We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Tugu, Lombok for 3 days with a friend. The hotel is lovely. It is set in spacious, beautifully kept grounds with a beautiful beach. The staff are really warm and friendly, the manager always attentive and the rooms very spacious with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom of my bungalow was outdoors and beautifully decorated. There were many little touches that made this a special place to stay, from the fruit in your room, to the flower arrangement given to you every morning, every member of staff knowing your name, the afternoon tea and the gift on your departure. You can eat anywhere in the hotel grounds and having a lovely breakfast on the beach was a real treat as was dinner on the beach in the evening. It was nice to be able to take a walk along the beach and there is plenty of space between all the sun beds so you don't feel crowded. You can swim and snorkel in the sea but when the tide goes out its too shallow to swim and the coral and seaweed bed make walking difficult without shoes. The only downside to the resort for me was that the quality of the food in the evening needs a little more work. Its good but could be better especially considering that the resort is isolated and therefore guests all stay at the resort to eat in the evening. I loved my time here at the Tugu, its a great place for a chill out for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Tara_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Tara,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our ambiance, staff & impressive facilities & the Tugu touch experiences. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We have also taken good note of your comments with regard to the quality food served in the evenings. Please allow us to assure you that we are looking into the concern & we will take appropriate action accordingly.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    88
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
175
559
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

unpredictable when you entrance the hotel, much more antique ornament, building and many ancient goods. beautiful view of beach, room, garden, dining, lunch, pool and nice staff.
amazing, marveleous, incredible places , room and beach.
( I Gede Auditta, from malang, indonesia, igedeauditta@gmail.com and zacrue@yahoo.com )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGedeAuditta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Gede,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel Tugu Lombok and for sharing your positive experience. We hope to be welcoming you back to your peaceful "holiday home" sometime soon.
Warm regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We finished our trip to Indonesia with 4 nights in Hotel Tugu Lombok. It is a hotel of an exceptional beauty and calmness. We had a standard bungalow which in fact was very nice, design and comfortable. Upon our arrival, our bed and our garden bathroom were decorated with beautiful fresh flowers, there were some fruit in the bungalow as well. The hotel area is rather big for only 19 bungalows and very well maintained. We just adored the restaurant building and the swimming pool, amazing! The personnel of the hotel are very attentive and there are so many of them for a small number of guests.
The strength of Tugu hotel is for sure all these signs of attention that we got during all our stay: welcome leaves with our names on the table, flower composition gifts, candles along the path to our bungalow in the evening, even a souvenir present upon our departure. These are the details which make difference.
White beach and clear blue water are wonderful. Still, the sea ground is covered with coral, you cannot swim without using special shoes but the hotel offers it.
The food is good and you can ask to serve your romantic dinner on the beach, we did it twice - amazing!
The hotel has still an important minus: the prices for food, spa and all supplementary services are excessive, too expensive for Indonesia (3-4 times more expensive than anywhere). It is normal for a hotel to practice a little bit higher prices than outside but not to such an extent. Before our stay in Tugu hotel, we were in Bali, in a hotel of the same level and price category for staying, but the food and services were much more affordable with the same quality. In Tugu hotel prices correspond more to what we have in Paris, that's not what you expect going to Asia. As the hotel is located very far from all tourist spots, you have no possibility to dinner outside, no choice in fact. We had a scooter so we could go some times to Sengiggi but it is still almost an hour of road. Spa is too expensive as well.
As a conclusion, we had a very romantic and relaxing stay at Tugu hotel. It is perfect for a couple, can be boring if you want to have an active rest and you should be ready not to leave the hotel because there is nothing around and no shuttle service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Olga,
Thank you so much for your great review which shows how happy you were at the resort. We are delighted the way you have explained all our facilities & services. This is what the Tugu team can offer & always strive to deliver the best for our dear friends of the resort. We are happy that you have been a part of Tugu family & giving us a chance to serve you. This is why our little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home.
We deeply regret the disappointment you felt with regard to the price and value of food and spa services. However, I may wish to inform you, the pricing structure of food /Spa services in a similar hotel category in the area especially on the Sire beach even higher than our resort. This is mainly due to the distance from the city ,additional transportation costs & high staff wages for skilled staff in remote areas.
However, we have taken note of these issues and will review it as we move forward to improve ourselves.
Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Tugu Hotel in Lombok for 3 days and it was simply amazing: white beach, clear water, soft grass and golden silence. The food quality is outstanding, the staff's kindness was incredible. I recommend getting a room on the beach: you will get a private pool, a bathtub under the stars and a bed that will make you sleep like you are a child. Also Tugu hotels serve dinner anywhere you want! Under the stars on the beach, on a table in the garden... You pick and they arrange it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the beach with the small private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Giulia,
What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us! We thank you for sharing your great feedback on the TripAdvisor and for recognising our efforts. We look forward to welcoming you again for another refreshing & enriching Tugu touch experience when you next visit to the beautiful Island of Lombok !
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is located on the north side of the island, away from all other hotels and tourist spots. It is about 2 hours away from the airport, and 15 minutes from the harbour to gili.

We spent 5 days here on our "honeymoon" trip, with the family. We had 7 people in total, and took 3 of the beachfront rooms. The rooms were very large and grand, with a gigantic bed in the middle. The room is literally a few steps away from the beach, with lots of art pieces and carvings (apparently the owner is an art and antiques collector, and every piece is from his private collection). There is a beautiful fish pond in front of the room with lots of fish and a fountain in it. The bathroom is outdoor, with a rain shower and stone bathtub. It also has a plunge pool in front, which is nice and warm.

The entire resort is six acres, with 90 staff serving only 19 rooms, so the service is amazing. The General Manager came out to chat with us every day, and we had hotel staff who helped us to arrange everything, including meals, our boat trip, massage. He even walked with us to the nearby village and even helped us to charge our phone! The beach is completely private, with lots of deck chairs, sunbeds, towels - and literally anything else you need.

We had two candlelight dinners on the beach, which was very beautiful and romantic. The local food is very good - try the local specialities. The seafood barbecue is very highly recommended - get the set with the lobster. Each set is about 75usd and feeds 2 people or more. Breakfast is a sort of served buffet, where you can order as much as you like, of anything.

For activities, try the spa (I think everyone gets a half hour complimentary massage), the jacuzzi and the dragon boat trip to the gilis. The half day boat trip cost us 140usd, and came with snorkelling equipment, a guide, drinks, fruits and towels.

Overall, an excellent stay!

Room Tip: If you are going for the oceanfront suites, ask for 107 - it is slightly larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Luanne,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review under the heading of " Really amazing private & rustic beach resort" . All of us at at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
Luanne, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to our resort.
With warmest and fondest thoughts to you & your family members.
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Living in an art museum.....in which your every need is satiated, your every whim satisfied.

Our host,the gracious, generous, affable Mr. Fernando, greeted us on arrival and, during our 11 day stay, became a friend, as did many members of his staff, whose service was simply impeccable.

Like all great galleries, the buildings are themselves great works of art. The 200 yr old reception room leads out over an enclosed bridge to an astonishing pavilion dining area, which overlooks the pool. The eye follows a catwalk for Jesus, to a several metres high statue of Rama, framed by a tree and hung on a sea and sky backdrop.

Our villa - 205! - is as beautiful as it is comfotable: the artwork and antiques, the emperor sized bed, "the best bathroom ever with waterfall shower, vast copper japanese bath, tropical garden open to the sky (my wife)"; huge TV, DVD and wifi (me).

The Spa is not only a place in which to allow the happy, relaxed, skilful staff to treat your body as a temple; it is itself located within a sublime temple.

At night, the lighting turns the lush perfectly maintained gardens into a place of magical delight.
The menu is comprehensive, the food very good to excellent; only the "warm starters" failed to please.

Mostly this is a place in which to do very little; save imbibe the healing powers of beauty, sun, snorkelling, long walks, kayaking and books and dvds from the extensive library.

That said, the dragon boat trip to the Gilli Islands is a Must...to swim with turtles in pristine waters amidst a rainbow confetti of tropical fish is a gift from the gods.

We also hired a motor bike for a day; and rode thro Monkey Forest, Sengiggi and local villages along the stunning coastal road.

A huge thankyou to all the people who created this magical place...and to those who run it today...from the man who presented my wife with an exquisite bouquet each morning, the gardeners, cleaners, waiters, cooks, boatmen, securitymen, drivers...to Jacob, Henry, Roby ....and of course, Mr Fernando.

We will be back.. just as soon as we again need to step off the planet into a tropical paradise, to recharge our batteries, renew our life force, and remind ourselves of beauty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear James & Jan,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring review on the TripAdvisor. You have expressed your impression of our little Tugu with such finer details of service and the “Tugu touch “experience. I was delighted to personally convey your appreciation to all our staff members & specially the ones you have mentioned the names. In fact they have read your review and I would like to inform you that you have brought huge smiles on their faces.
We are always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. We want you to consider Tugu as your own home. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy guests such as you. Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special care, beautiful experience while visiting in Indonesia.
James & Jan, may we thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the start of June on the special romantic package. The staff were always friendly and attentive, the room was amazing - very spacious and well kept. The resort was very clean and just beautiful with it's own unique style.

The pool and the beach were perfect, with the beach being kept clean and no hawkers trying to sell you things. As well as the service right to your lounger, the resort also has equipment available to use free of charge.

We also did a number of excursions on our trip that we would highly recommend. First was a trip to the nearby waterfalls - you get to see local life on the way and then climbing up and swimming in the waterfalls is amazing. We also had a day boat trip on the unique Tugu dragon boat to the Gilli islands where we snorkelled and explored the islands. We made use of the Spa which overlooks the ocean with two massages - both were perfect and very relaxing as we listened to the sound of the ocean whilst being massaged. Finally we got to dine on the beach - the staff made every effort to make the night special with lots of little touches which are far beyond the service you would expect.

Overall this is a great place to stay, a gem of a resort that is perfect for a getaway as a couple. With only 19 rooms, the place never feels crowded, amazing staff and excellent food. The perfect balance of relaxation and adventure. Even though Tugu is a little pricier than the alternatives on the island, we would recommend this hotel over the rest - it really is worth the premium! We hope to return one day to our second home :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewisClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Lewis Claudia,
Thank you so much for your great review which shows how happy you were at the resort. We are delighted the way you have explained all our facilities & the excursions.Specially in your own words "The perfect balance of relaxation & adventure" .This is what the Tugu can offer & always strive to deliver the best for our dear friends like you. We are happy that you have been a part of our family & giving us a chance to serve you. This is why our little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments written in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Property: Hotel Tugu Lombok
Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing