We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place off the beaten path”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for the first week in January 2013 for 4 nights and from the moment we were greeted by Fernando the GM as soon as we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. The feeling you get when you step foot on this property is almost indescribable. You are surrounded by old world beauty, as the owner of the hotel is the largest collector of antiques in Indonesia, and you are immediately transported to another world. The beach is gorgeous with views of the volcano in the distance. We took beach walks daily for beach-combing where we were the only people on the beach. We found that the hotel only has 19 rooms and the feeling of privacy and serenity is what makes this hotel so special. Since we had been touring Indonesia for 3 weeks prior to this stay, we just wanted to relax. The only time we left this paradise was to take the hotel dragon boat for a 1/2 day to Gili Meno for snorkeling and to visit the baby turtle sanctuary (I highly recommend this trip). We stayed in the Aloon Aloon villa and it was very spacious with an adjoining indoor/outdoor bathroom that was very unique and special. We enjoyed the treatment of guest services manager Henry, he was always checking on us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. My disappointments were that sometimes bar service in the restaurant, to the pool and beach was painfully slow, we were not in a hurry but were wondering what took so long to get a drink considering the hotel is not very busy. Additionally the semi-outdoor spa was absolutely gorgeous, quite possibly the most beautify spa I have ever seen but the therapists were not very talented. We had a welcome massage that was not very good and I also tried a scalp treatment after that was also not very impressive. The prices were very reasonable so I was hoping to visit the spa daily, perhaps they are in transition to get better therapists. This hotel did take the time to focus on the little things like every breakfast and dinner we were presented with a beautiful leaf that said Good Morning or Good Evening and wished us a fantastic meal. We enjoyed lounging alongside the pool and being treated to daily 3pm tea time where teas, coffees and hors d'oeurves were served from savory to sweet. I really liked that every night we could have dinner on the beach directly on the sand or in a little hut off to the side; experiences like this we will remember for a lifetime. I highly recommend you stay at this hotel if you plan on visiting Indonesia/Bali. The beauty of Lombok & the Tugu Hotel is not always the first destination when travelers decide on going to Bali but I urge you to visit. Thank you to Henry and Fernando for making our stay so memorable. We were very sad to leave your special paradise hotel.

Room Tip: Aloon Aloon villas are very spacious, impressive and the best value for all the room types. We toure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Deena,
Thank you for taking your time off to write a lengthy review of your stay At Hotel Tugu Lombok. We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, pristine beach ,Aloon Aloon bungalow & its facilities including pool area & about our friendly staff. We are always happy to have such great comments from our dear guests which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We also have noticed that you have had experienced some parts of our facilities and service that are not reflecting our usual Tugu standards. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously, and that we are checking and working on every single point of your comments. We are confident that we can change things around to improve the quality of the overall guest experience at the Hotel. Thank you for posting your constructive feedback and the great impression you have had of our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok!
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 951 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thank you so much for such an amazing 8 days that we spent at your Tugu Hotel! It was absolutely relaxing. Sometimes even we thought that there was nobody but us although the Hotel was fully accommodated. The food was perfect! Everything was delicious! The beach was clean and peaceful. There were 3 of us. Me, my aunt and my daughter. Even when we went for a swim, I mean 2 adults and my 8 yo daughter stayed on the beach alone there were always 2 guards who was looking after her. But it was hardly visible for us. We felt in safe every moment of our stay. And the staff they are just outstanding! They are now our friends I can say with no doubt. Our accommodation in Aloon-Aloon villa was also so calming especially sleeping on the huge bed. We`ll come again soon!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Olga,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to write a comment of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased & proud to learn that you have rated maximum , as “Amazing & unforgettable trip” .
We thank you for sharing your great feedback with us and for recognizing our effort. I will convey your appreciation to our staff.
We will be happy to welcome you again anytime & please consider our little Tugu as your own place in Lombok.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

first of all, thank you very much for everything - you made a couple of unforgetable, relaxing, wunderful days possible!

the tugu hotel is a very unique resort in an extraordinary surrounding of green areas, a variety of trees and a large private beach. the facility offers you everything for a quite, calm, relaxing stay. the architecture, the different interior designs, all the little details as well as the magnificent art pieces you will find throughout the whole place are just overwhelming and most exquisite. all the exclusive elements are put together to a unit with a great amount of passion, love and joy which you feel throughout the whole resort. the temples, the art gallery, the amazing and spatialy generous dining area with the adjoining pool are very special and give the hotel a very unique touch. Wherever you go you will discover something new...
besides all that, the staff made us feel very comfortable, was always very warmharted and extremely intent every minute of our stay. breakfast throughout the whole day, teatime between 4.00 and 6.00 p.m. and dinner whenever and wherever - at the beach, in the temple, every wish was being fulfilled. even in the taxi back to the airport, they prepared a little snack for us in the car. and last put not least, the lovely goodbye present will always remember us of you...
we had an absolutely amazing and unforgetable time. thank you again for this wunderful experience...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraNathanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Hera,
Thank you for posting a very impressive review on the TripAdvisor. We read your compliments on our decor, style and location. This is what the Tugu hotels and restaurants stand for and it is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests. As such, a private, secluded and intimate space is a perfect setting to explore these values.
What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay at little Tugu! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with us and for recognizing our effort.
We will be happy to welcome you again anytime. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require from our end.
Best Wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tugu is on the most amazing private beach. We stayed in the most basic Kampong Bunglaow, but it certainly was not basic! The huge outdoor bathroom and huge four poster bed swathed in white muslin was oh so comfortable!. We were greeted on arrival by the welcoming General Manager who explained with great enthiastism the hotel had a different concept to other luxury brands. The Tugu provides very personalised service and great in-room amenities. The staff are very attentive to your needs and are very friendly. The pool is very inviting and deserves a special mention for situation. As the hotel has around 19 rooms the pool is never busy and staff bring treats to you. We really appreciated the often replenished fresh flowers in the room and the personalised settings at mealtimes. The Tugu extra touches are well thought out and enhance your holiday experience (hand painted leaves with a personalised message at your table at mealtimes - to mention one)
We were pleased that the hotel has engaged the services of International chef Lucien who hopes to improve the European options on the menu. Indonesian specialities are already well catered for. We found the breakfast menu to have great choices with everything freshly cooked to order - passion fruit shakes are to die for!
Room service and laundry are excellent.
Candles, burners and mosquito lotion were provided and despite the outside bathroom avoided mosquito bites successfully.
The staff here go the extra mile - too many to mention by name but Jacob and Henry took a particularly welcome interest in the guests well-being.
It was especially fortunate for us that the owner was resident during our stay and she clearly pays great attention to detail in preserving the ancient history and improving the standard of the overall guest experience. Watch out staff Mr Alasdair may be back to bore you with his homespun philosophies!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPerceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Tugu friends,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day. We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
Thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to Hotel Tugu Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Wishing you a very happy new year,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fantastic experience and highlight of Indonesia 3 week trip. Beats sengigi hands down .... No comparison. This is an exquisite hotel, with beautiful and magical atmosphere. The beach is truly gorgeous and so peaceful it was hard to leave. The pool is amazing .... Spent my time between both beach and pool. The bar is spectacular atmosphere, like a film set. I stayed in aloo-aloo suite and it was the best room I have had in my life .. And that says a lot as I have stayed in 5 star hotels everywhere from Palm Beach and US to India, Africa, Eurpose, Turkey, and Middle East .... The service is superb ... Thanks to yacoob and Henry for a truly special birthday and Christmas! And everyone else too. I wish I would have skipped Bali and Sengiggi and come straight here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Agnes,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel & staff. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about your room, pool, ambiance & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you .
Wishing you a very happy new year.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The most artistic and unusual collection of artifacts in room was uplifting.
All staff and the new manager were outstanding.
Food was to die for.
Beach was proberbly as good as any where in Lombok.
Snorkelling was good although a bit hard to get to.

Room Tip: Garden Villas are great except for the noise and chanting at ramadan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnorkelerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Tugu friend,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the wonderful services that our staff can offer.
Please consider our little Tugu as your own home.
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
With all our good wishes for a happy new year.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Unique hotel developed in a serene setting with respect for the environment, impressive display of art and antiques in rooms and common areas, friendly and efficient staff (Henry, Jacob thank you), impeccable service.

Food and arranged trips of excellent quality, but somewhat overpriced

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Pano,
What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with the TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to having you back anytime as our dear guests .
With all our good wishes for a wonderful new year.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
769 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,608 reviews
1 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,295 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: $197 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing