to chose from. Its often the people that make the difference and the staff at HOTPlanet and Ocean Heavan were hands down the best of our entire trip as in the most personable, the warmest, charming and they were AMAZING with our little daughter. We also stayed at the 5 star Novotel in Kuta Lombok where the staff are trained in 5 star service however given the choice we would chose HOT and Heavan any day as their staff have great heart and great humour and if your polite to them they will do anything for you. As far as the pricing goes we think its great value for money, all you can eat, massages, transfers, surf boards, SUPs and boats what else can you ask for! I imagine that Heavan on the Planet is slightly more expensive because there are only 5 bungalows there and so it must be more expensive to run than HOTPlanet.
We enjoyed the company of the other guests many of whom are multi returning customers and have formed friendships that Im sure will be lasting. Moira and Kerry were great and did everything they could to make our trip a memorable stay. Sure they are direct and to the point but they are great hosts and never short of time for a good yarn and Kerry's always keen to come for a surf. The food is fab, CJ is doing a great job with the kitchen, the menu has excellent variety and for our entire stays it was situation normal for the intestines department . . and that certainly wasnt the case for Bali. On top of the great people you will meet there is inside Ekas, Outside Ekas and the Southern Reefs which are all uncrowded breaks with waves for the intermediate through to advanced. For sure the location is remote and with that come challenges for Kerry and Moira but I think they do a superb job and if you want a really wholesome experience where you get a chance to mix with great staff, hosts and guests then this place is more 5 star than most!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just come back from spending 4 days here with a large group of friends that were accommodated over the two properties. Overall the location is very nice, off the beaten track and uncrowded.

The accommodation huts are basic but have only cold water and a weak trickle at that! Aside from that they are adequate with mossi nets, torches and fans provided.

The food is very nice and the new Kiwi chef CJ should be applauded for his efforts. All food is included and there is plenty of choice for lunch and dinner, although breakfast is a little limited.

There's plenty of surfboards, SUP boards, kayaks, windsurf boards etc which is all free to use, however the boards are all stored at only one resort so factor that in if your staying at the other sister resort.

Of the 2 sites the older, Heaven on the Planet, is in my view and the other 9 people in our group the better resort. The resort is situated high on the hill and you get a wonderful vista out over the sea and surf break below. There is a great deck where you can have lunch and dinner and the whole set-up appeared a bit more finished and organsied, although sporadic, they even have Wi-fi which Heaven on Earth does not.

All the local staff are fantastic, very friendly and always willing to help. The massages you get that are included every other day are also a nice touch.

However my main issue with this resort is the cost. $170 per night per person! is exorbitant for this level of accommodation. Every one of our group thought this and why the older (nicer) resort is charged at $150 per night seems strange. I appreciate the location is remote and so there is a cost to get food and supplies into the area, however I have stayed at places far more remote all over Asia & Indo and the accommodation costs are no where near as high.

Also they charge $5 per person to drive you from one resort to the other. This is a ridiculous charge considering its a 5min trip up a dirt track. We had 6 people in a car and had to pay $30..crazy!!

The owners also seemed very stubborn when we raised some of the issues with them and to be honest a little rude. For instance when my friend complained that the vehicle wasn't big enough to collect 7 people from the airport, she was told well she shouldn't bring such a big bag in future!

Appreciate the owners are trying to do their best in a remote and beautiful part of Lombok, however unless you are a die-hard surfer who spends 6hrs a day in the good surf there, I know you can get far better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay at Heaven on the Planet, rooms nicer with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heaven On The Planet, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review Simon. We now have Wi Fi at both Ocean Heaven and Heaven on the Planet. Many of our guests prefer Ocean Heaven to Heaven on the Planet so its a very personal thing. Our prices reflect the boutique nature of the property and the special attention guests receive because there are only five chalets at Ocean Heaven. We think its great value when we provide such a lot in a remote location with no electricity or water supplies, all that is provided by us as well as accommodation, return transfers within Lombok, massage, all meals from our great new Western and local Sasak menu, use of all our equipment including surfboards, SUPs, kayaks, wind surfers, boat to the surf at Insides and Outsides and mountain bikes. We don't charge the $5 for a transfer between resorts every time. Just when we are really busy and our vehicles and staff are already busy transferring guests in and out of the property. Its designed to make you think about each trip. Its healthier and fun to walk or mountain bike between each. They are separate resorts so a fee for a shuttle is not unrealistic. We do transfer guests free of charge when we hold our beach parties. Thanks for your compliment regarding our staff, we think they are great too! Sorry you took the comment that you should have brought a smaller bag the wrong way, it was a joke! We have just purchased four new SUPs and some new kayaks so we will be able to provide equipment at both properties instead of ferrying them between the two. Sorry you had to wait for the staff to deliver equipment to you! No problem with that now though. Thanks for your compliments about the nice deck we have at Heaven on the Planet. Guests from either resort are allowed to enjoy the facilities of both resorts so its just a matter of choosing which one you want to sleep at. Thanks to our current happy guests for all the good comments we are getting and thanks to Luki Prang who is bringing some wonderful Australian musicians and Sasak musicians for a very special performance here tomorrow night for a local shadow puppet show and a fusion of cultural music. Wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The best thing about a holiday in Heaven is that it just gets better each time. My surfing hubby and I came here last April and had been dreaming of coming back ever since - and what a great welcome back by the staff who knew us - made us feel like family - thanks guys (and girls)! We especially asked for our favourite cliff-top chalet - as the views are to die for- and Kerry and Moira kindly obliged. This place is breath-taking...you feel like you're standing of the top of the world where time stands still. The sound of the waves crashing gently on the beach below mixed with the faraway put-put of the fishermen's motors on the bay soothe your senses. Needless to say I usually sleep deeply and end my holiday totally refreshed.
HotP is far from the usual up-market resort that is so readily available throughout Bali and in other busier areas of Lombok. It IS remote, so be prepared to accept (and enjoy) all the things that come with this label. Electricity will soon (if not already) reach this far corner of Lombok, so pumping water to the showers and cooling under fans at night will no longer cause problems for some guests or the management. Cold showers are always refreshing however, as the temperature here is warm to hot all year round. Because of inquisitive monkeys, the bathrooms which are open to the sky of necessity need to have wire covering them, but this makes them no less delightful or enjoyable. Chalets are built with natural fibres and we especially love the soft sound of rain on the grass roof. It IS classed as eco-friendly, so the geckos, lizards, birds, monkeys (who frolic in the waves at the beach every evening), all live in harmony with HotPlanet guests and local villagers. Also unlike other resorts, here there are no crowds - the waves and the beaches are yours alone.
Talking about waves, they were once again very consistent and offered choices depending on your daily energy/enthusiasm levels. One day the report went like this "best surf yet - only two of us out and we must have caught 100 waves non-stop - so clear and glassy it was hard to see the face of the wave!" While the surfers were out, I was happy to jump onto one of the SUP's provided at the beach hut and explore the beach inlets around the bay - almost made it to the nearby fish-farming village one day until driven back by an oncoming storm - spectacular fun! Ya-Ya was also happy to take me out to the surf break one day in the boat and drop me off with the SUP where I could take some great surf photos. We snorkeled, swam, paddled, trekked through the surrounding countryside to Ocean Heaven and back (swam while there in crystal blue warm water on the amazing, pristine white sand beach where we ate our packed picnic lunch).
It was so much more than just a holiday for us. We met new and interesting people from all parts of the globe, shared stories after dinner by candlelight with a backdrop of stars and moonlight on the bay - and always with great music! We were welcomed by the friendly local villagers and their gorgeous children and invited in to have coffee (thanks Masni), met Suppa's lovely wife and baby daughter and had lots of fun attempting to learn the local lingo.
I must mention the food as there are no nearby shops if you were thinking of buying your own! Don't worry - HotP's menu caters for all tastes and dietary needs and although I had my favourites, there was always something else tempting wafting past - too many to try them all. Plenty of fresh fruit and vegies in season - sometimes slow in coming, but always worth the wait and cooked fresh. No need to hurry in Heaven.
We're planning our return already with other family members in tow this time including our grandchildren - all water and nature lovers, who want to experience a true, authentic Lombok holiday. Thanks to Kerry, Moira and your wonderful staff for another memorable stay. Can't wait to see you all again and be back there.

Room Tip: Our favourite chalet for two people is 'Srikaya' on the cliff top. You may prefer to be near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
8.6 mi away
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
#1 of 1 in Jerowaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#2 of 11 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ekas Breaks
Ekas Breaks
#8 of 450 in Lombok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bumbangku Beach Cottage
Bumbangku Beach Cottage
#176 of 450 in Lombok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bruce's Hideout Lombok
Bruce's Hideout Lombok
#177 of 652 in Lombok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inlight Lombok
Inlight Lombok
#1 of 2 in Gerupuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven On The Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven On The Planet

Property: Heaven On The Planet
Address: Ekas, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco focused and set in a natural environment with two main reef surf breaks and a learners beach break. Snorkelling, scuba, massage treatments, all meals included in our packages, a wide range of activities including kayaking, stand up paddling, mountain biking, surfing, trekking, waterfall tours, aquaculture tours, volunteer programs to develop articifical reefs to promote aquaculture, a large property to explore. Another boutique resort close by is the sister resort of Heaven on the Planet and called Ocean Heaven. Ocean Heaven has five only rooms and staff are devote to looking after an exclusive group. All the above is set in a beautiful and untouched area. Meals include an extensive choice from our Western and local menu. Surf lessons are available, a yoga guru can be brought in if you so desire. Our resident dive instructor is also at your service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heaven On The Planet Hotel Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing