We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners dream!”
Review of Nihiwatu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nihiwatu
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sumba
Certificate of Excellence
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymooners dream!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived in heaven at nihiwatu - the location, the people and the energy found at this idyllic location made for a unique and fantastic honeymoon!

As we are both surfers landing into a resort with a world class wave at our front door was always destined for success, however, surfing aside the experience at the resort was incredible - friendly staff, amazingly delicious food using locally grown vegetables and freshly caught fish, and unique experiences including a brilliantly day-trip on a boat where the two of us went diving amongst beautiful corals and brightly colored fish on great pinnacles coming up deep from the ocean bed after which we enjoyed a bottle of wine and a beautifully prepared BBQ banquet on a pristine white beach with brilliant blue ocean.

We also had a spa treatment which was heavenly, were able to release baby turtles into the ocean and were totally spoilt by the owners and GM George who assisted in making our honeymoon the best week of both of our lives!

Now we have left but are totally surfed out with smiles from ear to ear! Thanks especially to the watermen staff Christian, Dan and Ben who made our time in (and out of) the water even more enjoyable!

We can not wait to return again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
139
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are just back from a week at Nihiwatu, a resort on Sumba Island which is a one hour flight from Bali. We brought our 7 and 10 year old children and had the best family vacation we have ever experienced.

The resort is graciously overseen by the GM George and runs smoothly which is quite an accomplishment given the extremely remote location and lack of infrastructure or development outside the resort.

The villas are comfortable and beautifully furnished. The meals were delicious and we enjoyed the family style eating as we met many of the other guests and enjoyed their company.

The main attraction is the incredible array of water activities to entertain adults and children alike. The beach has a world class surf break and the resort thoughtfully limits the number of surfers to ten so it is never crowded. Our kids loved the surfing, jet skiing, tubing, snorkeling, fishing and spear fishing activities. The beach staff is outstanding - friendly, safety conscious and great with kids. i enjoyed the daily yoga and long walks on the pristine beach shelling.
There are also lots of opportunities to visit or engage with the local villages through the Sumba Foundation which was created by the owners of Nihiwatu and sponsors medical clinics, water projects, schools, etc. around the island. Visiting the villages is like stepping back in time.

The flight from Bali is easy and the resort meets you at the airport and you have a bit of a drive but not a big deal. Well worth the effort to get there. We will return in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I continue to return to Nihiwatu Resort every year. Not only is it a spectacular destination resort, but we've realized that we love returning because of the "people." Due to the remote location of the resort, the majority of the staff at Nihiwatu live there full time. We have become friends with not only the local staff members, but the onsite guest relations and activities directors as well. In particular, Christian & Ka'ale Sea are amazing! They truly embody the spirit of Nihiwatu and always have a positive attitude. Week after week, Christian and Ka'ale make sure each and every guest is getting the most out of their vacation. Between these two, they teach surfing lessons, diving, snorkeling, yoga, spear fishing, tow surfing, hiking, mountain biking, and Stand Up paddling. Ka'ale also organizes cultural tours to the villages, local markets, schools, clinics, etc. They are always encouraging their guests to experience the best of what Nihiwatu and Sumba have to offer. Daniel and Ben help support all of these activities creating a confident, reliable, and friendly team. Nihiwatu without the amazing "people" is just another beautiful place in the world...the "people" make it the EXPERIENCE that my wife and I will never forget!

Room Tip: Pick a villa with a view of the wave out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeppaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Take that step!

an unforgettable journey, a journey that we will mostly take again next year with our kids.
low key luxury, amazing staff, outstanding service, fantastic surfing, great mountain biking, best Asian massages... and yoga classes you would not want to miss...
I had basic surf knowledge and i spent most of my time in the water with Christian and Daniel who looks after all the water activities. They made me feel I was born to ride, They are outstanding teachers and leaders.
Given the choice between the experience of pain and nothing, I would choose pain... so go surfing.

Christian took us also on the mountain bike tour and this was not only a sport activity it was also a great experience to discover what a magic place Nihiwatu is and hopefully will remain.
His knowledge about the culture, the people and the way of life in Nihiwatu are simply amazing .

There is not enough time to share all of our feelings about Nihiwatu but it is clearly a must for people who like to travel to hidden and unspoiled places. The GM and the owner were out of the island during our stay however Christian took over that role and made us feel that things were running as is. But the all staff made our stay there magical because this kind of journey is before all about people.


Rumi wrote:"Travel brings power and love back into your life.” it is absolutely true if you discover Nihiwatu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpleloup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I coudn't have imagined a more perfect honeymoon! George and his staff went above and beyond to make our stay as memorable as possible!

Nihiwatu is great for surfers and non-surfers alike with a wide range of activities and cultural adventures to explore. It is the ultimate relaxation escape with a spectacular backdrop!

The trip exceeded all our expectations and it was great to be part of the Nihiwatu family for a week. We will definitely be back!!

A huge thank you to George, Dan and the crew! Carolyn and Hamish

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A huge thankyou to the staff at Nihiwatu, particularly Dan and Ben for their water expertise and George for his extra efforts to make our honeymoon at Sumba a fantastic experience. We have many special memories and have plans to return,
Phil and Sonja

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 961stocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't imagine being able to top Nihiwatu - the resort is amazing . George and the staff made our honeymoon a very memorable one with a few romantic surprises along the way. 'Surf widows' don't worry there is plenty to see and do

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaSep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumba
8.7 mi away
Watukaka Resort
Watukaka Resort
#3 of 14 in Sumba
14 reviews
55.0 mi away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
29.2 mi away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peter's Magic Paradise
Peter's Magic Paradise
#1 of 2 in Tarimbang
25 reviews
61.6 mi away
Tanto Hotel
Tanto Hotel
#1 of 6 in Waingapu
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihiwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihiwatu

Property: Nihiwatu
Address: Desa Hobawawi | Kecamatan Wanukaka, Sumba 87272, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Sumba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sumba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sumba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nihiwatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Hotel in the World for 2016 by Travel & Leisure magazine. An award-winning luxury resort on remote Sumba Island, Indonesia. A wide range of land and ocean-based experiences ensures all tastes are catered to. Attentive service and gourmet meals add to the refined and intimate ambience. A romantic getaway idyll with pristine private beach stretching in excess of 2.5km of length ideal for honeymooners and the unique tribal culture on the island offers guests a glimpse of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Nihiwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihiwatu Hotel Sumba
Nihiwatu Hotel Waikabubak
Nihiwatu Resort Waikabubak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing