We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small clean room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Penny Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Penny Villas
Ranked #307 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small clean room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were here last weekend. The staffs didnt welcome us and seemed a bit cocky worsen by our pool which arent clean. Our room was room #2, which are really closed by the reception with loud music from the bar next to Black Penny.

The breakfast on the first day was really bad and they made it good on the second day. The room is really small but clean.

If i got the chance to go to gili trawangan in the near future, i would not go here again..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manager at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear LOUIS RD,

Warmest Greeting from Gili Trawangan,

Black Penny Villas is always interested to hear the comments of it's customers and we are very grateful that you have written for our attention.

We are extremely sorry to know that you did not experience and satisfied caused outsider Noise music, W e hope that you understand that the most of guest looking for to visit Gili Trawangan.
About the small room and Pool you commented, we have mentioned in our website about the room size as well as Plunge pool instead of swimming pool.

In this occasions I do really apologized for the unfriendly staff upon your arrival, by the time you read this response we have trained and replace the previous staff, also in this I would like to share that we just opening new BLACK PENNY VILLAS in UBUD Bali with bigger size and plunge pool with quite place for Holiday combined with Rice field and Ayung River View.

We Guarantee when you stay in our new Villa in Ubud you will meet your expectation.

Your Sincerley

Buchari
Operation Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    51
    30
    19
See reviews for
23
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here during our trip to Gili. The hotel does not look 'posh' from the outside, but i love what i found inside. Each room comes with a small pool (probably a 2.5x2.5 metres size) which you can just easily dip in whenever you feel like. The room is clean, and it is close to the harbour. Surprisingly the food was good (i did not have big expectations whenever it comes to visiting a 'remote' place). The irish bar next door is probably the most happening place in Gili, but i didn't find difficulties in sleeping. The music was not that loud, and you still can hear some music from your room, but it was no problem at all. Beside restaurant, you can have massage and spa just in front of your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manager at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nelson P,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Gili Trawangan,

On behalf of entire team we thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to our villa resort and I will be more than happy to share your compliment to entire teams also we thank you very much for your choice to stay with us during your recent holiday in Lombok.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future so you could experience the villa services as it was mean to be.

In This occasion I would like to share with you our New Black Penny Villas in Kedewatan Village Ubud Bali, the Place was luxury combined between Valley, Ayung River and Ricefield View where you can combine your next stay with Ocean View Gili Trawangan.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email or my mobile 08123658736 or 087860036999, I will be more than happy to assist you.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, I do looking forward to serve you again.

With Hospitality Regards,

BUCHARI
Operation Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I feel we paid a lot of money for this average hotel. We looked around and could have found something just about as nice for a quarter the price. Everything was clean and the towels were new. Well presented rooms very small rooms but bright and light very comfortable bed. No soap only bath gel. No tea or coffee making facilities. The noise from the Irish Bar next door irritated us on our 2nd night from 12pm until 4am when it finally stopped. Heard nothing the first night though. Probably would try somewhere else next time. WE were there in peak season so thought we should book prior to arrival but this was not the case as there were rooms from budget to delux so should have waited until arrival to get room. Always scared you will end sleeping on beach but am sure this would not happen..

Room Tip: Further from the road may help with the party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doowah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manager at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Doowah,

Warm greeting from Black Penny Villa Gili Trawangan,

Black Penny Villas is always interested to hear the comments of it's customers and we are very grateful that you have written for our attention.

We are extremely sorry to know that you did not experience and satisfied caused Room Price, Noise Music from The Irish Bar that out of our control since they have scheduled in Gili trawangan also for the Cooffe and tea maker in the room where you were stayed,

We hope that you understand that when you stayed are in high season period where every hotel is fully booked and they applied high season sure charge From July to September where is common practice in indonesia, about the tea maker that you complain for,By the time you read this response we do provide it in every room.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I looks forward to serving you again.

Your Sincerely,

Buchari

Operation Villa Manager
Black Penny Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

very pleasant place! clean rooms, clean bathroom, good condition system. Room service was great - every day and without any troubles, i had never seen the service staff but every eve the room was cleaned ))) Placed very close to Irish Bar where is party and good companies every day. Little pool in my private territory was very usefull to refresh in it the "tired" friends after party )))) Foot massage service near reception place is also very convenient - there is no need to go somewhere while this service is not a widely-distributed in island )))

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Natalya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manager at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Natalya P,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Gili Trawangan,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your experience was a pleasant one as what we have to be.

We are constantly striving to improve our services and it is encouraging to hear when our guests enjoy them. I will be very happy to share your comments with our entire teams.

In this occasion I would like to share that we just opening Black Penny Villas Ubud Bali with Rice field and Ayung River View where you can combine with Ocean View Gili Trawangan.
Thank you so much for staying at Black Penny Villa Gili Trawangan and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Buchari
Operation Villa Manager
Black Penny Villas Gili Trawangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our room was nice, with a comfy bed, semi-outdoor bathroom and cable tv. Each room has it's own plunge pool and small patio surrounded by high concrete walls. It's a good place to stay if you aren't planning to hang out in your hotel. The hotel doesn't have any real common space and the patio with your room feels kind of like a prison yard with its high walls... We stayed two nights and didn't have our room cleaned. Apparently, they had lost the other key to our room. It's on the main beach road south of the ferry landing, just north of Scallywags restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manager at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Melinda,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Gili Trawangan,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your experience was a pleasant one as what we have to be.

We are constantly striving to improve our services and it is encouraging to hear when our guests enjoy them. I will be very happy to share your comments with our entire teams.

In this occasion I would like to apologized for the room that not been cleaned by the staff caused of they losing the key where it not acceptable reasons, We do really appreciate you share this comment to our attention so we could improve our service in the future.

I would like to share that we just opening Black Penny Villas Ubud Bali with Rice field and Ayung River View where you can combine with Ocean View Gili Trawangan.

Thank you so much for staying at Black Penny Villa Gili Trawangan and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Buchari
Operation Villa Manager
Black Penny Villas Gili Trawangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Individual closet sized rooms (villas), plunge pool was more like a small tub and the water was dirty, murky and stuff was floating on the surface. My skin wrinkled up within minutes being inside the pool. The reason given was that the pool filter stoppedworking whenever the electric generator broke down, and that meant everyday! No power everyday starting by 11am and then it starts back up in the early evening. I was very disappointed about the pool as it was the main criteria I picked this hotel for my daughter "private plunge pool".

Shampoo, soap, water and etc. were never replenished. Towels were old (I thought this hotel was suppose to be new).

Being used to noise living in NYC, I find the noise level at night in this place unbearable! Husband and I woke up multiple times throughout the night. Ask for a room further away from the front if you decide to stay there.

Hot water ran out by the time the third person showered

I understand hotel maintenance is harder and island standard is different, but giving "4 stars" to this place is deceiving to customers. They should not claim to be 4 stars if they cannot live up to it.

On a good note: food was very good, try their fried rice, spagetti bolongnaise. Staff at the restaurant was nice, but service was slow and many mistakes were made on our breakfast order (fried eggs instead of omlette, mixed fruits instead of juice, or completely different things from what we order).

I don't think I would return to this hotel but I would go back for their fried rice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winniec0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginovilla2013, Manajer at Black Penny Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Winniec,

Warmest Greeting from Gili Trawangan,

Black Penny Villas is always interested to hear the comments of it's customers and we are very grateful that you have written for our attention.

We are extremely sorry to know that you did not experience and satisfied caused of cleanliness as well as guest supplies didn't refill also for the outsider Noise music, W e hope that you understand that the most of guest looking for to visit Gili Trawangan.

About the small room and Pool you commented, we have mentioned in our website about the room size as well as Plunge pool instead of swimming pool.

By the time you read this response we just opening new BLACK PENNY VILLAS in UBUD Bali with bigger size and plunge pool with quite place for Holiday combined with Rice field and Ayung River View.We Guarantee when you stay in our new Villa in Ubud you will meet your expectation.

Your Sincerely,

Buchari
Operation Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#17 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accomm...
#19 of 148 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#2 of 148 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Bella
Villa Bella
#47 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Penny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Penny Villas

Property: Black Penny Villas
Address: Gili Trawangan, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Penny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Penny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing