We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Gili Islands
from $75.00
More Info
from $213.00
More Info
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveler rating
489
235
101
65
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
489
235
101
65
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three islands day trip horse drawn speed boat gili island nice beaches private boat trawangan paradise bali turtles diving bike backpackers accommodation pollution development
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 990 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

I stayed on Gili Air but visited Meno on a snorkeling trip. These are tiny islands with calm, clear water. I loved riding my bike around Gili Air and the island has a very, very relaxed vibe. There are many places to eat, get a massage, and to swim/gaze at the sea.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank JoanRuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We spent the day snorkeling at Gili Nanggu & Gili Kedis and lunch on Gili Sudak. We had such a great day saw many fish that we had previously not seen before. There is still some rubbish around, particularly when you just enter the water that I hope their government will get on top of sooner rather than later, but swim out abit and its clear. This region has been through so much and they need the tourists to come back.
We went with Mimpi Manis Snorkel Trips for the day and Gemma stuffs rubbish in her swimmers every day, if more people do that, well, it takes a community doesnt it.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We did a day trip from sengetti on Lombok to the Gilies on a small boat , just the 2 of us. We had a fantastic day. Went to Gili Trawangan, which was very busy with backpackers ect,, Still a lot of damage from the earthquake but they are getting rebuilt now. Next we snorkelled on Gill Meno then we snorkelled and swam with the turtles at Gili Air. The turtles were amazing. Not shy of people or boats, there was 4-5 on the day and they were just swimming in amongst everyone. It was a truly amazing experience

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank queenslandchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

The locals are really nice always saying hello and welcoming. The vendors don't bug you too much like in Lombok island. There's plenty of restaurants and all have happy hour. Some all day long. The sunset beach side is really nice for sunsets bean bag chairs on beach and lots photo opps. We didn't find super incredible coral beds but we did hang with turtle found ourselves right off the beach at gili T it was quite large and gorgeous. Then we found our own off gili air and it was almost as nice. We did snorkel trip to turtle point and saw a few turtles but it gets deep out there and they decided to go down. The statues stop was good but I don't think it is old site and the sunken ship was more like sunken boat up side down it was just ok. The coral garden was barely ok. Don't go to the Gillis for just snorkel cuz it's mediocre except we found our own turtles and could hang with them ourselves. Be patient and stay closer to shore. That was worth it and free.
They are definitely working on restoration and I admire them for it. That earthquake changed their lives.
The Gillis is good beach laid back scene!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank patw767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019

After speaking with a lovely couple who owned a resort on Gili, we decided to visit for 3 nights. Since the earthquake in August, this place has been quite desserted. There are still a few buildings under construction. Selfishly I think it is a great time to visit, with not as many crowds. We scuba dived at Halik & the Bounty Wreck. The Halik dive was dissappointing with a lot of dead coral and not too much sea life, we actually saw more sea life the day before just snorkelling. The Bounty Wreck was wonderful, with some great coral and good sea life, turtles, shrimps, ornate pipers, trigger fish, moorish idols etc the highlight being a crocodile flathead, as we had never seen before! Trawangan divers were great to deal with! As for the rubbish on the beach, we had heard mixed reviews from others. There was a little rubbish in the shallow for snorkelling however, did not see any on the scuba dives. On the island Gili T is looking clean until you cycle along the path and look over the fence and then you see the rubbish just thrown everywhere, it is disappointing. There is a mosque on the island, which means you have an alarm at 4.30am each day, after 30 minutes of the mosque preaching to the nation you can then fall back to sleep. A great place to visit and if you prefer quietness perhaps now is a great time to visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews