We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb beach”
Review of Mawun Beach

Mawun Beach
Ranked #8 of 158 things to do in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb beach”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wine glass bay Tasmania came to mind minus the kangaroos! What a beautiful location, empty, shrouded in hills with occasional surf trying to crash through the narrow entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MasAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    143
    33
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Henley
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I surfed Mawun quite a lot about ten years ago and its undeniably a beautiful spot but be careful. Previous post indicating its a safe swimming spot is not right.

There is a small headland that splits the beach and the ajoining beach (on the right if you face out to sea) that hides an extremely powerful current out to sea.

One day we were surfing when we saw someone waving on the headland. At first i thought they were indicating a shark and paddled in but what we couldnt see was about 50 yards away behind the glare of the sun a family had been swept out to sea.

A group on boards managed to get to them and paddle them in. The husband had all but given up and would have drowned if people hadnt spotted them on land. The group that spotted them saved their lives

Dont want to scare people but its a remote beach and if theres a swell running needs caution

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect beach!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect getaway beach. The beach is clean, no litter around. Not too many nosy people around. Possibly due to the remote location. This was our top of the list destination in lombok. When you come here You are guaranteed to see a heaven on earth.. A bit of advise: if you are staying in northern lombok (senggigi or the gilis), you might want to go to mawun directly from the airport, as it is much closer from the airport.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Handy_Kembar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Must visit - Sandy beach, awesome for swimming”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I almost do not want to write a review about this beach to keep it a secret :-) But it is a must visit beach in South Lombok. The beach is quite protected because it is kind of in a cove. The coral/rocks and surf are far out. It is a tranquil and quiet beach

The sand is soft and white. To the right side the water is clean and the bottom is sandy - no rocks. Perfect for swimming. In the middle there is a bit of garbage in the water. Towards the left - seaweed and coral.

Pack a picnic, bring a kite, and spend an afternoon here.

Tip - Our driver suggested we leave our valuables - camera and wallet locked up in car. Or don't leave your belonging unattended on the beach. Because there were prior stories of theft.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel838c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentul, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dream beach”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Superb!! a must see place,close to the Kuta beach lombok,clean,white sand,less visitor,great view but make sure to bring drinks and food since there are no shops around

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitchen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mawun Beach also viewed

Selong Belanak, Lombok
Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara
 

Been to Mawun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing