We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mbalata Beach Cottage Inn
Ranked #14 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Unlike other reviewers we didn't receive any offers of guides or service. The setting is lovely, a long stretch of beach framed by mountains, but the rooms are shabby, single bed and a mattress on the floor, no hot water, no power during the day... At first they wanted 400,000rp, but we refused to pay that much. Dinner was a fish and spinach, nicely cooked, but with absolutely nothing else, not even kecap manis. Breakfast was a cold plain pancake. We were left very much alone during our stay... I'd only recommend this place because there is nowhere else around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handfootwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruchem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a wonderfull trekking to Belaragi we had to look for a place to stay the night. Already when it was dark we arrived at this beautiful place were 6 bungalows are situated near the seaside. People are friendly so much and the home cooking is delicious. Fransisco has a great attitude towards eco tourism and involves the local people to join him and setting up projects including his Beach Cottages. This is really a good place to stay some nights and from here it is good spot to do a trekking to Belaragi village, another awesome place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are 4 French senior travellers who spent 10days in Flores. and 3 nights inthe place we liked best : Mbalata Beach cottages.Right near a lonely beach in a lovely environment, 6 comfortable,. bungalows with an .original and pleasant decoration and...hot water. We had an excellent welcome from the owner and the staff and very good meals even the day we arrived without . warning. .It's near Aimere and about 30 minutes from Bajawa and by far better than the hotels we saw there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolejeanpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We got told to go to Mbalata by 3 differents other couples and I now recommend it myself.
The only thing to know about this place is how to get there.
All the rest is gonna be the fantastic.
The private bus who took us there said he knew the way to finally drop us at the wrong spot 10km further down the road.

(It is located in Waelengga East of Manggarai regency look for the sign ‘Welcome to Mbalata Beach’. When you see the sign take that old road, and at some point you will see a road going through the rice fields on your left (just before a little family shop). Take it and at the very end of that road the cottages will be on your left.)

We called fransisco ( [--]), he is the owner of Mbalata cottages, he picked us up with his motorbike where we got lost. That was an awesome start, we arrived in a little private party on the beach with some guest that were leaving the next day.

The place is unbelievable and the service is brilliant. They will cook for you one 3 meals a day,
there is no menu, and all the guest share the same buffer. They will occasionally kill a chicken for you but it will mainly be daily awesome grilled fish buffet, panecakes in the morning and another buffet in the evening.

The room are spacious and next to the rice fields. The beach has a fantastic view on the volcano. The owner has a great english and travels every year to europe. He is really active in the flores island schools and charity and therefore knows a lot of people and places to go.

He can also be your tour guide for a day.

After being in lots of unclean and doggy places in Indonesia, this was the best place/moment we have had in Flores. We thought how going there 2 nights and ended up staying 1 week.
They also had 8puppies when we were there , they were great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank denis_yay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
0.0 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Antoneri Lodge
Antoneri Lodge
#6 of 8 in Moni
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbalata Beach Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbalata Beach Cottage Inn

Property: Mbalata Beach Cottage Inn
Address: located in Waelengga East of Manggarai, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing