We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hard way to get there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Kelimutu

Mount Kelimutu
Ranked #3 of 88 things to do in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Feldkirchen, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The hard way to get there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was quite okay to have seen the Lakes because they are really beautiful. But on the other hand you are spending dozens of hours to get there because you have to travel through the half of Flores by bus. And as the people in Moni know that you have to stop there, they prices are usually much more higher compared to similar areas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SebastianTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    101
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“See it from space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went up by motorcycle from Ende, the so called capital of Flores although Maumere is arguing that. Parked at the base of the slope leading up to the lakes. It's a long haul to the summit so don't attempt it if you are unfit. But the effort is well worth the agony. Popular with locals as well as tourists it is everything the publicity says it is. The water changes colour from time to time in each of the three lakes that resulted from collapsing volcanoes. Fall in and you don't get out, so don't be tempted to ignore the fencing. It can be seen on google earth if you know where to look. Or just walk up to them. A much better option. Do it!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must see place if there ever was one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

What can I say, I love the whole island of Flores, and I love going to Kelimutu, the volcanoes are not only beautiful but quite impressive specially during sunrise, the first time I went here it was just by accident as I had traveled to Maumere to go to Komodo, imagine my surprise upon reaching Moni and finding out about Kelimutu.
I know this place is a little out of the way, but it sure is well worth the trip.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
542 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Bewitching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The tri-colored crater lakes of Kelimutu are unlike anything else on the planet. If you're anywhere in the nieghborhood, an early morning visit is a must. They even had a vendoir selling coffee to take the edge off the morning chill. Obviously one wouldn't go all the way to Flores just for Kelimutu, but fortunately Flores has a host of other attractions which make it one of Indonesia's most attractive destinations.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kelimutu is beautiful - just like the rest of Flores!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We took a 3 day trip from Maumere to Moni (base of Kelimutu). Kelimutu at dawn was definitely a highlight, but just as beautiful are the villages with traditional homes and quality ikat weaving, the rolling countryside and the little villages by the sea. Flores is really stunning and the people very friendly. It is also far less touristy than Java and Bali. So visit Kelimutu, but take your time to get there and visit other parts of Flores!

We highly recommend our guide/driver Harry Hago, who spoke excellent English, knows great scenic viewpoints on Kelimutu (he took us around the rim of one of the crater lakes on a path that we would not have found ourselves), has great relationships with the people in the villages, and was extremely fun to be around.
http://www.travelflores.com

We stayed at Kelimutu ecolodge, which was very comfortable and charming.

YM from the UK, living in Jakarta

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Yueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Kelimutu also viewed

 

Been to Mount Kelimutu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing