We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay in a standard room!”
Review of Bintang Wisata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bajawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bintang Wisata
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bajawa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do not stay in a standard room!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

There are few options in Bajawa and this one might be the best, but opt for a room on the 1st floor. These have hot water and some have TVs, but are cleaner and 'sealed' (i.e. no gaping holes above/below doors and slatted open windows). The standard rooms are drafty, cold at night, noisy and full of mosquitoes. They were also damp with stained walls and not clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    27
    31
    9
See reviews for
10
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is basic accommodation, close to the market and mini-mart. We asked for rooms on the second floor and were given 2A and 3A which share a long balcony with room 1A. I think it might have been quieter on the second floor as drivers park their cars near the rooms on the first floor. I had room 3A which had a double and a single bed, a dresser and two chairs.

Breakfast was coffee/tea and two pancakes. We were given bananas once, but never offered eggs, as mentioned in other reviews.

This might be one of the better hotels in town. At any rate, ask for a room on the second floor.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

t he hotel is one of the best in this place; backpacker tourism is the thing on Flores.
Simple hotel, hot water in the shower. Not easy to use, because I had to sit on my knees (shower very low); simple breakfast, room was clean, bathroom not so clean.
No window in the room (VIP room!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We are told that this is the best hotel in Bajawa. If this statement is true, I feel sorry for those poor souls who stayed at these hotels.
Service was non-existent, the place is dirty and the room was musty and full of damp.
The only good thing about the hotel was watching it disapear from my rear view window as I was leaving. DONT stay unless you really have to!!!

Room Tip: Get the best room? Try another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The location is great as we were trecking Inerie but, the room we got was just 4 walls and stank of cigarettes. The hot water was a great touch, when it was on and running but all in all a tad claustrophobic and only good for one night stay. We stayed 2 nights and it was to many....
The staff are lovely and the place is kept well cleaned.
The only and best place to stay in town.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room.....we should have!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had rooms on the second floor at the end of the corridor. The corridor was grand, but that was where the elegance ended. Our rooms were musty, and rather smelly. Small windows overlooking rooftops. The bathroom was on the nose. The drain from the sink goes onto the floor and then into the shower. The shower is a bit of a dribbler. Our kids didn't like the fleece blankets and inadequate pillows.
There are some better rooms I think. We were on a pre-booked tour so could not haggle over which rooms we took.
It is well positioned to the shopping district and down a quiet street, but that is its major asset. They have a restaurant, but not an extensive menu.
Bajawa is a town you will have to stay in when touring Flores and there is not a lot to choose from presently.

Room Tip: Check your room before you say yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Hotel Bintang Wisata is actually not worth to stay in. It’s really basic. The rooms are not so clean and there are loads of mosquito’s even after spraying mosquito repellent. For a standard room you pay 175‘000 and for a deluxe 270'000. The only differences between deluxe and standard are hot water and a flush toilet. The Hotel Bintang Wisata is way overpriced and the stuff is quite unfriendly we wouldn’t recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajawa
76.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
94.4 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
76.6 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 39 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.8 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
94.2 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
93.2 mi away
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintang Wisata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Wisata

Property: Bintang Wisata
Address: JL Palapa 04 Ngedukelu,, Bajawa, Flores 06414, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Bajawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bajawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Bintang Wisata Bajawa, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing