We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seeing is believing”
Review of Mount Kelimutu

Mount Kelimutu
Ranked #3 of 92 things to do in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seeing is believing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We left Moni around 4.30 a.m. by car and arrived 30 minutes later at the car park on the foot of Kelimutu. The trip to the top platform took 20 minutes and the path is very good. They have built stairs and paving block to make the visitor comfortable.
On the top there are people selling coffee and tea. You can just seat back, relax watching sunrise with a cup of warm coffee or tea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wardono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    108
    26
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Serene, tranquil and sacred”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My aunt and I hiked the trail to the three craters at around 4.30 a.m. Our driver drove to the entrance and we hiked up an easy trail through a lush forest full of birdsong, before entering the lake area. (It took me about 40-45 minutes to reach the summit point, depending on fitness level). I expected the lakes to change colour everytime, but it remained the same mystic turquoise-blue, green to copper and brownish-black. We remained silent and awed by the beauty of the place and witnessed sailing mist (or clouds). We stayed at the summit until the sun was well up in the sky.

A lady came to sell hot coffee or tea at the summit area.

Note: The climate up there is cool, so bring along a jacket.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyons
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“blue lake”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Kelimutu beautiful region for walking,and Moni is a nice little village,where you can still find a few simple style places to stay,,,at Slvesters for example,there is still one simple old wooden cottage.Take the time,to stay up the top after sunrise and enjoy the view and peace after most people have left,,,walk at least some of the way down,it's well worth it through the,rice fields and vegetation.,,and the village people are very friendly,,,,,,,enjoy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Closed be aware”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When contacted our host the day before arrival all was good and they didn't mention any word about it was already closed for 2 weeks. When arrived in Moni we got the info after check in and we asking how we are going to do the visit next morning.
We lost costly days with little options other than waiting. the local guest house didn't want to take us up.
Big disappointment after all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank EV_CUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Went up despite the official closure, it seems safe enough.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just wanted to provide a brief update about the situation in kelimutu. Indeed, the national park remains officially closed at this point in time. However, the guesthouses are taking the risk in defying the government's orders and are still bringing visitors up to see the 3 lakes. The only difference, is that you will be required to take an ojek (100k rp) to the post and walk up the final 4km or so to the carpark (and back down after that). This effectively adds about 40-60minutes of walking time each way so do factor this in. From the carpark, it is a further 20-30mins or so to get to the viewpoint.

I was up there a couple of days ago (June 20), and can attest that there do not seem to be any visibly clear signs of danger. There was absolutely no sulphur smell. Plants around the crater rim are still fresh and green - I really did not notice any signs of wilting. What I noticed, was that when the sunlight shone onto the middle lake (the one that has changed colour), there seems to be more gases being released. But from where visitors are standing, this is really far away and there is no way that the fumes could be blown towards visitors. I was at the Ijen volcano on East Java before this, and it is a lot more active than this and visitors were still being brought down to the crater.

All in all, the situation at the top really seems fine, and the park authority's decision to close the entire park seems to me to be a little excessive. The local villagers have voiced their protest against the park's closure to the authorities, but it remains to be seen if the "alert" status will be lifted. The word that is going around suggests that there might be some element of politicking going on behind the scenes. Alas, the villagers' livelihoods and income are being adversely affected by the closure of the park and the decreased number of visitors. Again, I reiterate that in my opinion, it seems safe enough for visitors to enter the park, although it is always good to check with the villagers at Moni about kelimutu's current status. In any case though, do exercise your own judgment about the situation and decide if you would still like to make the trip up. About 20-30 visitors are still making the trek up each day that I was there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Kelimutu also viewed

 

Been to Mount Kelimutu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing