We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here on a group tour last week. The accommodation was fantastic very authentic and its great to know that everything is powered naturally to the best of their ability. The staff are exceptional and the rooms are very comfortable. Overall it was nice to take a step out of technology into nature. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We thank you for your report especially about our staff, all of which are from the villages around Moni. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    120
    51
    15
    6
See reviews for
47
120
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beautiful setting with nice cottages. A nice starting point for visit to the Kelimutu volcano, but try to stay more than one night and also explore the interesting (ikat weaving) villages and or rice fields. Rooms are good each with a funky but functional outdoor bathroom and shower. Each room has nice balcony (but watch out for mosquitoes at dusk). Staff is friendly and professional. The restaurant is very good, no real reason to go into town (less than a mile away). A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We thank you for your report on our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge. It makes our hard work worthwhile and encourages us in our plans to develop 4 more new cottages and a small conference area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having experienced some very "basic" accommodation on Flores, we were thrilled with our bungalow at the Eco Lodge, Moni. The verandah with view of the jungle and far-off mountains, the private open-air shower which added to the bungalow's charm, and a delicious dinner delighted us near the end of our traverse of Flores. Meals are served on the outdoor patio, with the sound of the nearby river and a gorgeous multi-hued sunset as backdrop. The hospitality of the owner and staff made this a very special destination. The scenery on Flores is stunning - if you travel to Indonesia please do not stay only on Bali as you will not have seen the true Indonesia. Flores has magnificent mountains, beaches, waterfalls and forests and their terraced rice fields should not be missed.

Peter and Ann from Canada.

Room Tip: Any bungalow has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29carfrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your report on our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capalaba, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovey and peaceful place. We had a room that had a wrap around veranda and a creek bubbling close by. There was no air-conditioning but it was not needed with windows open. A mosquito net kept any bities away. The room was very clean and were greeted with beautifully folded towel in the shape of a bird and flowers on the bed. The open air restaurant was convenient and the food had options that an Australian could eat (Riitha, the restaurant manager assisted with this without any hesitation). She also ensued that we had breakfast waiting for us in the car after being on Kelimutu Our luggage was taken to our room by willing staff and on departure carried downstairs again.
Ben, the lodge manager, deserves a special mention. He came with us when we climbed Kelimutu in the early hours to catch the sunrise, then acted as our guide around the mountain off the normal track for us to see magnificent views of the volcanic lakes rims. I needed assistance to manage some parts of this and Ben was more than willing to assist. Later we also went across some paddies. I tend to fall on those slippery clay walls but Ben was there to help me. All this is far more than any manager would consider doing. He also assisted us to visit a local school and arranged for the local villagers to preform traditional dancing for us. Other local attraction destinations were also given to our driver for us to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thankyou Maree for a great write up. We have so hard to get this far, only staffed with the local people around the tiny village of Moni. We especially appreciate your comments about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Its a very nice hotel with friendly staff. Its situated very good. The crater lakes of Kelimutu are nearby. The rooms are not very spacious, but clean. The village Moni is around the corner, you can walk there and have a coke in the Bintag Lodge. Good place!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms in the villa's. You have hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSlaghuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We thank you for your report on our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge. are currently planning new cottages with larger rooms as the current cottage rooms are only suitable for two persons or a couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Enjoyed our 3 night stay, quite and peaceful place with lovely grounds with a tranquil creek running through. The Manager "Ben" was the perfect host, his smile and laugh was infectious and instantly put you at ease. He offered to guide us up to the Craters and was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and helpful. The accommodation was clean and tidy, maybe a tad small but well presented with the towels and flowers on the bed, however if you want bigger room then book the villa. Riitha the Restaurant manager was a delight, she helped to arrange traditional dancing for us and also a visit to the school to see the children who were delighted to spend time with us, as we were with them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LianeDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We thank you for your report which is appreciated especially mentioning our staff. We place great emphasis on staff guest relations in an attempt to identify our guests with the local environment.

with thanks,

Management, Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived as a small group at Kelimutu Eco Lodge to a warm welcome from both Ben (Lodge manager) and Riitha (Restaurant manager).
Our luggage was promptly carried by staff to our rooms, shortly followed by us. We found clean and attractive rooms, a lovely touch were the folded towels and flowers on our beds and shelf. Hot water/showers, twin beds with mosquito nets, eco friendly insect repellent, distilled water in a jug, no air-con but actually not needed anyway due to the mountain climate.

Our booking was for 2 x superior rooms as the villas were fully booked, however Ben promised we could move into the villas on the second night. As it turned out, Ben kept his promise but we opted not to move as we had settled into our superior rooms and were happily comfortable.
Not only did we enjoy the lovely views from our wrap-around balcony but also the sound of the nearby stream. The grounds are spacious and very pleasing with many sorts of flora and fauna, we loved watching the sunbirds who were attracted to the red flowers as we relaxed in the outdoor covered dining area.

We stayed three nights, enjoying both dinner and breakfast at the lodge restaurant, thankfully allergies were understood and handled by the staff.

Ben accompanied our group to Kelimutu craters on the first morning and led our small group around the area, cheerfully helping those of my group who needed help climbing up and down steep/rocky areas. On this morning Kelimutu was blowing a full force gale and one of my bags flew over the edge, couldn't believe it when Ben retrieved it for me - certainly 'above and beyond' the call of duty!!

No need to describe the beauty and magnificence of Kelimutu Craters, that part is a foregone conclusion.

On our descent down from KC our group decided to trek through a working rice paddy, negotiating our way across the muddy and narrow banks, Again, Ben was a legend as he helped the less nimble footed members of our small group.

During our stay Ben arranged for us to see traditional dancing by the 'Ana Kalo Dance Group' at Moni village, as well as a visit to the local school in Moni. Riitha met us at each location and was very helpful as she explained the meaning behind the songs, and gave us a tour around the school.

I'm pleased to recommend the Kelimutu Eco Lodge to all potential visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaJessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We greatly appreciate your positive report especially about our Manager Ben Marianus with thanks

Staff and Management Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
136.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
33.0 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
136.5 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
136.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 39 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
136.8 mi away
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
#12 of 39 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores

Property: Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Address: Main Rd, Moni | Kelimutu-Moni-Ende, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge was designed and built by the now internationally acclaimed eco designer Meryl Wilson. This is the fifth lodge of the company and follows our strict eco guidelines follwing our six pillars for local employment, growing our own food, use of renewables, sewage recycling, protect of the local environment and training program for key stakeholders. The lodge is a great stepping stone to see the mystical crater lakes, hike in the mountains, for birding, artists (see our Art Tour)and the start of our Trans Flores safari to see the Komodo Dragons based at our Bajo Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing