We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Tugu and loved every moment of it. The service by the staff is nothing short of outstanding - in fact all bali hotels should send their staff here for proper training !! The food was beautiful and reasonably priced. The Hotel is isolated so we were worried about being ripped off on the food and drink prices but this was not so. We would come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Getta_Around_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear I_Getta_Around_Town,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Lombok. Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with us and our guests.

It was a great pleasure to have you here at our Tugu home. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time here. We are especially happy about your comments regarding our staff, they will be very proud to hear this.

Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can do something for you. We hope to see you soon again in Lombok or at our sister properties in Canggu (Bali) or Malang or Blitar in East Java.

Hanny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    88
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
175
557
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here as a part of my honeymoon.. The location is good and nice, beach is fine but I can not say the same to facilities. The buildings are old and ignored. Toilets are outside and a bit smelly. I would say 3-4 star quality. If you are not staying at beach front bungalow forget it, the rooms are no different than local houses:)
Food is generally ok not that great, nice selection of wine and very prompt and friendly staff.

Besides the service quality, I do not recommend this hotel at all. Especially if you are concerned about hygiene.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onur_Tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Onur,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We understand that Tugu, being so unique, exotic and authentic, is not for everyone. Our mission is to bring back to life Indonesia's beautiful history and legends from the most romantic eras of the past, but as you had mentioned yourself, you were looking for a more modern, minimalist hotel. We believe we have done alright in providing as much information as possible to our websites and our travel agent partners, as you can see in all other reviews, the guests who had stayed with us were beyond happy.

We also posted clearly on our website that the Bhagavat Gita Suites have outdoor bathrooms, so this shouldn't have come as a surprise. May we say also that most guests chose these suites BECAUSE of these outdoor baths with the oversized rainshowers, surrounded by tropical trees and flowers and the sound of water in the room's own fishponds. We are sorry you didn't like outdoor baths. As of 'hygiene' once again we refer you to all other reviews that oppose that, not to be repetitive, we would like to point out that having antique/artworks around doesn't mean the building is old or ignored...with around 140 staff/team members for 35 rooms, all new modern equipments and installations, we pay very high attention to cleanliness and maintenance. But we understand that it all goes back to your having different taste and preference from the beginning.

Once again, thank you kindly for sharing your opinion with us

Hanny Zulfina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a great stay at Tugu Lombok. We stayed in one of the Bhagvad Gita Suites - totally worth it. Great ocean views and great room - very spacious. The property is beautiful and not crowded at all which was really nice. The only disappointing part is that there aren't too many dining options in that there is only one restaurant at the resort. Also we are vegetarians so it was tough to find something different every day. We tried to go to the Oberoi for dinner but apparanently they don't allow outside guests during their peak season. Maybe the week we were there, Oberoi might have been full. Anyway, we loved having dinner on the beach - very romantic and beautiful. We had some problems with some of the waiters as they didn't understand what we wanted and our request that we are vegetarians. But other that that, the service was great. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for Bhagvad Gita Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear madworldtraveler,

Thank you so much for posting your great review at Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience during your stay at Tugu Lombok last July.

We are pleased to inform you that we will have another restaurant (almost completed) additional to Bale Kokok Pletok, but in the meanwhile we are happy to arrange special dinners everywhere else you wish - the most popular being romantic beach dining, temple dining, lotus pond dining... We also took note of your feedback especially for the vegetarian menu options. Our food and beverages team is now working together to create a larger vegetarian menu to be ready immediately.

Once again, thank you very much, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.

Kind Regards,
Hanny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We flew into Lombock from Bali, and when we landed our driver informed us Tugu was a two-hour drive. Ugh, we thought. But oh, was it worth it! The property is simply beautiful. Our room had it's own little "pool" with an ocean view, which my 9 year old daughter loved. The beach and pool are not crowded at all - often, we were the only ones there. The Bali Sea is like glass - so calm, clear...and warm. We took the hotel's "dragon boat" out for a snorkeling trip to the Gili Islands. We also stopped to let my daughter release baby turtles into the sea. That was simply amazing. I loved the spa too - it's gorgeous, with many treatments to choose from. The only drawback: we loved the property so much, we never left to explore Lombock!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Christine,

We are so pleased to hear about your wonderful experience at our resort. Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our beach, room, spa and our beloved dragon boat.
We do hope that you will come back to our Tugu Lombok home in the near future, on your next visit to Lombok.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require in the meanwhile.

Kind Regards,
Hanny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We visited Tugu Hotel for our honeymoon in July 2014. It was everything we ever dreamed it would be, and more! The staff were amazing, the hotel is stunning, and the country is beautiful. PERFECT!!

The food was amazing and there is plenty to do if you want to spend time visiting some other local areas, or a boat trip to the Gili Islands. We went for a nice mix of relaxation and activity. We discovered yoga and spent our mornings doing yoga as the sun rose. We cannot recommend this hotel enough, the staff are the best we have ever known and it was the perfect honeymoon destination. You should go! Thank you to everyone at Tugu (Henry, Faisal, Gede, Arwan, Amil, Ruslan - and everyone I havent mentioned too!!)

Room Tip: We stayed in Bhagavat Gita rooms, with our own plunge pool and day bed, and just a few steps to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Phil and Joanne,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are so delighted to read about your wonderful experience here with us - about how much you love the activities that our hotels offer, especially your early morning yoga on the beach, and to hear that you had enjoyed all the fresh and delicious food and beverage prepared by our kitchen team. Thank you also for your kind words about our team, they are very happy to hear their names mentioned and it is our true pleasure to make you as happy as possible during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Tugu Lombok, or any of the other Tugu properties soon!

Hanny Zulfina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

What an unique and special place. This is a secret that shouldn't be shared...The villas have the wow factor, outstanding service and unique decoration (the owner is a collector)makes this hotel a must for those who are looking for a romantic and quiet spot. The location of the hotel makes it even more unique as it is located in a white sand beach with nothing around but fishermen villages. We are definitely coming back,This is truly an indonesian experience!!!

Room Tip: Aloong villas are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Teresa,
Thank you for the valuable comment upon Hotel Tugu Lombok and for your precious time to share it on Trip-Adviser.
We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the resort also a big thanks and appreciation of your compliments on the service, the unique concept , location etc.
We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort on your next visit to Lombok.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel Tugu, Lombok is a place where dreams become reality. The people, the place, the atmosphere, the food and the weather create something that is so special and sacred- a feeling we have never experienced anywhere else. You only have to read the reviews below to realise how outstanding Tugu is, a place people go back to again and again.
We got engaged at Tugu in April last year, and then in April this year we took 36 friends and family back with us to get married. The wedding was magical – from the second we landed back on the island to the days running up to the wedding, the wedding day itself and then aftermath, there was not one hitch, only unbreakable happiness. We were elated and ecstatically happy all the time, as were all our guests. We had a few days prior to the wedding where Tugu arranged boat trips, volleyball games, candle lit dinners, an “all white cocktail party night”, waterfall trips, snorkelling trips and so much more. Roshan, Hanny, Era, Henri, Faisol, Robbie, Herman, Dede, Gede, Argos and all the rest of their incredible team welcomed us and all our guests as family, no task was too much and because of them we had the wedding that surpassed any dream wedding I have ever seen. The wedding was faultless, the grounds of the hotel were immaculate, we had our vows in the temple, cocktails on the beautiful gardens and then a candle lit dinner and dancing on the beach. Everything was rustic, beautiful and unique. The hotel provided the most stunning flowers for myself and my bridesmaids, the temple was breath-taking with a petal pathway that led from the bottom of the stairs all the way up to the alter.
We had a local township perform which was very emotional as we had seen them practising in the days before the wedding, the women sung so beautifully and the men played traditional instruments and performed a traditional dance. The band was wonderful and got all the guests dancing. One of the most special moments was when all the staff came to dance with us to traditional Indonesian music, every one of us bare feet on the sand under a full moon. We let off lanterns at the end of the evening which was such a perfect end to a truly unforgettable wedding. Our guests were mind blown and we are still- 3 months down the line we are all still talking and reminiscing daily about the incredible experience we had.
My husband created a video to try to encapsulate our wedding, you can find the link here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Blbry4vDFsk
We will be back for our first wedding anniversary without fail, as much to see all our Tugu family as the place itself. As much as I want to keep Tugu a secret, I just can’t…. Don’t look to stay anywhere else- this is your paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Emma,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. We were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described all details of your dream weeding in April, the arrangements , flowers , ceremony , cocktails , “Sate Ibu Sarangan “ dinner performance & the Tugu touch experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with that true feelings.
We also appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned “unbreakable happiness”,” the wedding was magical”!!! We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear friends, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We were pleased to learn that your friends & family have had a wonderful experience with all other arrangements such as snorkeling trips to Gili, The waterfalls, Volleyball on the beach, candle lit dinners etc.
Our sincere thanks to Jonathan for making this lovely video of the wedding & inviting others to share the true experience. Emma, we will be looking forward to have you back in April next year to celebrate your first wedding anniversary.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you!
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Property: Hotel Tugu Lombok
Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing