We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Sasak songs while admiring Rinjani” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cendrawasih Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cendrawasih Cottages
Ranked #480 of 636 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Sasak songs while admiring Rinjani”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cendrawasih Cottages is a very unique hotel in an authentic little village. You get your own cute little cottage, with a bathroom downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. Although the rooms are a bit shabby and not all facilities are working properly, it's perfectly fine to sleep and price-quality-wise reasonable. Even better, there's an awesome panorama view terrace. After climbing the stairs, you can lounge on comfy pillows and admire the magnificent view upon the rice paddies and Gunung Rinjani. The food is great and arrives quickly. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and offer great excursions for a reasonable price (walk to the waterfall!). Although their English might be somewhat limited, speaking with tourists is their only opportunity for improvement and they're trying really hard. At night, the boys working there start playing and singing traditional Sasak songs, and love sharing some rice wine with you. Although the village is very small, the surroundings are beautiful and being a tourist is still kind of a rarity. Unexpectedly, Tetebatu was the best part of my journey, thanks to the awesome people working at Cendrawasih!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this place! Tetebatu is a really nice village. Before Tetebatu we have visited Bali, Kuta Lombok and Senggigi. These cities are all big and touristic. In Tetebatu there are only a few tourists. Cendrawasih Cottages is a great accommodation if you want to explore the area around Tetebatu including the Sasak Villages. There is a really nice terrace with a great view. They serve delicious meals here, which are also very cheap. At night the young boys come there as well and they play guitar for you and they sing Sasak songs. The guys are really friendly and they want to give you a great time. They take you on their motorbikes to the other Sasak villages and the nice view and they are also guides for a walk through the rice fields to the waterfall. The view is just fabulous. The cottages are not luxurious, but clean enough and there were no insects. It is a very cheap accommodation, but the atmosphere is wonderful. The excursions were also really cheap. We also had dinner at Green Orry once, but that was such a weird place and the food was bad. When we were in tetebatu, there were also many other guests and they loved it as much as we did. Lonely Planet is right about Cendrawasih Cottages!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

There aren't a lot of accommodation options in Tetebatu, and none of them are great, but Cendrawasih is comparatively lower price than others (around US$15), and the rooms (two-story traditional cottages) have some character. Main reason to stay here is to enjoy the lovely rice paddy and Gunung Rinjani views from the restaurant --- really idyllic. Food is OK. Room was OK, but bathroom could be cleaner (actually, the whole room could use a good scrub). No bugs or anything like that, just not very clean. Service left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The warung serves ok food but the rooms are shabby and the bathrooms grubby. I would stay away - try the Wisma Soedjorno up the road, more expensive but looks much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxuryonabudget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lombok hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed one night at Cendrawasih cottages and I must say that it pretty much ruined Tetebatu for us. We read about the place in Lonely Planet and so do probably many others, so here's another opinion. It's the only part of our tour of Indonesia we regret, and it's quite sad since the village itself was idyllic and the cabin we stayed at was okay. It was the staff that really ruined it for us. The place seemed to be run by a bunch of teenaged boys, one of them being our "host" it seemed, Aril he was called. We both got sick after eating at Cendrawasih, might have been accidental but then again I wouldn't be surprised if food hygiene wasn't a first priority at Cendrawasih. They let the dogs wander around the restaurant and eat off the plates left on tables, and as we were waiting we had to push the dogs off constantly. We had planned to go trekking in the morning but couldn't go because I was so sick, feverish and with diarrea, so we arranged to go to the waterfalls by car as Aril was pushing us to go anyway.

What a mistake it was taking him with us, he made us pay the entrance to the park although we had agreed the night before that it would be included in the guide fee, and he didn't mention this as he charged us before the trip. And it turned out we could have walked to the waterfalls very easily by ourselves without him. It took him about half an hour and we ended up paying almost as much as we'd agreed to pay for a two hour walk. He didn't explain anything about the surroundings, just walked the path ahead us. I wish we wouldn't have taken him along.

Everything else was so perfect on Lombok, but that guy still haunts me whenever I think about Tetebatu. We felt like we'd made a great escape when we were in our taxi off to Sembalun Lawang. All in all, Cendrawasih is not well run, and if you end up staying there, go some place else to eat and hire a guide. We met some lovely, friendly people in the village but I wish we hadn't had anything to do with Cendrawasih.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vehka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lombok
26.9 mi away
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
#1 of 1 in Jerowaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pondok Siola
Pondok Siola
#1 of 1 in Sambelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
17.0 mi away
Les Rizieres Lombok
Les Rizieres Lombok
#1 of 9 in Tetebatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Wisma Soedjono Hotel
Wisma Soedjono Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tetebatu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
16.9 mi away
Rinjani Family Homestay
Rinjani Family Homestay
#1 of 3 in Sembalunlawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
36.1 mi away
Bruce's Hideout Lombok
Bruce's Hideout Lombok
#205 of 636 in Lombok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendrawasih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendrawasih Cottages

Property: Cendrawasih Cottages
Address: Tetebatu, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 636 Specialty Lodging in Lombok
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing