We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real beach holiday”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful beach and great staff in a small luxurious setting make a great holiday. ETHEREAL EXPERIENCE

Hotel is quiet and peaceful like Bali in the 60's and 70's..but perfect white coral sand beaches..service is incredible

Room Tip: Beach Front rooms are worth the premium
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGRIG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear AGRIG
Thank you for the glowing testimonial of Hotel Tugu Lombok. We are glad that you were able to experience some of the "Tugu touch" services that we have to offer. We do our best to offer the most personalized services and experiences for all our guests and we will continue to try and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tugu Lombok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 926 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Tugu Lombok really is a hidden gem in the beautiful and so far almost untouched island of Lombok.

We stayed in their amazing Puri Dadap Merah villa and can only say that the attention to detail in creating this beautiful villa have really paid off. The restaurant not only has great architecture and a great setting overlooking the main pool and the ocean, but the food is also outstanding and the staff is prepared to give you a dining experience where ever in the wonderful grounds you desire to eat.

The standards of the property are just amazing with antiques dotted throughout, but what really set the experience apart from others was the standard and attention to detail of the staff. They all really went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and trouble free.

If you are looking for a part of paradise - go to the Tugu Lombok.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pura Dadap Merah villa which has lots of privacy and real character, but also had a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Maja,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and are grateful that you share your impressions! It’s a pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your nice comments. We are all very much looking forward to having you back as our guests anytime!
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wow wow wow this was a real treat for us on our RTW trip. Being a real fan of architecture, interiors and antiques we decided to take a trip to Tugu after reading about it in our guide book. The entrance and dinning area was completely exquisite and phenomenal. We were a little apprehensive on visiting due to our long term travel appearance and from previous experiences in boutique hotels thought we might get, at best blanked and at worst thrown out! We needn’t have worried as we were given the warmest and most enthusiastic welcomes by one of the managers, really wish we could remember his name because he was excellent. We soon found his genuine passion rubbing off, and before we knew it we had committed to spending 3nights in their pool villa. We could not fault anything with this experience, the location, the décor, the food, the staff everything was exceptional. Also rare for a hotel of this type was the incredibly laid back vibe, we spent all day in our dressing gowns walking around the grounds and restaurant bare foot. We have stayed in some boutique hotels all around the world but this was by far the best. You could rave about every detail of this place but you really do have to experience it to believe it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri_Jahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Meri Jahn,
Thank you for the time you took to post a great comment of your experience at the Hotel Tugu Lombok. We are very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay and the "Tugu touch experience”. Please always consider our home as your home in Lombok. Our little Tugu is geared to give such an experience as we are always committed to give best of hospitality to all our dear guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet and peaceful place to go don't look any further. The outstanding service with thoughtful staff making sure all your needs are taken care of in a prompt and orderly fashion make a point to visit the TUGU hotel. They take pride in taking care of their guests and put a lot of incredible details to sweeten your stay. This place will be on our A list to go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerWieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Roger,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us!
I will pass on your positive comments about them, the incredible details of service, the atmosphere, etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Lombok in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" care.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My paltry words will not be able to capture the most amazing week I just experienced. Hotel Tugu Lombok will not leave you disappointed. The attention to detail, the friendly, thoughtful staff, and the scenery are all to the highest standards. My jaw literally dropped the first time I saw the main restaurant, with it's sweeping views and towering goddess pillars. I was made to feel as the most important guest, but I can assure you, all the other guests certainly felt the same way. Daily gifts of hand-woven floral arrangements, hand-written notes on leafs, beach dinners, and a surprise farewell dinner fit to feed an army were just some of the little personal touches. Everyone knew my name, and the guest relations staff (hello Henry and Jacob!) were always there to make sure my every whim was satifsfied. I want to play volleyball? No problem, they just rounded up the staff to play a game with me. I want to go to a waterfall or snorkel at Gili? No problem, they arranged the tour, and sent some hotel staff to accompany me, since I'm a solo traveller. I also went to the spa daily, and all the treatments were top-notch, and in a semi-open air temple with the lullaby of the waves to sooth you. Perfection!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Jassica,
Thank you very much for your time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hotel Tugu Lombok on TripAdvisor. The team and I were delighted to have your stay with us and experience the true “Tugu touch”.
Thank you for your compliments on our decor, style and location & recognizing our place as “A hidden gem”. This is what Tugu hotels & Restaurants stands for and it is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests. As such, a private, secluded and intimate space is perfect to explore these values.
We are always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy guests such as you. Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special care, beautiful experience, even when you are living in Singapore.
May we thank you once again for sharing your personal experience during your one week stay; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As much as i would just like to keep Tugu a total secret between myself and my Fiancé alone I also had to write a review. Having just got back from a 7 day trip to Tugu I can affirmatively say that this's the one place in the world we will go back to again and again. Having travelled to a lot of wonderful places and had some incredible experiences, nothing to date has left us with the same elation and happy excitement that Tugu did.
The hotel is beautiful, with exquisite interior and exterior architecture, a powder white beach with clear water, a refreshing fresh water pool to indulge in and the most wonderful and welcoming staff. I have to also note that the food really was divine, we ate at the hotel every meal and had a three course meal most nights and every single one was delicious and to the highest quality. Everything's homemade at Tugu, down to the rice crispy style crisps you get, it really is decadence personified! You can eat anywhere in the hotel, we had dinner on the beach a few nights and on the roof of the 11th century temple another- every effort is made with candles and intimate decorations to make this a truly memorable/ romantic experience for you. Nothing held back on and always a smile from the attentive staff.
I couldn't finish this review without naming a few of the staff who really were brilliant and made our time at Tugu so comfortable and memorable. The Manager Fernando and his close knit team; Henry, Jacob, Dede, Faisal, Gede, Taman, Ruby and Wire were all but to name a few of the truly wonderful staff who make Tugu what it is and more and who we grew most fond of and miss terribly.
Most excitingly still on the final night at Tugu my boyfriend proposed to me in the most incredible setting - helped along by Ruby from the hotel! Needless to say, we are actually looking to go back next year and get married!
Anyway, I have written a blog as we loved Tugu so much so for more pictures please see here: http://emiloudesigns.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/hotel-tugu-art-soul-and-romance-of.html

Room Tip: We stayed in Aloon-Aloon Garden Villa- stunning interior with a beautiful outside bathroom with lar...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Emma & John,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comment about Hotel Tugu Lombok, how you have expressed your impression of our little Tugu with such finer details of service and the “Tugu touch experience “. I was delighted to personally convey your appreciation to all our staff members & especially to ones you have mentioned the names. Your friendliness & kind attitude towards them has made you as a true friend of Tugu.
We are always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. We want you to consider Tugu as your own home. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy friends such as you. Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special care, beautiful experience while visiting in Indonesia, for you to remember even after you return back to your country.
Emma, In this case we may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your “big day”. This very special day without any doubt we all know how important to you & John. As a result it will be considered as our own Tugu family wedding. We will give 100% care & commitment to make this day a most memorable one.
Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end. Thank you again for your nice comments & posting a detail review on the TripAdvisor.
We are looking forward to have you back after finalizing all details of the wedding arrangements.
Best wishes from entire Tugu team,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The luxury of Hotel Tugu is unquestionable; what makes Tugu so special is the incredible attention to detail... The birthday cake made for my partner (absolutely no prompting) upon arrival was just the beginning. Handwritten notes on leaves at every meal, a handmade 'shell man' for our 5 year old daughter and daily floral creations were just a few of the thoughtful touches we loved.

The staff at Hotel Tugu are simply exemplary. Everything they do goes so far beyond the call of duty - yet at no time do you feel crowded. In fact, just 18 rooms/villas within Tugu's gorgeous and generous grounds can make you feel as though you're the only guests staying and the sense of peace and tranquility is wonderful.

However, there is still plenty to do. Snorkelling in stunningly beautiful waters around the Gili Islands, a visit to the fabulous market at Mattaram and unforgettably, releasing baby turtles from a turtle sanctuary.

Tugu is also a treat for foodies; there is beautifully cooked international dishes (and some great choices for kids), but it was the traditional Lombok and Indonesian dishes that were the highlight of our stay; simply delicious.

At Tugu, you may eat 'wherever your heart desires' (or stomach?!). Thus, we dined on the pristine beach amid lanterns and encircled with candles, in our exquisitely designed villa and most memorably in Tugu's original and reconstructed temple - beautifully decorated with tropical flowers just for us.

We have been lucky enough to stay in some of Asia's most beautiful resorts, but Tugu's outstanding natural beauty, highly personable staff and formidable attention to detail means we have a new favourite...

Thank you, Roshan, Hanny, Jacob, Sophie and everyone else who made our time at Tugu so incredible.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex260777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for posting your detailed report on TripAdvisor. We are very appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your comments of our services and the standards – beyond outstanding. The most importantly we are very happy that your family has had a great time.
We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about the “Tugu touch” experience , impressive location, ambiance, our cuisine, activities organized in Gili Island & releasing baby turtles , visiting a local market & about our charming staff. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
745 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,260 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: $238 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing