We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Via Vacare”
Review of Via Vacare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Via Vacare
Ranked #70 of 468 Lombok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Via Vacare”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have just had an excellent stay at Via Vacare on the nice Gili Gede. We were 2 adults with 3 children (9,16 and 18). The atmosphere is very friendly and just like being part of a family.

Jet Kellner - the owner of the place was among others taking us for a walking tour to the nearby villages and to a local market on the mainland and part of the family was enjoying the daily yoga offered.

The cottages are right on the beach with a beautiful view. There are no running water and only electricity a few hours during the day, but it just add to the relaxed atmosphere. It's a very peaceful place and a very nice stay to relax.

There is a nice reef just off the beach. A short boat trip to Gili Ringgit took us to an excellent unspoiled reef.

All in all we had an unforgettable trip to Via Vacare.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Sandvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
47
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Via Vacare. It was the quietest accomodation we ever had. The atmosphere, the food, the setting, the yoga, the bungalows and esspecially the people were great! Jet is a very warm hearted and optimistic persons. We come back! Thank you for a wonderful time, Jet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a wonderful experience! The staff were delightful and Jet was the perfect hostess, the food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Jet helped with all our travel both to and from Via Vacare ensuring that my haggling skills (what haggling skills?) were not further tested. The accommodation was beautiful and the view of the sea and other islands simply stunning. It was bliss to sleep every night with the doors open and listen to the gentle crash of the waves on the beach. Jet also provides and organises day trips and took us snorkelling to some of the other islands where you can see an abundance of marine life, if you're lucky maybe you'll even see a few turtles.
The day would begin with a pre-breakfast yoga session for anyone who fancied it and then a lovely healthy breakfast. The rest of the day was dedicated to resting, eating, exploring the island and collecting amazing shells until you sat down to enjoy a beautiful sunset dinner.The island itself was delightful and we enjoyed a couple of trips through the villages and attempted to have some chats with the local children.
All in all our holiday finished on such a high note at Via Vacare it would be hard to surpass. We hope to return in the future and we'll make sure our stay is a longer one next time. Thank you so much Jet and the staff and apologies for not writing this sooner! Bec and Elle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinorSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Living on the beautiful but busy island Gili Trawangan me and my friend needed a Holiday after the high season. So we choose to go to Gili Gede and stayed with Jet in Viavacare. Upon arrival Jet and her staff was welcoming us with a beautiful light lunch and warm welcome.

We stayed in one of the bungalows nicely designed with windows and shutters all around, which can be left open night and day. The beds are comfortable with mosquito nets and during the night the night you hear the waves, feel the breeze and watch the little lights on the sea from the fisherman. As there is no electricity or running water the bathing is basic, but charming. The toilet can be a bit smelly though.

After sunset diner is severed in the main building and with all customer joining one table, which is perfect for meeting new people and hearing stories. The food is delicious and there is enough for everybody.

The next morning we woke up by the gong around 7.30am to join Jet's yoga session. As a non experienced yoga participant I loved the way the yoga was relaxing and without any pressure or feeling I had to succeed in everything.
After yoga a beautiful healthy breakfast was waiting for us and the rest of the day we just focused on resting, eating, searching for shells, enjoying a massage, eating again and some more relaxing.
We didn't go to explore the rest of the island, as we where happy to stay at the bungalow. The view is beautiful with different islands lying in front of the beach. The beach isn't as nice as in Gili Trawangan and the snorkeling is nice but I've seen better, but this definitely didn't altered the fact that we had a beautiful stay and went back home relaxed and satisfied and learned about the art of doing nothing.

Thanks to all the staff and Jet in Viavacare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiliEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Via Vacare delivers a stunning location, fantastic food, wonderful hospitality and a profound sense of peace - I give it five stars for all the important things! I endorse the comments in the other 5 star reviews. Jet has created a wonderful place and an atmosphere of hospitality which, for some, may seem a little rustic if they are looking for five star bling and hot and cold running everything, but for others like us it just provided the perfect combination of warmth and sociability, peace and solitude. The snorkeling between Gili Lantar and Gili Rengit was excellent, and at low tide the exposed reef in front of Via Vacare is a fascinatingly biodiverse environment full of intriguing life. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakmaniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous place, best staff ever met, trustworthy, fair prices for what you get.
When you are there, you have nothing to worry, it's like visiting family even if you are coming for the first time.
We felt very sad to be leaving...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ln1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Doing nothing never felt as good as in Via Vacare. Thank you Jet!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerdamsterdam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
13.8 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 3 in Desa Sekotong Barat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
17.2 mi away
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
#1 of 2 in Gili Gede
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Tanjungan Bukit Lodge
Tanjungan Bukit Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gili Gede
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
17.8 mi away
Secret Island Resort
Secret Island Resort
#159 of 468 in Lombok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
17.4 mi away
Layar Beach Bungalow
Layar Beach Bungalow
#1 of 18 in Mataram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Vacare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Vacare

Property: Via Vacare
Address: Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via vacare is a basic accommodation on a unique location, 4 spacious bungalows and backpackers dormitory facing sunset and Gunung Agung. No electricity but 1000 stars sky, oil lamps, candles and solar lamps. Electricity from generator is on for 5 hours a day. No flowing water, but fresh water bought and brought in to shower in old indonesian mandi style (ceramic pots with bucket shower) Toilets flushed with salt water buckets. Ideal place to relax and enjoy the art of doing nothing, no sounds of mosques, daily yoga/meditation,great snorkeling ashore,lot of books in different languages, common shared surprising meals. All inn price for 3 meals, yoga, use snorkel gear, free drinking water, tea, coffee, tax, free boat transport back to mainland. For bungalow 30 euro a person a day, for backpackers dormitory 18 euro a person a day.Pick up service from airport, Kuta, Sengigi, Bangsal or Lembar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing